We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Ranked #22 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

After reading reviews I was a bit worried but it was a lot better than expected. We had a standard room which was very clean and the bed was very comfy. There are a few design flaws - the TV which should be opposite the bed is actually in the cupboard next to the bed so it's impossible to use the tv unless you strain your neck or lay on the side of the bed. Also there is a desk with ONE chair which makes dining very hard, we ordered breakfast and had to use the windowsill as a table and the ottoman as a chair. Other then that parking is reasonable compared to other places in the city we have stayed at and the staff is super friendly.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jesso123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,695)
There are newer reviews for Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,223 - 7,229 of 8,697 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

We booked the room at the Hotel as part of a Wotif mystery deal. Staff at reception at the concierge were lovely and very helpful but the room was a big disappointment. It was very tired and small and everything was crammed into a 1970s style oversized wardrobe. The bathroom was OK and slightly more spacious.

We ordered room service which again, was average, but promptly delivered by a friendly staff member.

Great location but overall unimpressive, I don't think I would bother again - mystery deal or not.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Better than expected for the cost (? if we had some sort of deal), large clean and well appointed rooms, efficient and friendly staff. Good location, We stayed in October over the fleet review weekend. would readily stay again, now our choice of hotel in Sydney.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank affie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed at the Amora Hotel back in October 2013 for the fleet review.
Our room was not five star quality. The bathroom was lovely though with great views of darling harbor, which we wanted. However, the bed (king) had blood stains on it, which was horrific. I complained but because it was a very busy weekend due to the fleet review, we couldn't change rooms and there was nothing Amora could do. I couldn't sleep well after that.
On day two of our stay, I was returning from a morning visit with coffees from Starbucks. I took the lifts. The lift, about half way up between the ground floor and my floor, stopped and the doors wouldn't open. Nothing worked not even the air con, so no air was coming in to the lift. I freaked out. I rang the alarm bell inside the lift, but no one heard it. If it wasn't for the maintenance man opening the door, no one would have known; I was in there for a good 5 minutes or more. The maintenance man got a huge shock when he opened the door and saw me in there freaking out. God knows what would have happened if he didn't open that door.
When I got back to my room I rang and told the front desk what had happened. The lady advised she would notify the manager. When the manager rang she just said sorry to hear what I had just gone through and that was it. She didn't even offer a voucher for a dinner or breakfast voucher, nothing. I was shocked.
All we for this horrible experience at Amora Hotel was a discount on the poor quality fold away bed that was terrible to sleep on, for my daughter.

Not the best Amora experience for me or my family.



  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed over Easter and had a lovely stay. We had a room with 2 king singles and a fantastic harbor view from the bathroom and glimpse of the Opera house from the bedroom. The service was outstanding, chocolates ECG night on the bed and wonderful doormen ready to get a taxi for us. I highly recommend Amora Hotel at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Overall this is a very nice hotel, the rooms were good and it was only a short walk to Circular Quay. The staff were friendly and the beds were comfy. Got it through a secret deal so it was good value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The room was nice, they provide a kettle and toaster but no spoons, knives or forks.... Mini bar was not re filled everyday... Front concierge couldn't answer our questions and made no effort to check and get back to us. Front desk staff were nice but clueless. Wouldn't stay again or recommend

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmaandrodrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
5,929 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 178 in Sydney
1,883 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#18 of 178 in Sydney
1,306 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $173 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Sydney's well kept secrets, Amora Hotel Jamison is quite simply the place to be. Whether you are staying in one of our Deluxe Rooms or Suites, attending a Conference or Gala Dinner, unwinding at Amora Day Spa, or indulging in our Afternoon Tea in GALLERY Lounge Bar, you will experience genuine traditional personalised service. Superbly located above Wynyard Station between George and York Street, within walking distance to all major iconic attractions, Amora Hotel Jamison is renowned for spacious and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing