We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a makeover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Ranked #22 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

For $300 a night - parking and breakfast extra - this place is underwhelming. The room was a bit beaten up and shabby with scratches on the furniture and a cover on bed that looked like it came from the op shop it was so worn. It took 20 minutes to get out of the basement parking due to a stuff up with the tickets and boom gate and although I requested a room with a view I got a room which eyeballed the office tower in front.
The pluses
The bathroom was enormous with a nice deep bath and separate shower, the fridge was actually working properly and kept things cold and it was also very quiet. Front desk staff were also very helpful and the hotel has free wifi.
However ...it's not worth the $300 a night. Stay elsewhere for that sort of money.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank KathyW201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abhishek S, Front Office Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Kathy W,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Your very kind comment regarding our helpful Front Desk staff is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the team. Thank you for your constructive comment regarding accommodation room. This has been shared directly with the Chief Engineer and his team for review and immediate rectification.

Kathy W, please do not hesitate to contact myself directly should you wish to discuss your stay in further detail.

Kind Regards,
Abhishek Sinha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,540 - 7,546 of 8,980 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

Comparably the value for the room is not quite to other 5 star hotels we have experienced. However the room had a slight view of the harbour. Is this worth the extra money....not quite. We had the package which included the canapés and drinks on the exclusive floors. The canapés were not replenished as quick as the consumption and the drinks waiter was lost in action on many occasions. The breakfast options again we're not replenished as quick as consumption again. Many instances of waiting for a poached egg or toaster availability. The bedding was extremely comfortable. The annoyance was the wardrobe light which never turned off. The review may seem harsh, but there is an expectancy of value of money spent and this was a let down.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazza880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abhishek S, Front Office Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Kazza880,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Your very constructive feedback regarding your Jamison Club and Gallery Restuarant experience is well received and has been shared with the Food & Beverage manager for review and training purposes.

Kazza880, please do not hesitate to contact myself directly should you wish to discuss your stay in further detail.

Kind Regards,
Abhishek Sinha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The Amora Hotel is perfectly located in Sydney's CBD - just off George Street. It takes about ten minutes (at a stroll) to get to Circular Quay and you're well placed for Sydney's many shops and restaurants. We were lucky to secure a very good rate for a stay of just under a week and we were very happy with our choice. Being so centrally located, we didn't actually eat at the hotel so we can't comment on the quality of food - we wandered out to the surrounding bakeries, cafés and restaurants instead. However, our hotel room was lovely - very spacious with a large bathroom. My husband also used the leisure facilities at the hotel. The swimming pool is small but there's also a sauna and spa bath. The service from the reception and concierge staff was faultless. In fact we consulted the helpful concierge every day who assisted us with travel plans and always printed maps and timetables for us - he couldn't have been more helpful. A very enjoyable stay - which contrasted dramatically with a terrible experience in a Sydney aparthotel a couple of weeks later!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank LCBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abhishek S, Front Office Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear LCBLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

It is a pleasure to know you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Your very kind comment regarding our Amora staff is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the entire Amora Team.

We truly look forward to welcoming you back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Abhishek Sinha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

A great hotel, very close to the city centre. food was fantastic, My room 718 was very tired looking, but was only in it too sleep. My father and brother in laws rooms were nicer. the staff are amazing and cannot do enough for you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abhishek S, Front Office Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Megan O,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Your very kind comment regarding our amazing staff is well received and has been shared with the entire Amora team.Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding your room, this has been shared with the Executive Housekeeper directly and the Executive Management team for review and training purposes.

We truly look forward to welcoming you back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Abhishek Sinha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed 22nd February 2014. We wish we had never booked this hotel. The room was not what we had expected for a 5 Star more like a 2 star. We had been given a disabled persons room. We went back to Reception to say we weren't happy only to be told they were fully booked which was a lie because on Wotif and other hotel sites there were rooms available. Our room had marks on the carpet, there were chips out of the furniture. Some of the lights didn't work, TV in a cupboard to the side of the bed The bed was like sleeping in a bean bag. The bathroom never had a toilet seat lid. The bathroom was wet, wet, wet after my husband had showered making it very slippery and dangerous. There were hairs on the shower curtain. Room service wasn't much better. Our food arrived on a wet tray, waiter had spilt some of the contents. The food was cold and over priced. Never again would we stay at this Hotel. We filled out the questionnaire and never received a reply. Poor service overall.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abhishek S, Front Office Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Helen B,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Your constructive feedback is well received and has been shared with the Executive Management team for review and training purposes.

Helen B, please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to discuss your stay in further detail.

Kind Regards,
Abhishek Sinha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The Amora hotel is located centrally to circular key and the Rocks as well as 4 minutes from Wynyard train station. We have stayed here a few times and had very romantic times. The suite with the bath next to the window is fantastic in the evenings with candles and a bottle of red wine. The staff are always accommodating. The breakfast was not quite 5 star. Still we would go back. The Spa, Sauna and pool are nice to relax in.

Room Tip: Choose the corner rooms with the bath next to the window with city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WayneLovesAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abhishek S, Front Office Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear WayneLovesAdventure,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

It is a pleasure to know you and your partner continue choosing the Amora for a romantic getaway (Secret Love Nest). Your very kind comment regarding our accommodating staff is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the entire Amora Team.

We truly look forward to welcoming you back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel in the near future for another romantic getaway.

Kind Regards,
Abhishek Sinha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Just had a weekend at the Amora. We needed to be close to Circular Quay and this requirement was met. The staff were without exception friendly and helpful. The facilities first class. My only knock and to me will make me think twice before staying here again was the $52 a night to park my car. Really?? If the parking fee was anywhere near reasonable I would not hesitate to recommend to all.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenTaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abhishek S, Front Office Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear KenTaree,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Your very kind comment regarding our friendly and helpful staff is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the entire Amora Team.

We truly look forward to welcoming you back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Abhishek Sinha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#19 of 181 in Sydney
2,070 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#23 of 181 in Sydney
6,225 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#28 of 181 in Sydney
4,557 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $177 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Sydney's well kept secrets, Amora Hotel Jamison is quite simply the place to be. Whether you are staying in one of our Deluxe Rooms or Suites, attending a Conference or Gala Dinner, unwinding at Amora Day Spa, or indulging in our Afternoon Tea in GALLERY Lounge Bar, you will experience genuine traditional personalised service. Superbly located above Wynyard Station between George and York Street, within walking distance to all major iconic attractions, Amora Hotel Jamison is renowned for spacious and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing