We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amora Hotel Jamison rocks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Ranked #22 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Well our initial check in was off to a shaky start as they couldn't find our booking, but found out that wasn't their fault.

The customer service was faultless, they couldn't do enough.
Wireless was free and the fastest we have ever seen.
Room was lovely, bathroom was impressive, big bath but the shower was truly wonderful.
Room service was prompt and costs reasonable.
Only minutes away from the Rocks and Darling Harbour, chinese restaurants, pubs and Railway station, ferrys and opera house.
Considering we didn't have any kids, we slept in and house keeping were more than happy to come later.

Room Tip: We were told it was noisy, which we didn't find to be the case. We had a 5th floor room facing...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Graham N,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are truly delighted you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We apologise for any inconvenience caused during your check-in but it is great to know everything was resolved and you were able to have the Amora 5-star Experience. All your very favourable comments is greatly appreciated and have been shared with the entire Amora Team.

We are looking forward in welcoming you once again to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,697)
There are newer reviews for Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,323 - 7,329 of 8,697 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed here for my anniversary with my wife, when I mentioned that we got an upgrade. Very good for a Saturday night in January.

The room was really great, plenty of room, good view from the 33rd floor.

They were friendly and guest services were very knowledgeable about restaurants in the area so we could find a great one at short notice.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjbwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear pjbwilson,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Once again, Happy Anniversary to you and your wife. We are delighted you have have chosen to celebrate such a special day with us and were able to thoroughly enjoy your stay. Your very kind comments regarding our friendly staff, especially our Guest Services Team Members, is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the entire Amora Team and directly to the Chief Concierge.

We truly wish to be able to welcome you and your wife back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel for another anniversary celebration or just a weekend away in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for one night and we absolutely loved it. Got the accomodation through mystery hotel because we were trying to find a place and didnt know how it was going to be and we were stoked! Staff were really nice and friendly. They even kept our luggage at the hotel when we checked out since our flight wasnt leaving until later in the afternoon so that we didnt have to drag our luggage around the CBD. I would stay there again for sure!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear A TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are delighted you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Your very kind comments regarding our really nice and friendly staff is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the entire Amora Team.

We truly look forward in welcoming you and your partner back in the near future for another great Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This hotel was lovely; close to all the main attractions of Sydney, with great facilities and friendly staff. The bathroom was beautifully designed and the room was very comfortable. A little pricey for what it is, but you are paying for location here.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank queenbee1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear queenbee 1981,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are delighted you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your very favorable comments regarding our great facilities and friendly staff is greatly appreciated and have been shared with the entire Amora Team.

We look forward in welcoming you back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed here beginning of December for a weekend. Check in was not great, promised certain rooms but then changed . Rooms we did get were adequate, clean and functional. Went to the bar upstairs but we were made to feel like it was all a big problem to serve us. It is definitely not 5 star more like 3. Better customer service would have been welcome. The hotel is in a good position for exploring Sydney and near train station.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Jane S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Your very constructive feedback regarding the Gallery Bar is well received and has been shared with the Food & Beverage Manager and his team for training purposes. I apologise for any inconvenience during your check-in as there appears to have been a level of confusion as to your booking.

Ms. Jane please feel free to contact me directly should you want to discuss your Amora Hotel experience in further detail.

I truly hope that we can be able to welcome you back in the future and show you the true Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel 5-star experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel on a wotif special mystery deal as a 5 star hotel deal for $170. (The normal room rate is $230) upon arriving at the hotel I noticed how beautiful the foyer was and felt good about the booking. That's where it ends... I went up to our room and noticed it was tiny which was no big deal as we only needed it for the night. Ordered room service which was fine and left our tray outside to be collected. The tray was still there the next morning even though I noticed that the next room had received a newspaper. Then there's the bathroom!!! OH MY GOD !! I can't even begin to tell you how much mould was in this bathroom. It looked as though it had ages to breed!! The tiles were white so the mould stood out a mile away!! I told the lady in reception about it and she apologized.. How about using some of the money I paid for the night and buying a $5 bottle of exit mould!! Pretty disgusting Amora!! I sure none of the staff would use this bathroom so why give us this level of filth??

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ArmenJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear ArmenJackie,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

I would like to sincerely apologise for the undesirable experience you had while staying with us recently. Your very constructive feedback has been shared with the Executive Housekeeper and her team for training purposes and immediate rectification.

Please do not hesitate in contacting me directly should you want to discuss your recent stay in more detail.

I truly look forward in being able to welcome you back in the future to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I was very lucky in booking this hotel blind through Hotwire. It has a bit of a business hotel feel but I was very pleased staying here. The room was clean, the bathroom was large and sported a separate tub and standing shower. All of which was also very clean. The bed was spacious and comfortable. The room was equipped with complimentary coffee, a mini fridge inclusive of fresh milk. It had a large safe fit for a small handbag or laptop. I would definitely stay at another Amora hotel again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank png888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear png888,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Your very kind comments regarding our accommodation room is well received and has been shared with the Executive Housekeeper and her team.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
5,931 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 178 in Sydney
1,885 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#18 of 178 in Sydney
1,306 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $178 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Sydney's well kept secrets, Amora Hotel Jamison is quite simply the place to be. Whether you are staying in one of our Deluxe Rooms or Suites, attending a Conference or Gala Dinner, unwinding at Amora Day Spa, or indulging in our Afternoon Tea in GALLERY Lounge Bar, you will experience genuine traditional personalised service. Superbly located above Wynyard Station between George and York Street, within walking distance to all major iconic attractions, Amora Hotel Jamison is renowned for spacious and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing