We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVING OUR STAY!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Ranked #22 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We are currently in the middle of a 4 day stay @ Amora following 14 day NZ cruise. Booked blind w/Expedia via 4-5 star, Rocks CBD location and got $190 plus fees rate, well below normal published. Jessica @ front desk checked us in @ 10AM, very warm reception. Perks are location w/easy access to trains, buses or walk to Rocks, Circular Quay, FREE fast WIFI (huge as many charge $25-35 per day), refreshing indoor pool, jacuzzi, spacious comfortable room w/large bathroom excellent shower/water pressure & soaking tub. Only complaint is with efficient black out curtain and cozy bed makes it hard to get up to explore this amazing city. Not sure what the big deal is with some previous reviews regarding light switches (press and hold a bit as have dimming feature) or pillows (many to choose from). Have not tried restaurant so cannot comment, lots of places to eat in easy walking distance. High marks and big thumbs up all around!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goddess100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear godess100,

Thank you for taking the time to review your current stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are delighted you are thoroughly enjoying your stay with us. We strive to give each and every one of our very valued Guests the best 5-star experience when staying with us and it is a pleasure to know you are currently receiving such service. Your very kind comments regarding Jessica from front desk is greatly appreciated and has been shared with her directly and the Assistant Mangers in front office.

We truly hope you keep enjoying your stay with us. Should we be of any assistance during your stay please do not hesitate in contacting any of our lovely Amora Team and we will be more than happy to assist.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,465 - 7,471 of 8,827 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

We received a warm welcome from the front desk and they managed to check us into our room well in advance of the published check-in time which was a real bonus following a long-haul flight. Elsewhere the staff were friendly but the service was slightly more mixed.  On check-out the receptionist attempted to charge us for the accommodation even though this had been pre-paid.

The location was excellent - within easy walking distance of The Rocks, Circular Quay,etc. The room was good (especially the bathroom) and the bed was comfortable. There were minor signs of wear and tear but nothing unreasonable. The WiFi was free and fast. Overall we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiggyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear wiggyh,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

It is a pleasure to know you have enjoyed your stay with us. I apologise for any inconvenience during your check-out as there appears to have been a level of confusion as to your booking. Your very kind comments regarding our friendly staff is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the entire Amora Team.

I truly look forward in welcoming you back in the near future for another Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed just one night this week, my third stay.
Very welcoming, friendly hotel. Stayed on the 34th floor so got a good view. Free internet. I agree with others that lighting controls took some understanding but got there in the end.
Breakfast was good, plenty of choice, fresh food, good service supporting the buffet - having a corporate deal took most of the sting out of the cost of breakfast.
I was pleased the potential extra charge for very late check-out was waived - a very nice gesture to end my stay.
Location is perfect, minutes from Circular Quay and the centre.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear Graham C,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are delighted you have enjoyed your stay with us once again. Your positive comments regarding our Gallery Restaurant Breakfast is well received and has been shared with both the Food & Beverage Manager and the Executive Chef and their teams.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back in the near future for another Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

stayed in an executive room which had amazing views from the 31st floor. This also gave us access to the executive lounge, which was also on the same floor, free breakfast, with snacks and drinks in the evening included. Staff were great, very friendly and wanted to make sure we had a great stay. Massive bathroom, nice to have a bath with city views, loved it

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank glasseyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear glasseyed,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are delighted you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Your very kind comment regarding our very friendly staff is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the entire Amora Team.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed four days while on Holiday stopover in Sydney.
From going into reception to booking out it was a great experience with helpful courteous staff. Cannot give five stars as we did not use the restaurant or bar facilities
Housekeeping was excellent and the room spotlessly cleaned each day.
We had a discounted deal and the value was very good.
Free wifi an added bonus.
Immediately adjacent to Wynyard station where the train to the airport is an easy comfortable ride.
Recommended

Room Tip: Ask for a room on as high a floor as possible, some have great views towards the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanRetd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear IanRetd,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Your very kind comment regarding our helpful and courteous staff is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the entire Amora Team. We are delighted you got to experience the 5-star Amora customer service during your stay with us.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back in the near future for another Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Amora is rated as a five star hotel. However, we found it to be a little too hi-tech for our tastes. Our room and bath appeared very stark, the decor was primarily black, white and gray, the lighting was complicated, and the demeanor of the employees was a chilly as the rooms appeared. The location was excellent, located 1 minute (downhill) to George Street. Our pillows were not comfortable, and we were offered a "pillow menu", but these were not an;y improvement. The elevator, which required the use of the room key to operate, seemed to have a mind of its own.

Room Tip: we were on the 5th floor (out of 32) - with no view, other than other hi-rise buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbbaiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear mbbaiken,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Your very constructive feedback regarding our pillow menu and the elevator access is well received and have both been shared with our Housekeeping Manager and the Rooms Division Manager for review and training purposes.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Service- Below average. Time after time my stay at Amora makes me feel like i have overpaid for a 5 star experience.

Room service mishap and miscommunications come one after another, all of which have been recorded on my account at the hotel.

The list is really not a reflection on what service and value at a 5 star hotel should be.

I have been upgraded time after time at Amora Jamison, but quite frankly i wouldn't at the moment reccomend the Amora experience to any curious travellers.

I have gotten to know the managers (Morning,day and Night) and the Restaurant manager from the amount of times i have had to call through to report a inconvenince caused by either room service or staff that wander the floor's of the hotel.

There seem's to be clear cut communication issues with the staff at Jamison and quite often as the guest-i have paid the quite HEFTY price of being stuck in the middle of it.

I expect a relaxing experience that provides value for money, amazing sleep quality and one that if a mistake has been made-this mistake is not only rectified but the customer inconvenienced by this orignally is taken care of next time around-not subject to further mishaps.

I see Jamison have a representive of the company- the general manager i believe, replying to customers reviews here on the site. Please feel free to have a look at my record to garner further detail around the experiences i have described and contact me directly with any inquiries.

I plan to return to the Jamison hotel to give them one more chance to rectify these problems and provide the advertised five star quality of stay. I have a complimentary upgrade to the Park suite next time around and provided everything goes well-i will be more than happy to endorse the brand and compliment them in fixing up the obvious issues they experience.

Kind Regards,
Jack.

Room Tip: Will be getting a complimentary upgrade to the Jamison Park suite next time around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackgeorge2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
6,005 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 179 in Sydney
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 179 in Sydney
4,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $134 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Sydney's well kept secrets, Amora Hotel Jamison is quite simply the place to be. Whether you are staying in one of our Deluxe Rooms or Suites, attending a Conference or Gala Dinner, unwinding at Amora Day Spa, or indulging in our Afternoon Tea in GALLERY Lounge Bar, you will experience genuine traditional personalised service. Superbly located above Wynyard Station between George and York Street, within walking distance to all major iconic attractions, Amora Hotel Jamison is renowned for spacious and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing