We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Never disappoints” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Ranked #22 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I used to stay at this hotel regularly for work but it had been a few years since my last stay. I was delighted that the high standards have not changed. Staff are friendly and efficient. I arrived at 11.00am at the end of a 30 hour trip and understandably, my room wasn't ready. As I was meeting people for lunch I asked if there was somewhere I could shower. I was directed to the pool area and the staff in the spa provided me with a hairdryer so I was able to look my best at lunch. As it was, my room because available at midday. Room was what you would expect for a five star hotel - comfortable, quiet, well equipped. Hotel is only a few minutes walk to Circular Quay, the Opera House and The Rocks. In the other direction is the shops. I walked from the Amora to the Chinese Gardens at Darling Harbour and it only took 20 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoGoodFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear TwoGoodFriends,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

It was a pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel. Your very kind comments regarding our friendly and efficient staff is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the entire Amora Team. We are delighted you enjoyed our very spacious and comfortable rooms during your stay.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back in the near future for another Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,460
    2,394
    672
    194
    99
See reviews for
998
2,878
364
1,760
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Amora for three nights recently for a weekend getaway. The staff were so very welcoming. We were upgraded to a beautiful room as we were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary. The rooms are spacious and very clean and the bed was super comfortable! We ate dinner at the restaurant once and found the food and staff to be fantastic. They went out of their way to make sure you were enjoying yourself. Overall, we had a wonderful time and will definitely be staying again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Michelle H,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Congratulations on your 10 year wedding anniversary! We are delighted you have chosen to celebrate such a special day with the Amora Team. We strive to give all our valued guests the best Amora experience when staying with us and we are pleased this was shown to you on your special day. Your very kind comments regarding Amora experience has been shared with the entire Amora Team and is greatly appreciated.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back in the near future for another wonderful stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel, perhaps for your 10.5 year wedding anniversary.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford NSW Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Have stayed here twice in recent months both times as a "mystery hotel" on wotif. At that level represents really good value in a great location. Facilities and rooms are more than adequate and beds very comfortable I just doubt that compared to others in the city it is truly 5 star that's why at mystery rates its is good but probably would be a bit peeved if I paid full advertised rack rate.
Overall though it is well located and appointed with everything you would need and I would be more than happy to have an overnight stay there again at the right price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricolours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Tricolours,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are delighted you have enjoyed our very comfortable beds and our spacious rooms. We strive to give all our valued guests the best 5-star experience when stay with us with our above and beyond service and great facilities.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future for another Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Amora Jamison Street is perfectly situated of the visitor. Within walking distance of pretty much everything. Being only a couple of blocks from the Rocks, Circular Quay, Cockle Wharf it is a great spot to position yourself for a few days in Sydney. A good stroll gets you to Darling Harbour. Perfect position! Staff are extremely courteous and helpful. Rooms vary with your budget. I strongly recommend getting as high up as possible, not only for the views but to escape the city street noise. (being from a very very rural home the noise can be a problem). Room was spacious, comfortable arm chairs, and a spacious bathroom wiht a decent size bath that has a view! That was a nice luxury after a day wandering the streets.

Room Tip: take an upgrade if offered, worth it and seek a higher floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClockmakersWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear ClockmakersWife,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are delighted you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Your very kind comments regarding our extremely courteous and helpful staff is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the entire Amora team.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel in the near future for another enjoyable Amora experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliffe, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Starting to show its age. I usually stay here a few times a year. Friendly staff. Good location within walking distance to Circulay Quay and The Rocks. Rooms need a refresh. Menu also needs a update. All rooms are always clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Hyperactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Mr_Hyperactive,

Thank you very much for reviewing your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Your very constructive comments regarding our rooms is well received and has been shared with the Executive Team for review. We strive to give all our valued guests the friendliest and the most comfortable experience when staying with us and it is a pleasure to know this was shown to you during your recent stay.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back once again to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Very polite reception. Got upgraded to suite for an extra $50 instead of $100. Room was nice and spacious. Not a bad view of the park but from our angle the sun very rarely shone into our room. Nice bathroom, big shower and bath. Would definitely recommend to everyone.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Juddy_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Juddy_AU,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

It is a pleasure to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed your very nice and comfortable room during your stay. Your very kind comments regarding our polite reception staff is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the Rooms Division Manager and his team.

We look forward to your return to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel in the near future.


Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is one of Sydney's best Hotels,

My wife and I stayed here back in January of 2013 and we both thought that this hotel was the best hotel that we stayed in Sydney (We had to stay at a few this trip).

The staff were friendly and professional, whilst the other hotels we stayed at were professional some of the hotel were very stand offish as with the Amora nothing was a problem.

One sign of a great hotel is to see flight crews from airlines like United Airlines, American Airlines, British Airways, Emirates, Thai Airways, Delta, Singapore Airlines, Qantas and Malaysian Airways using this hotel as a crewing hotel as these airlines only pick the best hotels for their flight crews to stay at in the cities that they flying into under contract with the hotel owners.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcajimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear mcajimbo,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are delighted you and your wife thoroughly enjoy staying with us when on your trips. We strive to give all our valued guests the highest quality service possible and it is a pleasure to know that this was given to you and your wife during your stay with us. Your very kind comments regarding our professional and friendly staff is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the entire Amora team.

We truly look forward in welcoming you and your wife back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,654 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#27 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,805 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Property: Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Sydney's well kept secrets, Amora Hotel Jamison is quite simply the place to be. Whether you are staying in one of our Newly Refurbished Deluxe Rooms or Suites, attending a Conference or Gala Dinner, unwinding at Amora Day Spa, enjoying Spanish cuisine in CHARR Restaurant or indulging in our Afternoon Tea in GALLERY Lounge Bar, you will experience genuine traditional personalised service. Superbly located above Wynyard Station between George and York Street, within walking distance to all major iconic attractions, Amora Hotel Jamison is renowned for spacious and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing