We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Ranked #22 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We recently landed this hotel through a mystery deal over the October Long Weekend in line with the International Fleet Review in Sydney. Knowing road closures were hapening at 10am we thought we would park our car and drop our bags off. We were pleasantly surprised when we were told an arrival at 9am that they had a room ready. We checked in and were pleasantly surprised when we were given a corner room on the 34th Floor looking towards Darling Harbour and looking opposite Star City. We could view some of the tall ships as they sailed in.
The rooms were very spacious with a beautiful seperate bath, gowns and slippers provided as well as complimentary tea, coffee and Ironing board tucked away. You can anly access your floor with your key. Breakfast was also very good but as you expect in a four/five star establishment a little on the costly side. However considering we paid for 2 nights what most people of this weekend paid for one and we got a fabulous King room we weren't complaining.
This hotel is in a great position it is only a 5 to 10 min stroll to King St wharf Darling Harbour and the same in the direction to shops and Circular Quay. Thanks for a delightful weekend :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Paula Z,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are delighted to know you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and were able to comfortably stay in one of our very spacious Corner King rooms. Your favourable comment regarding our Gallery Restaurant Breakfast is greatly appreciated and has been shared with our Food and Beverage Manager and his team. We strive to give every valued guest the best 5-star experience when staying with the Amora and we are pleased this has been shown to you during your stay.

We truly wish to welcome you back for another pleasant Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,495 - 7,501 of 8,827 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed in a King Room for 1 night few weeks ago. Excellent location within Sydney CBD. Room was clean and quite. Was on the 15th floor.

For a 5 star hotel I found it odd that their king bed was two smaller beds with an overlay. Although very comfortable i was confused as why there wasn't a king bed there.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank lonewolf860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear lonewolf860,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are delighted you have enjoyed your stay with us overall. Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding the bed configuration in your room. We are pleased to share with you that the Hotel has just commenced Stage 1 of a total room refurbishment project. All 415 Rooms and Suites will undergo new furnishing and finishes including new beds for all our valued guests satisfaction.

We truly look forward to your return visit over time in order to present the new Amora Jamison Hotel Sydney room experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Amora is our hotel of choice for my company so I have to stay there whenever in Sydney. Am there half a dozen times a year. It used to be pretty good, but has gotten old and tired. Carpets in rooms are stained and worn, furniture is scratched. Breakfast is okay but selection has got less on last couple of visits. Needs refurbishment which they're apparently doing but which doesn't seem to extend to carpets. Rooms are a good size and beds are comfortable though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acehadventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear acehadventures,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Your very constructive comments concerning the room furnishing is well received and I am delighted to share with you that the Hotel has just commenced Stage 1 of a total room refurbishment project. All 415 Rooms and Suites will undergo new furnishing and finishes and we do look forward to your return visit over time in order to present the new Amora Jamison Hotel room experience. Your feedback regarding the Breakfast options in our Gallery Restaurant has been read first hand by our Food & Beverage Manager & Chef for training purposes.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed at the Amora Jamison for 1 night, prior to an international trip, booking through a hotel aggregator site. The site offered discounted rates for blind assignment of a 5-star hotel - I would have been extremely unlikely to book the hotel directly. Overall the experience was ok. The room was a reasonable size, with adequate furnishings. The decor was tired and in need of a refresh. Two calls I placed to the hotel's central service line went answered and the calls were not returned. A regular traveler, I am highly unlikely to stay at the Amora Jamison again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAMN8R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear LAMN8R,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Your very constructive comments concerning the room furnishing is well received and I am delighted to share with you that the Hotel has just commenced Stage 1 of a total room refurbishment project. All 415 Rooms and Suites will undergo new furnishing and finishes for our valued guests satisfaction. Your feedback regarding the Hotels "Central services line" has been shared with the Rooms Division Manager and he sends his sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

We do look forward to your return visit over time in order to present the new Amora Jamison Hotel room experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Isn't nice to find a hotel that doesn't want to squeeze every cent out of you? I'm not sure how much the stay was as it was booked by my company but it was great checking in and being offered free wi fi for as many devices as I required, and it actually was a speed you could use! Unlike many other free services offered by hotels. Didn't eat in the hotel as it is in such a handy location to so many other gastronomic options so can't comment on that. Good rooms, clean and reasonable size with comfortable beds. Concierge and check in/out staff exceptionally helpful. Will be happy to stay here for any future business trips and maybe even for my upcoming holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Frank D,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Your very kind comments regarding our comfortable rooms and our exceptional Amora Team Members is greatly appreciated as has been shared with the Rooms Division Manager and his team.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back in your upcoming holiday for another Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed for a week. 32nd floor club room , location great, views of the harbour and opera house, fantastic bathroom
Let down by the small crappy tv in a cupboard though

Club room pretty good as clubs go, morning girl could do with being a bit less intrusive though, not all guests want to talk about their personal lives at 8am !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jk16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear jk16,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are delighted you have enjoyed one of our comfortable Club Rooms and also were able to experience our Jamison Club facilities on level 31. Your very constructive comment regarding our TV is well received and we are pleased to share with you that the Hotel has just commenced Stage 1 of a total room refurbishment project and that the TV and its location will be modified for guest comfort viewing.

We look forward in welcoming you back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Lovely room with gorgeous modern bathroom, nice deep bath. View out to the harbor and within walking distance to the Rocks and Circular Quay. Stayed just one night but will definitely stay again as it is such a fantastic location and very well priced.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen F, General Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Barbara C,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are delighted you have enjoyed our very spacious room and modern bathroom facilities. Our location is very convenient in the centre of the Sydney CBD area and we are pleased you were able to enjoy the surrounding Sydney Sites while staying with us.

We look forward in welcoming you back in the near future for another fantastic Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel experience.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Floyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
6,005 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 179 in Sydney
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 179 in Sydney
4,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $134 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Sydney's well kept secrets, Amora Hotel Jamison is quite simply the place to be. Whether you are staying in one of our Deluxe Rooms or Suites, attending a Conference or Gala Dinner, unwinding at Amora Day Spa, or indulging in our Afternoon Tea in GALLERY Lounge Bar, you will experience genuine traditional personalised service. Superbly located above Wynyard Station between George and York Street, within walking distance to all major iconic attractions, Amora Hotel Jamison is renowned for spacious and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing