We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fabulous place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Ranked #18 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Wyong, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a fabulous place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I was so impressed with the whole place! The room, the bathroom, the amenities (pool, spa, sauna), the location. It was a fabulous experience. I would definitely stay there again. Great value for money. I cannot comment on the meals as we didnt eat there as there was so many options close by.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,891
    2,628
    736
    206
    102
See reviews for
1,193
3,179
395
1,908
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

The location is great, particularly for Circular Quay and the Rocks, literally a 5 minute walk away. The room required quite a face-lift especially if you are going to call it 5 star! Bathroom was very nice, and complimentary internet (which should be standard anyway). Service was as expected and everyone was very helpful and welcoming. I would recommend this place for location alone, but sadly not for the price we paid (and that was on special!!!).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen_Booth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed the Australia Day long weekend after booking a Expedia Mystery . We were sceptical after reading some of the motels reviews. However all our expectations were easily met. We wanted to stay some place close to the Rocks in a quiet location. Easy walking. With parking provided within the establishment. This is exactly what we received. Our room was impeccably clean and well presented. We stayed on the 13th floor in a Deluxe King. Our bed was terrific perfect to sleep on no rolling into each. The Amora offers a pillows selection on request. We encountered no noise within our room from outside.. We did have a slight view and were pleased that the offices facing us were closed late Friday afternoon. (windows tinted however not when a light is on). We received excellent service by all staff at all times very professional. Complimentary newspapers provided for 3 days. Coffee & tea facility is underneath a pull out swivel TV. So we improvised & boiled kettle in the bathroom. Our Bathroom was a decent size the toilet area would suit larger people. Check in is at 2 pm check out 10am. Parking is charged in 24 hr blocks. We paid for our parking at reception where we were issued 2 validation tickets(marked 1 & 2). If you get these the wrong way around the machine will not accept and one has to return to reception. We will definitely stay here again as sleep quality is high. There are 5 lifts to all rooms ..they were the best we have encountered so far. The lift to the parking is slow and small like the car parking garage. So if you are not good at driving use the valet services. This is a non smoking motel. A smoking area is provided away from the elements. Woolworth (grocery store ) is 5mins walk down the slight hill.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grub08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed here during the Sydney 2000 Olympics as a Meriden hotel when it first open. After all this time, I wasn't expecting a lot and wavs pleasantly surprised. The bathroom are still large and immaculately cleaned. Helpful reception staff, did not see any concierge (i didn't have any bags) nor did not hear any cleaning staff in the morning. The breakfast buffet was very disappointing in terms of quality and choice.

Room Tip: Corner room are fora from the lifts and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Under_fifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel which is downtown Sydney as it was very close to the Overseas Terminal where our cruise ship was leaving from. We were able to trundle our suitcases down the few blocks to the Terminal.
The hotel was lovely and clean, staff very friendly and courteous.
We would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DENNIS D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Our stay at theis hotel was for a special occasion and becuase we advised the Amora Jamison - we were upgraded to a deluxe corner room with lovely veiws and a comfortable king size bed.
The room was well liad out and did not have the "generic" feel that some hotels have. The wardrobe was just gorgeous, it looked like a jewel box with lot of cupboards and drawers. I wanted to take it home!.
The enormus bathroom had a slight deco look in black and white. Full size tub, seperate shower and excellent lighting.
The airconditioner was quiet, as was the room with no extranious noise from the floor we were on.
A minor issue - the flat screen TV was small and lived in the wardrobe and the aspect was out - lots of squat wide people on that TV, would have been nice if it was a bit bigger.
We had the seafood buffet dinner on the saturday night. The prawns, bugs and oysters were great, but if you wanted something hot and you did not like salmon - the choice was very limited. Desserts were fabulous.
One of the best things was the free internet. The speed was great and the reception were very helpful in getting the ipad linked to the wireless.
Good value, lovely staff, nice room and I would stay again!

Room Tip: Ring first to discuss your booking and your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leticia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel claims to be a five star but is NOT. It's fine, but a 3 star at best. The rooms are dingy and small, the carpets are soiled and stained, the furniture in the room is worn (bare spots on the wood of the desk, thin patches on upholstery). The room TVs are old and low quality. The hotel is not particularly distinctive in any way. Save your money and go elsewhere.

Beware, also that Hotwire considers this a 5-star property for purposes of their best prices, hidden hotel names. You may be rolling the dice hoping to end up in the 5-star Shangrila-la or Four Seasons, but you'll end up here. Not what you want.

Room Tip: Ask specifically for a room with a king size bed. They tried to put me in a room with two singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HKGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,187 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,998 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#19 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,052 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Property: Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Sydney's well kept secrets, Amora Hotel Jamison is quite simply the place to be. Whether you are staying in one of our Newly Refurbished Deluxe Rooms or Suites, attending a Conference or Gala Dinner, unwinding at Amora Day Spa, enjoying Spanish cuisine in CHARR Restaurant or indulging in our Afternoon Tea in GALLERY Lounge Bar, you will experience genuine traditional personalised service. Superbly located above Wynyard Station between George and York Street, within walking distance to all major iconic attractions, Amora Hotel Jamison is renowned for spacious and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing