We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Ranked #22 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel is cheaper than other 5 star hotels and the rooms/facilities reflect that (which is fair enough). If you get a good online rate, pay the extra charge to upgrade to a suite - it is well worth it for a separate living area/bedroom, large bathtub and windows overlooking the park.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,697)
There are newer reviews for Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,619 - 7,625 of 8,697 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is quite lovely. The foyer and staff were great and in an ideal location.

Room needs a little bit of work as I think it is a bit tired. Shower door not swinging properly and door at mini bar not working very well. Would stay again but it is not a 5 star.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelP096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

There seems to be a growing consensus that this is not a 5 star. It may have been once, but it's now rather faded. The carpet in my room was thin and grubby-looking (I think clean, but faded and stained), and the bed, while OK, was not 5 star standard. On the upside, internet was free. On the downside, there was a $6.50 'delivery charge' for already overpriced room service (mains starting at $32). I had a Monty Python moment where I was tempted to order room service then insist on collecting it myself ... Check-in was not particularly efficient, and at check-out time there was a huge queue snaking across the lobby. Unimpressive on all counts.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. There are loads of excellent hotels in the Sydney CBD.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaisaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I took a chance on a Wotif mystery hotel deal (something I have never done before). At $150 a mid week night for a five star hotel in the middle of Sydney CBD it was a great deal.

When we arrived we were offered an upgrade for $50 extra. As it included 'access' to the Jamison Club, breakfast for two and a two hour session of 'free drinks' and canopies it was definitely 'worth it'. Added to that we were moved to a room on the top floor (34th floor) and one the best corner overlooking the water in the distance. When we went to the Jamison club there was only one other couple there so the lone waitress was supplying me drinks whenever I asked. I had wine and spirits and the only exception was when the waitress asked me to accept a glass of water (Responsible Service of Alcohol). The plant next to me appreciated the water.

The rooms are clean and the bathrooms spotless and new looking. The bathtub has views of the city skyline. Our room (being on the corner of the building) has 270 degree views. There is another taller building next to us and I wondered if the office workers could see me wandering around the room. There is reflective glass on our hotel so I didn't worry during the daylight hours.

The pool is larger then most hotels we have visited and there is a dry and a wet sauna. The staff were very courteous and we saw many airline flight crew staff checking in and out. Parking was available at $40 for a 24 hour period. The hotel has Wynyard train station beneath it and there are many food and retail shops below. There is a McDonalds too if you want to get potato chips for a $1.

The hotel the only ten minutes walk to the Sydney Rocks and Circular Quay. The Strand Arcade and Queen Victoria Building are closer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ray_yuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Booked hotel on mystery deal on Wotif Was a little disappointed with relized Amora Hotel was the mystery deal having read the reviews I was pleasently supprised.
We paid $145 for a twin room with 2 king single beds. At reception I requested a room a little higher as suggested by other reviews on trip adviser. We were given the option of 2 rooms prior to confirming and given the upgrade to Club Class For an extra $45 we had a room on the 30th floor drinks (4 gin and tonics) and food in the lounge on the 31st floor overlooking the city and harbour and a full breakfeast for 2 in the morning The food and presentation and service were excellent Breakie alone would have cost that much. We( two mature ladies )had difficulty with the bedside lights when returning from a concert, two kind men arrived from the service department and were able to show us where the switch was. Lovely separate bath and shower Yes the carpet was worn and a little stained but I am not complaining!! Location was excellent easy walk to shops and shows.

Room Tip: Room up high for the view
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank australiaClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed in one of the suite rooms and though attractively priced( though not a give away prices), lets just say the room facilities left a lot to be desired! In comparison to other 5 star hotels... there is no comparison. Amora Jamison needs to down grade it's rating to a medium 4 star/ top 3 star and stop leading guest up a rose coloured path by its false images and unreal product.
Base facilities in the suite were not up to standard and Maintenance needs a swift kick up the bum in regards to ensuring these rooms are looking their best. Shoddy paintwork and worn fabrics are not what is expected of a five star suite and when mentioned to the duty manager, who I must say had great listen skills( his only skill) he was powerless to fix, explain or accommodate.
Utterly disappointing visit- people listen to me- don't be fooled by their self rated 5 star status... Trust in the official star rating system and stay at a true 5 star rated property! You won't be disappointed! Like I was :(

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Austin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Amora Jamison is almost like a hidden secret for five star hotels in Sydney. A modest, comfortable and well appointed hotel, with room rates comparable to most five star hotels. The rooms are exceptionally large, with features you'd expect at any hotel in this range.
They do not have too many food and beverage outlets, but more than make up for it with impeccable service and a quaint restaurant and bar. They are one of the few hotels also in the Sydney CBD to have an in house health spa.
The service is personable, friendly and everyone from reservations to porters, go out of their way to assist.

The lobby is bright, warm and welcoming and he evening piano music is a delight for a meeting or waiting area.

Located within a stones throw from the historic Rocks area of Sydney, as well as easy walking distance of attractions such as Pitt Street Mall, Queen Victoria Building and the transport hub of Wynyard. Fantastic hotel for city events, weekend treats and corporates. Highly recommend as value for money.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are spacious and well appointed
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KVE1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
5,931 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 178 in Sydney
1,885 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#18 of 178 in Sydney
1,306 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $178 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Sydney's well kept secrets, Amora Hotel Jamison is quite simply the place to be. Whether you are staying in one of our Deluxe Rooms or Suites, attending a Conference or Gala Dinner, unwinding at Amora Day Spa, or indulging in our Afternoon Tea in GALLERY Lounge Bar, you will experience genuine traditional personalised service. Superbly located above Wynyard Station between George and York Street, within walking distance to all major iconic attractions, Amora Hotel Jamison is renowned for spacious and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing