We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you don't go there with high hopes, you'll be pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Ranked #22 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We got this hotel booked through a mystery package deal on wotif.com. With the idea of a 5 star hotel in mind, I admit I was hoping not to get this hotel upon other people's review. When I found out that wotif booked this hotel, my expectations of this place went even further downhill so once we checked in and the room was bright, clean and pretty, I perked up again. I certainly wouldn't consider this place 5 star as I've stayed at places far less expensive with much better atmosphere however, this is a perfect business type hotel worthy of 4-4.5 stars as the staff was robotically pleasant but not too helpful, facilities are stock standard and bathroom is quite nice. I'm sure if my expectations weren't so low prior to arriving, this review wouldn't have been as positive and on the plus side: the location of this place is fantastic. Maybe with more impressive furniture and service worthy of 5 stars, this hotel would have more right to their star rating.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jewelsowinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,697)
There are newer reviews for Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,709 - 7,715 of 8,697 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have stayed here a couple of times this year and each time have been disappointed. While the facilities are good, the hotel lacks that little bit extra that takes a hotel from 4 to 5 star.
The rooms are dated and in need of refurbishment, the windows are in dire need of a scrub and the staff need a touch up in what exactly is customer service in a 5 star hotel.
Don't get me wrong, the location is great and the rooms are clean and comfortable, but the hotel doesn't compare to anything on offer from some of the 5 star hotels a short walk away.
Stay here if you get a bargain, if you want luxury, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtchclt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The location is great for the tourist areas and not too far from the business areas.

The staff are great - friendly and helpful - and the rooms are well put together, with plenty of storage space for luggage, etc

It's the bathrooms that I love. Spacious, well lit, with a deep tub for soaking in.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Amora is a welll located Hotel especially for business, but equally for toruists. , room rates are acceptable for Sydney.
Rooms are slightly larger and decor is modern, not the usual predictable decor and room set up.
Good pool , gym so-so.
Breakfast is good for those that eat in hotels.
Staff are exceptionally good , attentive & seem genulnely keen to assist.

Room Tip: Get the slightly laregr corner rooms , better views
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Close to Sydney Icons. Walk to Circular Quay, Rocks, Bridge and Opera House. Close to Fantastic Restaurants nearby. Our Room 1111, was spotless. Huge bathroom with full size bath. Huge soft bed. Staff attentive. View opposite was interesting office building, that left its lights on all weekend (why?) and you can glimpse water to the left. Amora Jamison ticks a lot of boxes. We were very happy with our stay here.

Room Tip: We liked Room 1111.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artroomali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We got our deal from lastminute.com and paid $205/night for a 3 night stay over the weekend. We got this off a secret hotel deals so we had no idea what we were getting into. Once the booking was made and we found out that it was the Amora, I did some research and ended up pretty worried from some of the comments I've seen...

While I do agree that there are some spots on the hotel that need upgrading (scuff marks on walls, old carpet, old shower tiles, room safe and fridge) I rather enjoyed our stay. None of the items that need upgrading really took away from your stay & to be honest the other half didnt even notice them until I pointed them out. For the amount we paid, this was really good value for money.

The room was huge, there were enough channels to sift through, they automatically provided extra pillows and blankets in case needed, there was even a pillow menu in case you werent happy with the ones found in your room! I also loved that the hotel had a spa pool, a wet & dry sauna, and a pool apart from the usual fitness center. Again, good value!

Service wise check in and out were both speedy and painless, there was always someone to open your door, and they even helped the hubby find a charger for his laptop since he forgot his. We were happy.

As for location -- it was great. We were within minutes of the rocks, the opera house and georges street was just around the corner. We can be at Wynyard Station in less than 2 minutes, and lots of places for late night munchies nearby and a supermarket to boot.

Trumps previous hotels we've tried in Sydney which in fact were priced much higher than the Amora. Would definitely book here again for future trips.

We stayed on the 7th floor and even had a nice view of the city.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intomysnowglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I picked this hotel- or rather it was picked for me - on a mystery deal. I had to be in Sydney on Business but I always come for fun as well. The mystery idea was to save a few dollars but otherwise if you were interested in 5 star luxury you wouldn't pick this hotel. It has a few of the trappings, a friendly doorman and good front desk service but the rooms are dated. The TV had poor reception on some channels and lives in a cupboard. It just has a cheap feel about it. No new milk for coffee/tea or new toiletries on day two. The blinds don't blockout the light. The good bits are that that the bed is comfy and the bathroom large with a nice bath. Location is good for transport and it is only 500 metres or so from the Quay. If your after luxury/location and everything to be just so, I'd pick the Intercontinental for a few dollars more and that hotel has great views. This hotel might scrape to 4 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor you might score a view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smartywishbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
5,929 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 178 in Sydney
1,885 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#18 of 178 in Sydney
1,306 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $173 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Sydney's well kept secrets, Amora Hotel Jamison is quite simply the place to be. Whether you are staying in one of our Deluxe Rooms or Suites, attending a Conference or Gala Dinner, unwinding at Amora Day Spa, or indulging in our Afternoon Tea in GALLERY Lounge Bar, you will experience genuine traditional personalised service. Superbly located above Wynyard Station between George and York Street, within walking distance to all major iconic attractions, Amora Hotel Jamison is renowned for spacious and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing