We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best bathrooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Ranked #18 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best bathrooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

The location is great for the tourist areas and not too far from the business areas.

The staff are great - friendly and helpful - and the rooms are well put together, with plenty of storage space for luggage, etc

It's the bathrooms that I love. Spacious, well lit, with a deep tub for soaking in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,991
    2,706
    762
    210
    102
See reviews for
1,233
3,257
404
1,971
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Amora is a welll located Hotel especially for business, but equally for toruists. , room rates are acceptable for Sydney.
Rooms are slightly larger and decor is modern, not the usual predictable decor and room set up.
Good pool , gym so-so.
Breakfast is good for those that eat in hotels.
Staff are exceptionally good , attentive & seem genulnely keen to assist.

Room Tip: Get the slightly laregr corner rooms , better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
292 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Close to Sydney Icons. Walk to Circular Quay, Rocks, Bridge and Opera House. Close to Fantastic Restaurants nearby. Our Room 1111, was spotless. Huge bathroom with full size bath. Huge soft bed. Staff attentive. View opposite was interesting office building, that left its lights on all weekend (why?) and you can glimpse water to the left. Amora Jamison ticks a lot of boxes. We were very happy with our stay here.

Room Tip: We liked Room 1111.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artroomali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We got our deal from lastminute.com and paid $205/night for a 3 night stay over the weekend. We got this off a secret hotel deals so we had no idea what we were getting into. Once the booking was made and we found out that it was the Amora, I did some research and ended up pretty worried from some of the comments I've seen...

While I do agree that there are some spots on the hotel that need upgrading (scuff marks on walls, old carpet, old shower tiles, room safe and fridge) I rather enjoyed our stay. None of the items that need upgrading really took away from your stay & to be honest the other half didnt even notice them until I pointed them out. For the amount we paid, this was really good value for money.

The room was huge, there were enough channels to sift through, they automatically provided extra pillows and blankets in case needed, there was even a pillow menu in case you werent happy with the ones found in your room! I also loved that the hotel had a spa pool, a wet & dry sauna, and a pool apart from the usual fitness center. Again, good value!

Service wise check in and out were both speedy and painless, there was always someone to open your door, and they even helped the hubby find a charger for his laptop since he forgot his. We were happy.

As for location -- it was great. We were within minutes of the rocks, the opera house and georges street was just around the corner. We can be at Wynyard Station in less than 2 minutes, and lots of places for late night munchies nearby and a supermarket to boot.

Trumps previous hotels we've tried in Sydney which in fact were priced much higher than the Amora. Would definitely book here again for future trips.

We stayed on the 7th floor and even had a nice view of the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intomysnowglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I picked this hotel- or rather it was picked for me - on a mystery deal. I had to be in Sydney on Business but I always come for fun as well. The mystery idea was to save a few dollars but otherwise if you were interested in 5 star luxury you wouldn't pick this hotel. It has a few of the trappings, a friendly doorman and good front desk service but the rooms are dated. The TV had poor reception on some channels and lives in a cupboard. It just has a cheap feel about it. No new milk for coffee/tea or new toiletries on day two. The blinds don't blockout the light. The good bits are that that the bed is comfy and the bathroom large with a nice bath. Location is good for transport and it is only 500 metres or so from the Quay. If your after luxury/location and everything to be just so, I'd pick the Intercontinental for a few dollars more and that hotel has great views. This hotel might scrape to 4 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor you might score a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartywishbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Got this one off a Secret Deal/Mystery hotel site. 2 nights cost $495. First time staying here. Wanted 2 beds as was with my sis. Rooms very comfortably appointed with 2 king singles. Quiet. Clean light bathroom, big bath, generous room size. Good view onto the residential apartments next door so you could have a dorrie to see how the other half lives. Didn't really have anything to do with staff or food & beverage outlets so can't comment. Would stay here again as we like location down the Circular Quay end of town - close to train at Wynyard, ferries at the Quay and walking tracks around the Opera House, Harbour Bridge and Gardens.

Room Tip: 2316 looks west onto highrises
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Most of the other reviews have got it. This is not a Five Star hotel. Maybe just scrapes in at Four Star. Location is great. The desk should automatically give you the WiFi code on check in so you do not need to return or phone to find out.

Room Tip: If you take a $150 Wotif mystery 5 star you probably should expect better. Wotif as well as the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longbich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,286 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,150 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Property: Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Sydney's well kept secrets, Amora Hotel Jamison is quite simply the place to be. Whether you are staying in one of our Newly Refurbished Deluxe Rooms or Suites, attending a Conference or Gala Dinner, unwinding at Amora Day Spa, enjoying Spanish cuisine in CHARR Restaurant or indulging in our Afternoon Tea in GALLERY Lounge Bar, you will experience genuine traditional personalised service. Superbly located above Wynyard Station between George and York Street, within walking distance to all major iconic attractions, Amora Hotel Jamison is renowned for spacious and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing