We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Ranked #22 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I bought our stay at this hotel through a mystery deal. Quite expensive but worth the price for the location. Short walk to both circular quay and darling harbour. We also had a view of the water from our room on the 23rd floor. Bed was comfortable and room was reasonably sized. Bathroom was quite big, with a seperate shower and bath. I would stay here again because the room and the location was good however I would look for a better price :) overall, it was a nice hotel with a nice room and great location.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank -_-kateeeeeeeeee-_-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,968)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,111 - 8,117 of 8,970 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2012

This hotel was well situated. It had facilities that we didn't use. It had facilities in the room we didn't use! It has an interesting and attractive design. Lot's of quirky features. Some of them a little frustrating at times such as the advanced light switches and dimmers that take some time to work out. There wasn't anything to dislike.

Room Tip: Having glimpse of harbour views is possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoffk665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I stayed at the Amora Sydney for a couple of nights. The view from my room was stunning. Service was at a very high standard. 2 restaurants and 2 different bars were spot on.
My room had it all; wireless connection, great room space and beautiful daylight.
The executive lounge was a great place for relaxing after a long day of work.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maurorisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We've stayed here several times for business. It is located at the northern end of Sydney, and is an easy walk to CirculAr Quay and The Rocks. Lots of great shops and restaurants nearby.

The hotel is great (nice pool and spa), and while the food from the restaurants are also good, it is a bit pricey.

Overall an excellent hotel

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex_Roach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I booked the mystery Wotif deal and this was the Hotel that I was given. I was pleasantly surprised. It was close to the Rocks and Circular Quay (5 min walk) and about 10 mins to the main shops and Queen Victoria building. Wynard train station is just below the Hotel so ideal esp. if you are needing to get to the airport, either domestic or international.The room was a good size and the bathroom had a lovely deep bath. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The carpet in the room needs renewing but the rest of it was very clean and acceptable. I dined in the restaurant and again staff very friendly but the food wasn't anything to rave about and quite expensive so i would go to the rocks or the quay to eat.Breakfast was excellent in that it had a good selection of fruit and a chef who would cook an omlette to your liking.Overall i thought for the price of $179 it was good value. I had a massage at the Amora spa and that was a relaxing and enjoyable treatment.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbugforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Like many we took the Wotif mystery hotel deal for two rooms over Mother's Day. We've stayed in most of the decent hotels in the city over the years and this isn't too bad and at the price ($179) pretty decent value.

The location is moderately good. It's much quieter than being on George St even though it is only 100 meters away and you're close to Circular Quay and the Rocks.

The lobby is bland international hotel. The rooms are a decent size but the wood was scratched and faded in both of our rooms. The beds are exceptionally comfortable. The bathrooms are fine but I prefer a separate shower than one in the bath. Service was pleasant and efficient.

The buffet breakfast was poor for a 5 star hotel. Pay more and go to the Four Seasons nearby if buffets are your thing. Otherwise you can grab a trendy brekkie at any number of nearby cafes.

So, if you get a good deal you won't be upset but don't expect to be blown away by your good fortune.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank OnThePoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My daughter and I spent the weekend of the 19th of May 2012 at this hidden pearl, we found it by accident on a mystery hotel booking site. it was listed as 5 star with a location close to main tourist destinations. It was all that and more, we upgraded our room to the 30th floor for just an extra $45 which gave us breakfast in their private VIP breakfast room plus all day access for light refreshments, dry cleaning bonus, free magazines, papers etc. It was wonderful and generous to say the very least, Our room was clean and bright with a huge bathroom and glorious bath, nice view to the sea and central to absolutely everything. Staff are so polite and reminded us of the good old fashioned service we now take for granted in the USA. Pity some other 5 star hotels don't observe and learn! When it came time for us to leave we were offered the services of the hotel driver, Leonard, to drive us to the airport for $50.00, so much nicer than a cab and he was an absolute delight telling us stories of his wonderful driving career. All in all I have to say, we travel the world quite a lot and this experience was up there with the best of them.

Room Tip: Ask for 30th floor up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivien55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#19 of 180 in Sydney
2,067 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#23 of 180 in Sydney
6,211 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#28 of 180 in Sydney
4,549 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $172 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Sydney's well kept secrets, Amora Hotel Jamison is quite simply the place to be. Whether you are staying in one of our Deluxe Rooms or Suites, attending a Conference or Gala Dinner, unwinding at Amora Day Spa, or indulging in our Afternoon Tea in GALLERY Lounge Bar, you will experience genuine traditional personalised service. Superbly located above Wynyard Station between George and York Street, within walking distance to all major iconic attractions, Amora Hotel Jamison is renowned for spacious and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing