We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
APX Apartments Darling Harbour
Ranked #111 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION!!!!!!!”
Reviewed January 1, 2011

A great price for the area. Big room, mini fully stocked kitchen, nice big private patio. Easy walk to everywhere in Sydney. Room was very comfortable except for the lack of good air conditioning. Also don't arrive on a Holiday because you won't be able to check in until someone arrives for a reduced working schedule. This is NOT a hotel but a Service Apartment with limited front desk hours. No amenities but I would stay again because of the price and convenience. Spent less than $100USD per night.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindatravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    123
    64
    33
    48
See reviews for
47
122
27
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2010

This apartment hotel is in the heart of chinatown. We were in a 2nd floor executive apartment, overlooking Dixon Street. The whole outlook from the room was filled with a crammed asian apartment block about 10 metres away across the road, with kitchens looking straight in at us. Totally dark and dingy, privacy non-existent. They couldn't offer anything better so we left, losing our prepayment, and went and stayed in a proper hotel with a reasonable outlook. The rooms might, just, deserve the 4-star rating, but nothing else about the place does.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Quest on Dixon offers a reasonably typical Quest experience - big, well equipped rooms in a decent location with poor front desk service.

Rooms were fitted out to a good standard, and had microwave and irons. The room itself was huge - at least double the size of a normal hotel - and also had a massive balcony overlooking Dixon St.

There was some night time noise as you would expect in the inner city.

Internet was $20 extra and very, very slow with regular drop outs.

Overall, not bad value and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian_Pratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

I stayed here one night on business, and was very pleased with the choice.

Competitively priced in an otherwise expensive area, the room was large and included a spacious outside balcony area. A small kitchette offered microwave, fridge and basic amneities (but no washing up materials, I noted!)

With a sofa, table and desk, there really was space to spread out and relax, so it's a pity that I was away for much of my stay. The breakfast pack was reasonable value at $10, and there are charge-back options from some local cafes.

On the downside, there is an annoying low step into the bathroom, which I'd guess has bruised a few toes over time. It also took some time for the shower to warm up.

However, it makes a good base for the Darling Harbour area, and is within easy walking distance of much of central Sydney. I'd readily stay here again should circumstances require.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaleneAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

We have 2 children under 3 and I was trying to find a self contained hotel to accomodate us without wanting to charge me for a roll away AND a cot per night. After several calls I was down hearted (roll aways and cot costing between $20 and $50 a night EXTRA).
My 5th call was to the Quest on Dixon, the receptionist gave me 2 cots for free for our 4 night stay and an executive room for $175 a night ($25 less than all the other rooms in the other hotels).
It was a walk from Darling Harbour itself but it was right in the heart of China Town and we loved it.
It was just like being in Singapore, everyone was really friendly and the food courts offered plenty for our fussy 3 year old and happy 20 month old to eat at a reasonable price.
We enjoyed the Chinese gardens which are a must with children as you can feed the carp with food from the tea house shop for $1.
The hotel was nothing majorly special but it was clean, quite modern, easy to get to and the rooms were big enough to hide the cots in the corner so we could still read without the children being disturbed by the light on.
There is also a FREE washing machine and drier on the 5th and 3rd floors

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubadogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Good for location and central to china town , darling harbour and city. Very poor staff service and help. It took us an 1hr to park our car as we were given wrong information for using thier car park each time. Bad personal experience with items left behind (my fault) BUT never to be seen again... and the staff make it stressful when it is meant to be relaxing. Front desk operator could not tell us where some significant landmarks were that we requested etc
Unfortunately I cannot recommend this place - there are plenty of other options in the immediate area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emelda_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Right in the middle of china town. Close to easteries, convention centre and monorail. Stayed for 7 days in a Executive apartment. Clean and large. Air condition did not work properly and makes a lot of noise. Advertised as having galley kitchen but not the case.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicroBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
APX World Square
APX World Square
#108 of 179 in Sydney
361 reviews
Central Business District
Seasons Darling Harbour
Seasons Darling Harbour
#154 of 179 in Sydney
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APX Apartments Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APX Apartments Darling Harbour

Property: APX Apartments Darling Harbour
Address: 8 Dixon St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , Chinatown
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — APX Apartments Darling Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to APX APARTMENTS Darling Harbour Serviced Apartments. This is inner city living. With Darling Harbour as your neighbourhood, Cockle Bay as your kitchen, Chinatown your dining room and public transport arriving on your doorstep, make APX APARTMENTS Darling Harbour your choice of Sydney CBD accommodation. Most of the spacious and modern studio and one bedroom Darling Harbour serviced apartments feature large private balconies. Sydney's most sought after living location and only a two-minute walk from Sydney's Exhibition and Convention Centres! The perfect Darling Harbour apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your APX Apartments Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Dixon Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Quest On Dixon Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing