We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO CLOSE TO EVERYTHING - STAFF FANTASTIC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
APX Apartments Darling Harbour
Ranked #111 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“SO CLOSE TO EVERYTHING - STAFF FANTASTIC”
Reviewed April 8, 2010

This hotel is just a short walk from Darling Harbour, transport and shopping. It is a block from China town and Paddys Market which are both open everyday. Krystal at the desk was very efficent, knowledgeable and helpful with transport, attractions, booking airport shuttle bus, and restaurants. We were lucky as we got an upgrade and got a further upgrade because our Video on Demand wasn't working. It is the best place to stay in Sydney because it was really good value. The rooms were clean and spacious Unfortunately there were no views from this property but you got a huge balcony.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaneandRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    124
    64
    33
    48
See reviews for
47
122
27
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bali&Austria
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2010

They charge you even for bottled water!
You have a "nice" view to the apartments opposite (bedrooms, living rooms etc), just 30 m away from your "terrace".
Smell of x food stalls down below is unbearable. The Dixon St is covered of food rests in the morning.
They promise late check out (anyway charging you 10AU$ per hour) and on the day of check out "Sorry, fully booked. Can not extend..."
Staff unhelpful and partly impolite: wanted to know the smtp-server for OE. Had to ask over 4 hours again and again. Finally got one - which was the wrong one.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hadodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qoddh, Owner at APX Apartments Darling Harbour, responded to this review, March 28, 2010
Dear Hadodi,
Thank you for your review. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced at my property, but would like to point out that it is standard practice to charge a minimal fee for bottled water, tap water is safe and free to drink if you prefer. We do not and have never advertised that the property has views, being an inner city location, views are generally non existent. Dixon Street North is close to Sydney's China Town and thus cooking smells at night time are common with the vast magnitude of restaurants in the area. We do charge for late check out and it is always subject to availability, never promised as you have indicated, as we were 100% on your check out date, this was not possible. Our smtp-server is managed by a remote provider and thus the delay in your request for details - this question has never been asked of the reception staff previously.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Location is fantastic. 2 minute walk from Darling Harbour in China Town.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
We were checked into a room without a balcony which we had booked for, we were moved within the hour, new apartment a lot bigger. Kitchen facilities are ok, no stove or oven but a portable stove top with 2 elements. We only had one fry pan, no other pots or pans.
Car park is one way so be careful as you are likely to meet someone going up the ramp, very dodgy!
Our air con was poor and our toilet keep blocking.
Room was quiet and together with the good location, it was ok for the price we paid but don't expect anything fancy.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimboAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2009

After getting the airport shuttle, I arrived at the fairly anonymous looking door with a slight sense of concern. However none of this was founded. The room was large with a bathroom, kitchenette, lounge area and balcony ( no view really from my room ).
In addtion there was a TV, DVD, Microwave, Internet connection and Hi-Fi.
Set in the China Town area there are many restaurants and 24hr convenience stores nearby.
Talking a walk out, towards the harbour, it is 2 minutes to the excellent Darling Harbour with many bars and restaurants ranging from low cost to 5* eateries.
This harbour is also a hub for ferries around the city, and there is a nearby stop for the open top sight seeing bus.
As a solo traveller I found this to be the perfect location for my visit. I could spring board to almost anywhere in the city with minimal cost and effort.

On my return to the airport for my flight to Perth, the reception staff arranged an airport shuttle directly to the airport ( $12), probably the cheapest and easiest way of getting there.
I fully recommend this hotel to Solo travellers and groups alike.

Enjoyt the stunning city !

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runningman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
APX World Square
APX World Square
#106 of 179 in Sydney
362 reviews
Central Business District
Seasons Darling Harbour
Seasons Darling Harbour
#154 of 179 in Sydney
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APX Apartments Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APX Apartments Darling Harbour

Property: APX Apartments Darling Harbour
Address: 8 Dixon St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , Chinatown
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — APX Apartments Darling Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to APX APARTMENTS Darling Harbour Serviced Apartments. This is inner city living. With Darling Harbour as your neighbourhood, Cockle Bay as your kitchen, Chinatown your dining room and public transport arriving on your doorstep, make APX APARTMENTS Darling Harbour your choice of Sydney CBD accommodation. Most of the spacious and modern studio and one bedroom Darling Harbour serviced apartments feature large private balconies. Sydney's most sought after living location and only a two-minute walk from Sydney's Exhibition and Convention Centres! The perfect Darling Harbour apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your APX Apartments Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Dixon Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Quest On Dixon Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing