We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the money . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
APX Apartments Darling Harbour
Ranked #116 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed December 30, 2003

The Quest on Dixon is not a bad place to stay, as long as you realize that it is not a hotel, but serviced apartments. There is one clerk on duty from 7 am to 7 pm, and no "frills" such as room service, bell boys, etc. We found the unit to be clean and comfortable - good basic accomodations for those on a budget. There are kitchen facilities, which may also help in stretching the budget. Dixon street is a short, one-way street near China Town in downtown Sydney - definitely not in an 'upscale' part of town. It is a short walk to Darling Harbor, however, as well as the CBD. We were only in Sydney one night, and the Quest served us well. However, next time we will probably chose some place a little better located and a little (perhaps a lot) more expensive.

1  Thank Trillium541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
There are newer reviews for APX Apartments Darling Harbour
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

363 - 369 of 372 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
NSW
17
Reviewed December 6, 2003

I was disappointed Quest on Dixon considering how it was made out to be. I disagree with the 4 star rating. Considering it was the last night i was spending with my boyfriend for 2 months i was expecting something much nicer. Our room had no balcony, it was facing to the back overlooking the roof of some seedy building. The picture on the website is false - there is massive hotel in front of it, so even if you did have a balcony you would have nothing to look at anyway. It also only 5 stories high - the pictures makes it out to be much much bigger. The door was paper thin and you could hear everything in the hall way. A bath would of been nice. Everytime we came downstairs the man at the desk gave us filthy looks. There was no cable channels, the air conditioner didnt work. The only thing going for this hotel is the location to darling harbour and chinatown. THATS IT. Overall i was quite disappointed. If anyone pays the full rate of $209 they are completely insane - i think even $145 was a bit steep. I recommend paying the extra $20 or so and staying at one of the bigger hotels.
Next time i will be for sure. Cheers

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle, WA
116
Reviewed September 9, 2003

All the information on the Internet makes Quest on Dixon out to be a great place to stay... it's not (with a few exceptions).

First off, it's not a hotel. It's a "serviced apartment" and the differences are quite apparent. Even the hotel pictures on the Internet are misleading; they've been doctored up a lot. Only the hotel structure itself is real, the rest is digitally added. It's located on a tiny one way street, basically an alley, next to boarded up retail shops, posters on the walls and dirty sidewalks.

The location itself is not near any attractions or sights other than Darling Harbour and taxis are very expensive to get around the city.

The rooms are _very_ minimally furnished. The "office desk" barely fits a laptop after they put a TV, mini-stereo, phone and desk light on it.
The bathroom has NO countertops. Just a toilet, a small wall-mounted sink and a shower. They even taped a tissue box to the towel rack for lack of a flat surface above the floor.

The doors are paper thin and everything can be heard outside the odd smelling hallway. Voices and doors opening/closing are very loud and woke me up on several occasions through the night.

There is no in-room safe. There is no deadbolt or catch on the door.

The "4 star hotel style lobby" is a small desk with only one person on duty between 7am-11pm. There is no after-hours check-in, and if you lose your key you can't get into the building until they open at 7am.

The only thing going for Quest on Dixon is that it's inexpensive to stay for a long period of time. The direct-dial phone line doesn't incur any additional charges, there's a self-serve laudromat to save on outrageous hotel laundry services and a kitchenette to avoid eating out for every meal of the day.

I would not recommend staying here for a short vacation or business trip. In fact I left Quest on Dixon 3 days early to check into a real hotel.

It's very apparent that these serviced apartments are designed to be sold (of which they are, starting at AU$440,000!) as a city residence and to be furnished as such. A "4 star hotel" it is not.

16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
Thank TomyBases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina K, Guest Relations Manager at APX Apartments Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Creo que todas las habitaciones dan a una calle bastante tranquila al menos por la noche
  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria Rosa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015
Thank Ted T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank KarinaIsabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
APX World Square
APX World Square
#110 of 178 in Sydney
374 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Seasons Darling Harbour
Seasons Darling Harbour
#154 of 178 in Sydney
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Seasons Harbour Plaza
Seasons Harbour Plaza
#127 of 178 in Sydney
736 reviews
Central Business District
Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APX Apartments Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APX Apartments Darling Harbour

Address: 8 Dixon St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , Chinatown
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $117 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — APX Apartments Darling Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to APX APARTMENTS Darling Harbour Serviced Apartments. This is inner city living. With Darling Harbour as your neighbourhood, Cockle Bay as your kitchen, Chinatown your dining room and public transport arriving on your doorstep, make APX APARTMENTS Darling Harbour your choice of Sydney CBD accommodation. Most of the spacious and modern studio and one bedroom Darling Harbour serviced apartments feature large private balconies. Sydney's most sought after living location and only a two-minute walk from Sydney's Exhibition and Convention Centres! The perfect Darling Harbour apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your APX Apartments Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Dixon Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Quest On Dixon Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing