We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient City Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
APX Apartments Darling Harbour
Ranked #116 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed overnight for a city break. Good value for location in Chinatown, close to Darling Harbour and a short walk to main city shops and business area. Lots of choice nearby for eating out and entertainment. Surprisingly despite the location the room was quiet. Spacious room with large balcony and a well-equipped kitchenette.

Room Tip: May be quieter on higher floors but we had no problems with street noise despite the busy location.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
There are newer reviews for APX Apartments Darling Harbour
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 372 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is to warn anyone that is thinking of booking this property that they have a NO CANCELLATION policy! DONT BE FOOLED!!! - they have a comment under their cancellation policy you will be charged a $50 fee for any ammendments or cancellations. Two weeks prior to our arrival our circumstances changed, I phoned to cancel the booking and our credit card was still charged the full amount of a two night stay. I have contacted them a number of times and no response. Please think twice about booking this property!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank JenniBurnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Location was chosen due to being "Darling Harbor" except it may have a mailing address of Darling Harbor but it is Not Darling Harbor. The property is on Dixon Street which is the heart of Sydney's China Town. The hotel is very out of date at least the room we were assigned. It was so bad that we checked out paying for an additional night that we did not use. Our plan had been to stay for 6 nights but stayed only for one. We then found an updated remodeled studio with superior kitchen facilites a few blocks away and similar price. The room had keys with room numbers listed on them. Not a good safety feature. I could go on and on but understand before booking that the room we had on the 6th floor did not look like the photo. The room did have a large patio. I wish there had been truth in advertising before we booked this location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Its a very spacious room for two, I just love it. Recommended! I got myself a standard studio, I read the complaints in the review @booking.com, so I didnt really expecting anything fabulous but to my surprised, its actually a big bargain, with a private balcony and mini kitchenette, not to mention the security, I like this one ;)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nichole E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ram N, General Manager at APX Apartments Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Nichole

We thank you for taking the time to drop in your feedback on trip advisor after staying at the Quest on Dixon at Darling Harbour recently. The staff are appreciative of your comments and would love to welcome you again on your next trip to Sydney.

Thank you once again

Kind regards

Ram Nathan
General Manager
Email: rnathan@apxgroup.com.au
Tel: +61 2 9291 1900
Fax: +61 2 9291 1999
Mobile : 61 402 169 235
Web: Quest Rosehill
Web: Quest Potts Point
Web: Quest World Square
Web: Quest on Dixon Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I stayed for three nights in an Executive Studio apartment while attending a conference at the Darling Harbour Convention Centre. The location is fantastic, five minute walk over the pedestrian walkway at the end of the road to the start of the Darling Harbour precinct and ten minutes to the Convention Centre and Harbour itself. The room was clean and comfortable with a spacious balcony although I did not use it much due to the noise from the street. Being right in the heart of Chinatown, there are lots of great restaurants in walking distance and it does not take long to walk into the city centre either. The street itself can get quiet noisy and there are lots of apartments directly across but the blackout curtains work well and the rooms are very well soundproofed.
The breakfast deal that you can buy from the reception desk is fantastic value for $14 at a lively little cafe around the corner. I ate there every day and was always given a friendly welcome and tasty food. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful and I was able to check into my room a little early which was much appreciated. In summary, not the place to stay if you are looking for luxury or romance but a very comfortable, clean, good value apartment, in a fantastic location especially for business travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi-oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ram N, General Manager at APX Apartments Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Judi

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at Quest on Dixon at Darling Harbour. The staff and I appreciate your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Quest on Dixon on your next trip to Sydney.

Kind regards

Ram Nathan
General Manager
Email: rnathan@apxgroup.com.au
Tel: +61 2 9291 1900
Fax: +61 2 9291 1999
Mobile : 61 402 169 235
Web: Quest Rosehill
Web: Quest Potts Point
Web: Quest World Square
Web: Quest on Dixon Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We initially booked for Quest in World Square but the manager rang us in the morning to ask whether she can relocate us to Quest in Dixon due to the other customers would like to stay longer so all their rooms were full. We didn't want to at the first but she offered us upgrade to one bedroom apartment.(We booked studio initially)
The location in Dixon is superb and easy walking distance to Chinatown and Darling Harbour. The room was in quite location as requested, the bed is ok but the sofa is very old and needs to be replaced a new one.
With the price of $190 a night to stay during weekday, I would say it's not a bad value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The only good thing was the close proximity to Darling Harbour.
The entrance lobby was dirty, the room was small and dingy. Some of the appartments are permanently rented and because of this some tenants were drilling at 9.30pm. Would not go back

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlustSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
APX World Square
APX World Square
#110 of 178 in Sydney
374 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Seasons Darling Harbour
Seasons Darling Harbour
#154 of 178 in Sydney
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Seasons Harbour Plaza
Seasons Harbour Plaza
#127 of 178 in Sydney
736 reviews
Central Business District
Metro Apartments On Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APX Apartments Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APX Apartments Darling Harbour

Address: 8 Dixon St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , Chinatown
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $117 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — APX Apartments Darling Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to APX APARTMENTS Darling Harbour Serviced Apartments. This is inner city living. With Darling Harbour as your neighbourhood, Cockle Bay as your kitchen, Chinatown your dining room and public transport arriving on your doorstep, make APX APARTMENTS Darling Harbour your choice of Sydney CBD accommodation. Most of the spacious and modern studio and one bedroom Darling Harbour serviced apartments feature large private balconies. Sydney's most sought after living location and only a two-minute walk from Sydney's Exhibition and Convention Centres! The perfect Darling Harbour apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your APX Apartments Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Dixon Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Quest On Dixon Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing