We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sydney Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
APX Apartments Darling Harbour
Ranked #115 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I arrived at this aparthotel at 10.00am on Friday 23rd November after disembarking from a cruise ship. We were very pleasantly greeted by the two receptionists and told that our room would be available about 11.30am and not 2.00pm as we'd expected. They took care of our luggage and stored it and suggested we went for a coffee whilst we were waiting. When we returned we were shown to a roomat the back of the hotel on the 15th floor (we'd requested a high floor) and we were delighted with the room. I had a microwave, toaster and kettle, fridge and in the bathroom there was a washing machine & a spin dryer. It also had a balcony, a 32" flat screen TV and a very comfortable double bed .We stayed 8 nights.
The reception staff were very helpful and advised to get a 'Multitrip@ ticket for $A43 each which lasted a week and entitled us to unlimited travel (up to 30km) on Sydney's buses, trains and also the ferries. All in all we were very happy and well looked after there and as it was only 5 minutes walk from Darling Harbour itself, and even less from Chinatown, it was very conveniently situated also for the bus stop on Gearge Street. A very pleasant experience indeed and, if we ever do go to Sydney again (which is unlikely) we should certainly go back.

Room Tip: For views choose a room at the front. For peace and quiet choose a 15th floor (16 floors only) one a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FCA141937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 299 of 399 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

Apart from the lovely friendly Lisa at the counter, this was not a great experience. My daughter and I arrived with an hour to spare for the Devo / Simple Minds concert to find no car parks even though one was booked. The helpful Lisa rescued the situation but I spent 30 minutes going to another car park. The room was supposedly an upgrade but was quite basic for $170 per night - the sofa bed I was expecting didn't exist. At 3am, someone at the front door started ringing every room in sequence including ours twice until we took phone off hook - then listened to endless irate neighbours responding to their calls. Very tired in the morning - walked two blocks with our luggage to get to our car. On the positive, the room was clean and TV large

Room Tip: Great location if going to entertainment centre in darling harbour - double check car park booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reichers59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed at the Quest on Dixon and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was excellent, staff friendly and the location perfect.

Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed at the Quest on Dixon for 6 nights. The apartment we had was great. We had good views to Darling Harbor, Westfield Tower.
The location of the Quest on Dixon was so good....It was right beside Chinatown where we had a number of good Chinese meals. Paddy's Markets was just a 8 min walk. We were also just near the Chinese Gardens which is well worth the visit.
It was only a 15 min walk to the central CBD of Sydney.
We would have no hesitation in staying here again.
The staff were extremely friendly and any request we asked for was no trouble to them.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My family stayed at this hotel on our recent trip to Sydney.
Great location, great service, great clean room.
My only problem is that I could hear the lady next door swearing at her partner, thankfully it didn't last all night. I couldn't hear any other neighbours so they must have been yelling at each other.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

... for a stay in Chinatown. Absolutely perfect location for your typical tourist. Just a short walk to Darling Harbour . The apartment was huge (for 2 people) and, despite overlooking busy Dixon St, was surprisingly quiet.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were only staying one night at the end of a holiday but this was a huge disappointment. The location is pretty good, being close to Darling Harbour but the outside is quite scruffy looking and the foyer looks nothing like the photo shown on their ads. Not only was there no balcony but the window looked over an enclosed area with a corrugated roof below and rusty machinery! The manager was quite nasty when our credit card was declined (we had been travelling for 5 weeks and had no problem with it before or since) as he was demanding $200 security deposit (room already paid in full weeks before on same card!).
There are no staff on premises overnight so any emergency or a key that failed to operate the security system would have made life very difficult. We will not book Quest again! We would agree with other reviews in regard to the drivers licence copying. We visited friends at a nearby Meriton which was everything we had expected to find, and so much more(pool, spa, reception fully staffed, separate bedroom, lounge/diner/kitchen and washer/dryer) - for $22 per night more! No comparison!

Room Tip: I have no reason to suppose any of the other rooms are any better- the manager was dealing with anot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 604Athena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
APX World Square
APX World Square
#117 of 181 in Sydney
405 reviews
Central Business District
Seasons Darling Harbour
Seasons Darling Harbour
#157 of 181 in Sydney
510 reviews
Central Business District
Seasons Harbour Plaza
Seasons Harbour Plaza
#130 of 181 in Sydney
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APX Apartments Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APX Apartments Darling Harbour

Address: 8 Dixon St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , Chinatown
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $76 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — APX Apartments Darling Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to APX APARTMENTS Darling Harbour Serviced Apartments. This is inner city living. With Darling Harbour as your neighbourhood, Cockle Bay as your kitchen, Chinatown your dining room and public transport arriving on your doorstep, make APX APARTMENTS Darling Harbour your choice of Sydney CBD accommodation. Most of the spacious and modern studio and one bedroom Darling Harbour serviced apartments feature large private balconies. Sydney's most sought after living location and only a two-minute walk from Sydney's Exhibition and Convention Centres! The perfect Darling Harbour apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your APX Apartments Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Dixon Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Quest On Dixon Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing