We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but not great...room for improvement!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
APX Apartments Darling Harbour
Ranked #117 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here recently as my regular hotel was full. It's hard to find, located down the end of a rather grubby Chinatown laneway adjacent to car park entrances and boarded-up commercial premises. Don't drive here. Just don't.

The lobby is functional and rather uninviting too, resembling the entrance to a run-of-the-mill residential tower rather than a hotel.

As a corporate traveller, I was a bit taken aback by the demand to provide a drivers licence, which was photocopied, for ID. Sure, I understand the need to protect against fraud, but this isn't some low-rent backpacker hostel. Maybe this practice is OK with the 'Wotif' set, but it's not OK in corporate traveller land, as far as I am concerned.

Those concerns aside, the rooms are large and well appointed. The bed was comfy and the furnishings were nice.

Oddly, my room had the world's largest bathroom, yet the shower cubicle was tiny and would not have been out of place in a caravan. The original intention may have been to include a washing machine in the bathroom (as is the case in many Quest properties) but there wasn't one.

Another interesting comparison with other properties in the Quest chain is the lack of proper 1-bedroom apartments. From what I could tell, this place is almost entirely made up of studio-style rooms.

Most Quest properties have convenient arrangements with nearby restaurants, where guests can charge back meals. At this property, we are offered a booklet with hundreds of restaurants, with meals delivered via a centralised 'courier'. I didn't like the idea of a meal being prepped in Kings Cross or somewhere fairly remote, then being shipped across town, arriving at my door stale and cold. I just ate locally, but of course this meant I missed out on the convenience of being able to centralise my espenses via the chargeback facility.

For the price paid I am reasonably happy with my stay, although for not much more money there are some much nicer, fully licenced and serviced hotels nearby, with in-house restaurants and 24 hour reception, etc.

I'm told there has recently been a change of ownership, so I will wait and see what improvements result from this. I'd stay again, based on value for money.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ram N, General Manager at APX Apartments Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to provide us feedback after your recent stay at Quest on Dixon at Darling Harbour. We sincerely appreciate your comments. With regards to charge back, we have charge back to a local cafe whose collateral is available in the apartments. In relation to your comment re photocopying of ID, as you have mentioned a few fraudulent card users have resulted in this requirement becoming a process unfortunately. However, if you are a frequent user, this most certainly is not insisted on check in. We are happy to place your details on our corporate data base which will not only provide you with a guaranteed rate each time but also provide free upgrades when available.

We thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again to the Quest on Dixon Darling Harbour on your next visit to Sydney.

Kind regards

Ram Nathan
General Manager
Email: rnathan@apxgroup.com.au
Tel: +61 2 9291 1900
Fax: +61 2 9291 1999
Mobile : 61 402 169 235
Web: Quest Rosehill
Web: Quest Potts Point
Web: Quest World Square
Web: Quest on Dixon Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 298 of 387 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

Amazing hotel right on darling harbour, great staff and apartment with kitchenette. Very clean and friendly/ helpful staff would definitely stay again when in sydney.

Stayed: December 2011
Thank Donnapyett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our group of six (younger end of "seniors") booked three executive apartments for our stay in Sydney after a cruise. Location was great, even though the street looks a bit iffy at first. It is only a block long street on the edge of China town and across a pedestrian bridge to Darling Harbor. At night all the little restaurants are in full swing, as is Darling Harbor area. Our apartment was clean and very large, a great value for the price. Kitchenette was well stocked for cooking/eating and had a microwave, frig and hot plate. Complementary coffee and tea are provided. There is beer and wine and a packaged breakfast in the kitchenette with price lists posted. Very nice sized bathroom, well stocked with amenities. Soap bar was tiny, but that seems to be becoming par for many hotels.
Staff was very helpful and friendly. Sam was the man with whom we dealt the most. Great guy! Quest is an executive apartment set-up so the desk is not staffed from 8pm to 7am. If you are checking in late or out early, arrangements can be made. We were leaving before 7am, so we were able to settle our bill the evening before and drop our keys in the box by the desk. The staff can make arrangements for airport shuttle pickup for you or book a cab. That was great for having to leave for the airport at 6:30am.
Hotel is just two blocks from a convenience store if you want to buy something for your in-room meals. We only bought Tim-Tams there, but it is stocked with more. :) To get to this store, turn right out of the hotel, turn right at the corner and go up Liverpool Street for two blocks. Cannot miss it. This is where you buy the pre-paid bus tickets. And it has an ATM.
For the Darling Harbor area, expo center, convention center and all that, turn right out of the hotel, turn left to go over the pedestrian bridge, and you are there! So convenient!
Our room and balcony faced Dixon Street. Only time we noticed noise was Saturday night. The area is really busy and popular then. Weather was perfect so many were out on the streets. Noise was not bad, just a bit noticeable.
If we get back to Sydney, we will be back to the Quest on Dixon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamcog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ram N, General Manager at APX Apartments Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your comments on Trip advisor after your recent stay with us at Quest on Dixon at Darling Harbour. We sincerely appreciate your comments and Sam is thrilled to get a mention as well and his excellence in customer service has been recognised again.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Quest on Dixon at Darling Harbour when you visit Sydney again.

Kind regards

Ram Nathan
General Manager
Email: rnathan@apxgroup.com.au
Tel: +61 2 9291 1900
Fax: +61 2 9291 1999
Mobile : 61 402 169 235
Web: Quest Rosehill
Web: Quest Potts Point
Web: Quest World Square
Web: Quest on Dixon Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Good location. Studio rooms have plenty of space, huge bathroom and amenities are all you could ask for for a week or so in Sydney CBD. Nice private balcony. Only downfall is the echoing noise from the hallway to the lifts. It sounds like people are walking into your room when they are just walking to their door talking to their companion!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newman87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ram N, General Manager at APX Apartments Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your feedback as provided to Tripadvisor after your recent stay at the Quest on Dixon at Darling Harbour. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our staff are thankful for your feedback as well.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Quest on Dixon at Darling Harbour on your next trip to Sydney.

Kind regards

Ram Nathan
General Manager
Email: rnathan@apxgroup.com.au
Tel: +61 2 9291 1900
Fax: +61 2 9291 1999
Mobile : 61 402 169 235
Web: Quest Rosehill
Web: Quest Potts Point
Web: Quest World Square
Web: Quest on Dixon Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed 5 nights.in an Executive Apartment This was a great place to stay. Really close to Darling Harbour, China Town and only a short walk to heaps of bars and restaurants. The room was very spacious, comfortable, clean and quiet. great size balcony. Reception were very friendly and more than happy to store our luggage and shopping for us until our room was ready. If we come back to Sydney we will definitely stay here and will be recommending this place to all my friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ram N, General Manager at APX Apartments Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Guest

We sincerely appreciate your feedback that you have posted on Trip Advisor after your recent stay with us at Quest on Dixon at Darling Harbour. Our staff constantly strive hard to please ouf guests and feedback like this not only motivates them but also boosts their morale.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Quest on Dixon at Darling Harbour on your next visit to Sydney.

Kind regards

Ram Nathan
General Manager
Email: rnathan@apxgroup.com.au
Tel: +61 2 9291 1900
Fax: +61 2 9291 1999
Mobile : 61 402 169 235
Web: Quest Rosehill
Web: Quest Potts Point
Web: Quest World Square
Web: Quest on Dixon Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in a studio apartment. The apartments are within walking distance from Museum Station and are in a good location to Darling Harbour. The room & bathroom were large and had a kitchenette with a microwave and portable hot plate. The room was very quiet and we plan to stay again. Staff were friendly and they telephoned us when our room was ready as we arrived on an early international flight.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdelaideJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ram N, General Manager at APX Apartments Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to drop in your comments on Trip advisor after staying at the Quest on Dixon recently. We sincerely appreciate your comments and it is a welcome boost to the morale of our team who strive so hard to deliver.

We look forward to welcoming you again to to the Quest on Dixon on your next trip to Sydney.

Kind regards

Ram Nathan
General Manager
Email: rnathan@apxgroup.com.au
Tel: +61 2 9291 1900
Fax: +61 2 9291 1999
Mobile : 61 402 169 235
Web: Quest Rosehill
Web: Quest Potts Point
Web: Quest World Square
Web: Quest on Dixon Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

stayed here for just 2 nights, but was very happy and enjoyed the location. hotel is modern and provides great ammenities. the room was very quiet and was certainly a good choice.. our tour company also picked us up from here

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timmothy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ram N, General Manager at APX Apartments Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Guest

We sincerely thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip advisor. Our team is thriled to get your feedback and we look forward to serving you again at the Quest on Dixon at Darling Harbour

Kind regards

Ram Nathan
General Manager
Email: rnathan@apxgroup.com.au
Tel: +61 2 9291 1900
Fax: +61 2 9291 1999
Mobile : 61 402 169 235
Web: Quest Rosehill
Web: Quest Potts Point
Web: Quest World Square
Web: Quest on Dixon Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
APX World Square
APX World Square
#113 of 179 in Sydney
387 reviews
Central Business District
Seasons Darling Harbour
Seasons Darling Harbour
#156 of 179 in Sydney
501 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Seasons Harbour Plaza
Seasons Harbour Plaza
#131 of 179 in Sydney
746 reviews
Darlinghurst
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
Oaks Hyde Park Plaza
#111 of 179 in Sydney
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APX Apartments Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APX Apartments Darling Harbour

Address: 8 Dixon St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , Chinatown
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $116 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — APX Apartments Darling Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to APX APARTMENTS Darling Harbour Serviced Apartments. This is inner city living. With Darling Harbour as your neighbourhood, Cockle Bay as your kitchen, Chinatown your dining room and public transport arriving on your doorstep, make APX APARTMENTS Darling Harbour your choice of Sydney CBD accommodation. Most of the spacious and modern studio and one bedroom Darling Harbour serviced apartments feature large private balconies. Sydney's most sought after living location and only a two-minute walk from Sydney's Exhibition and Convention Centres! The perfect Darling Harbour apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your APX Apartments Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Dixon Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Quest On Dixon Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing