We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and quiet in city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
APX Apartments Darling Harbour
Ranked #112 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Spacious and quiet in city centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We were in Sydney for the weekend, and planned to walk everywhere, so the location of this hotel was perfect. The "apartment" was one large room with a king sized bed, lounge area and kitchenette, and a very big terrace overlooking Dixon Street. This part of the street is more of a pedestrian mall than a street, really, so it was very quiet for a CBD location.

The apartment was spotless, and the bathroom large with an excellent shower. The kitchenette was equipped for heating up food more than actual cooking, but had everything most people would want for a short stay. The bed was one of those made "king size" by putting two king singles together, so the mattress had an uncomfortable ridge in the centre. Other than that, the apartment was very good for the price.

You do have to put a $200 deposit on it when you check in, but this is normal for apartments.

Staff were helpful, check in and out was quick. Overall, I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace. Some do not have one, and are not quite as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvrilN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    117
    62
    33
    48
See reviews for
46
118
27
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yass
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was a great place to stay. Really close to Darling Harbour, China Town and only a short walk into the QVB and Pitt St for shopping. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet. Reception were friendly and more than happy to store my luggage for me until my room was ready. I will be coming back here with the family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ram N, General Manager at APX Apartments Darling Harbour, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Guest

We sincerely appreciate your feedback that you have provided on Trip Advisor during your recent stay at the Quest on Dixon at Darling Harbour. Our staff are absolutely thrilled to read your comments and is a welcome boost to their morale.

We look forward to serving you again on your next trip to Sydney.

Kind regards

Ram Nathan
General Manager
Email: rnathan@apxgroup.com.au
Tel: +61 2 9291 1900
Fax: +61 2 9291 1999
Mobile : 61 402 169 235
Web: Quest Rosehill
Web: Quest Potts Point
Web: Quest World Square
Web: Quest on Dixon Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here last month for business as we were exhibiting at the convention centre in Darling Harbour. The hotel is right next to china town so you have heaps of dining options each night. Staff were all friendly.

There was a ramp almost in the front of the apartment that took you over to the convention centre and Darling Harbour area, so no busy roads needed to be crossed. It is only a couple of minutes walk to the exhibition centre.

Rooms were a good size, we had an open plan studio. Bathrooms in the two rooms we booked had been renovated recently and were very tidy. The carpets and paint also seems relatively new.

Would return again on either business or leisure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieTraveller1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ram N, General Manager at APX Apartments Darling Harbour, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your great feedback on Trip Advisor- our team no doubt will feel thrilled with this comment and will no doubt be a welcome boost to their morale.

We thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you to the Quest on Dixon on your next trip to Sydney.

Kind regards

Ram Nathan
General Manager
Email: rnathan@apxgroup.com.au
Tel: +61 2 9291 1900
Fax: +61 2 9291 1999
Mobile : 61 402 169 235
Web: Quest Rosehill
Web: Quest Potts Point
Web: Quest World Square
Web: Quest on Dixon Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney New South Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had a rugby reunion for the Bledisloe Cup in Sydney and had booked 8 rooms for 3-4 nights. The location of the apartment is excellent! Right in Chinatown, with lots of food options, short walk to Darling Harbour, lots of pubs and restaurants, and easy to get around to anywhere. Most importantly, it's close to central station and buses. The rooms were decent, standard apartments were clean but basic but the executive apartments were a good size. We had great experience with the staff, nothing was too difficult. The price for the group booking was very attractive, considering it was a very busy period in Sydney. Not sure why the amount of grievances in some reviews, but you get what you pay. It's not the Ritz Carlton and definitely not the price tag but we would say it's certainly a pleasant stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Standard apartments are basic and small but if you need more space, try to negotiate for an upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwikuek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ram N, General Manager at APX Apartments Darling Harbour, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Many thanks for your great feedback whilst staying at the Quest on Dixon recently. We sincrely appreciate your comments which is a true reflection of the services we provide.

We look forward to welcoming you again to Sydney but this time the Wallabies will win.

Kind regards

Ram Nathan
General Manager
Email: rnathan@apxgroup.com.au
Tel: +61 2 9291 1900
Fax: +61 2 9291 1999
Mobile : 61 402 169 235
Web: Quest Rosehill
Web: Quest Potts Point
Web: Quest World Square
Web: Quest on Dixon Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We booked an "apartment" for three of us, My partner and I would have the double and our friend would have the couch... That changed very quickly when our "apartment" turned out to be no bigger than a hotel room with the couch and bed in the same room. Our friend decided to stay somewhere else (fair enough) leaving us with the full cost of the room. We were also hit with a $200 safety deposit that we were told nothing about. We have stayed in hotels all over Australia and have been charged no more than $50 which was returned the day of check out.
Staff were very unhelpful and just blamed Wotif and refused to do anything about it.
When we checked in we were asked if we wanted parking and if we did this was our car spot. Nothing about the $40 per night fee.
We have stayed at other Quest locations which have been good, Quest on Dixon was a big let down. We will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kraytee93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at APX Apartments Darling Harbour, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear guest

Many thanks for your feedback which we are most appreciative off. While we endeavour to identify the reason for your disappointment, please accept our sincere apologies. Whilst the details regarding room types and the pre authorisation are on the Wotif site for the Quest on Dixon, it is house policy re the preauthorisation. This pre authorisation is released back into your account in 3-5 working days and works similar to paying a bond when renting a car for instance.

We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience you experienced.

Ram Nathan
General Manager
Email: rnathan@apxgroup.com.au
Tel: +61 2 9291 1900
Fax: +61 2 9291 1999
Mobile : 61 402 169 235
Web: Quest Rosehill
Web: Quest Potts Point
Web: Quest World Square
Web: Quest on Dixon Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
214 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Described as an apartment but is actually a larger than average hotel room. Bed was comfortable but the pillows could do with being a bit softer. The bathroom was massive. All was clean and tidy.

Slightly noisy from outside (busy street in Chinatown) and also from people walking past the room.

Nothing to cook with apart from a microwave. Fridge is full of minibar items so not much room to put your own stuff.

OK, but nothing to write home about. Service was very friendly.

Room Tip: Try to get one at the back and away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveCardiff_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at APX Apartments Darling Harbour, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Dear guest

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Quest on Dixon at Darling Harbour. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and will review the comfort of the pillows as per your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Quest on Dixon at Darling Harbour on your next visit to Sydney.

Ram Nathan
General Manager
Email: rnathan@apxgroup.com.au
Tel: +61 2 9291 1900
Fax: +61 2 9291 1999
Mobile : 61 402 169 235
Web: Quest Rosehill
Web: Quest Potts Point
Web: Quest World Square
Web: Quest on Dixon Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Located in chinatown in darling harbor,this is a great decent place to say for short stays. Rooms are small and the TV has hardly any channels but step out of the hotel and you are in the midst of a most happening place,Chinatown and at Darling harbor in less than a minute

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sm_del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at APX Apartments Darling Harbour, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Many thanks for your feedback whilst staying with us recently at the Quest on Dixon. We take your feedback on board and will work towards it. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Quest on Dixon at Darling Harbour

Ram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
APX World Square
APX World Square
#106 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Central Business District
Seasons Darling Harbour
Seasons Darling Harbour
#147 of 174 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#122 of 174 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APX Apartments Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APX Apartments Darling Harbour

Property: APX Apartments Darling Harbour
Address: 8 Dixon St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , Chinatown
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — APX Apartments Darling Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to APX APARTMENTS Darling Harbour Serviced Apartments. This is inner city living. With Darling Harbour as your neighbourhood, Cockle Bay as your kitchen, Chinatown your dining room and public transport arriving on your doorstep, make APX APARTMENTS Darling Harbour your choice of Sydney CBD accommodation. Most of the spacious and modern studio and one bedroom Darling Harbour serviced apartments feature large private balconies. Sydney's most sought after living location and only a two-minute walk from Sydney's Exhibition and Convention Centres! The perfect Darling Harbour apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your APX Apartments Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Dixon Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Quest On Dixon Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing