We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
APX Apartments Darling Harbour
Ranked #112 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

What a great location! Situated in Chinatown and super close to George Street and Darling Harbour. Big room shared with 2 others, I slept on fold-out couch which wasn't overly comfortable (thin mattress) but expected. Fairly quite considering the bustle of Chinatown. Very friendly staff, especially the hostess who offered us her umbrellas to use as it was pouring with rain! Also had a massive balcony out front and AC which was definitely needed!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissahigson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    116
    62
    33
    48
See reviews for
46
117
27
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Good position, in Chinatown and good for Darling Harbour. 'units' okay, very cheaply furnished. Good if you get it for the right price. Clean

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lahes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Mum and teenage daughter found this to be super convenient and comfortable. Easy access to trains, monorail and lots on foot so getting around not a problem. Room was comfy, a bit noisy on Friday night but we still went to sleep easily. We didn't have a proper kitchen, but could have easily made simple meals. The fridge was not working upon check-in, but we mentioned this and came back that night to a new fridge with our water etc. replaced---great.

Lots to see and do right on your doorstep and super convenient to the Entertainment Centre, for those who don't want to get home after seeing a show. The only thing I would have liked was an internal lock. The key entry is fine, but at night I prefer to be able to slide a bolt or chain, especially in the city, and this was not an option. Apart from that small thing, it was fabulous. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Still_lots_to_do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

Simply request of room transfer between two bookings resulted in disaster and wasted time. Room was not ready. Understandable! Bags were kindly stored and were told that bags would be transferred to said room awaiting our new check-in at 10:00am. All good till we arrived 7:00pm to check-in. Room was wrong configuration and bags missing.
Was told to return to room and look for bags again. Bags were found in reception area 25 plus min later after looking in other store rooms. We were changed to a more suitable room. Bags taken to room. Upon return one bag had been dammaged. Not once was an apology given. Great location average service.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onemorereview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenscliff, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Quest on Dixon's staff are very friendly, polite and helpful. Studio apartment well equipped, very clean and in a great location. Pleasantly surprised at generous size of accommodation. A bit noisy from street on Friday and Saturday night but it is the middle of the city so not too bad. Close proximity to Darling Harbour and Chinatown a big bonus for us. Only criticism was the bed was not very comfortable and neither were the pillows. Could have lived with a hard mattress if the pillows were great, but not the case. Also, access to internet as part of the tariff should be normal practice these days. Overall would probably stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshbyHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed here after a wedding at Star Room in Darling Harbour. This is not a fancy upmarket hotel; if that's what you're looking for this is not for you. These are serviced apartments consisting of a small kitchenette with everything required to make light meals. The room we requested for 3 people was very substantial in size with a large balcony, and consisted of a very comfortable double bed and a double sofa bed which was made up before we arrived for the night's sleep.
Very conveniently located at the edge of Chinatown and Darling Harbour. Highly recommended as a mid-range accommodation choice when visiting Sydney. We had no issue with reception staff.
The only negative is that parking in the Quest’s car park costs $40, which is exhorbitant, considering you are a paying guest. Try negotiating a lower price. Overall, a good choice of accommodation and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 54 is larger and would suit if requiring an extra person to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TL_AusTraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potts15, Manager at APX Apartments Darling Harbour, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Darling Harbour is a fantastic location and to base yourself when traveling around the city. I hope you enjoyed the wedding and the team look forward to welcoming you back to the Quest Dixon Darling Harbour.

Warm Regards

Pawan Kumar
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

The location itself was great for the price, just a few minutes walk from central station and directly opposite darling harbor. However the front reception desk was extremely rude and did not speak proficient English.. We were told that there was a carpark for overnight stays Which cost $40. We queried this with the man at reception and he said 'yes yes pay in the motning' when we showed him our parking ticket as we were checking out he said it was the wrong car park and he couldn't help us. It cost us $75 for parking and the $200 bond he took for the room took a week to go back into my account. Would not stay here again on the count of rude staff!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliatwyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
APX World Square
APX World Square
#106 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Central Business District
Seasons Darling Harbour
Seasons Darling Harbour
#147 of 174 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#122 of 174 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APX Apartments Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APX Apartments Darling Harbour

Property: APX Apartments Darling Harbour
Address: 8 Dixon St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , Chinatown
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — APX Apartments Darling Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to APX APARTMENTS Darling Harbour Serviced Apartments. This is inner city living. With Darling Harbour as your neighbourhood, Cockle Bay as your kitchen, Chinatown your dining room and public transport arriving on your doorstep, make APX APARTMENTS Darling Harbour your choice of Sydney CBD accommodation. Most of the spacious and modern studio and one bedroom Darling Harbour serviced apartments feature large private balconies. Sydney's most sought after living location and only a two-minute walk from Sydney's Exhibition and Convention Centres! The perfect Darling Harbour apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your APX Apartments Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Dixon Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Quest On Dixon Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing