We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney
Ranked #37 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed June 25, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

750 - 756 of 821 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2009

We booked couple nights there because of the discounted rate and the location is not too far away from city central. It turned out that the cleanliness is much poorer that most of the backpackers or hostel. We found blood on the sheet cover, holes and stains on the blank and the bedding sheets do not look clean white as well, we found hair on it, it's very disgusting, we wanted to cancel the next night but considering the non-refundable cancellation policy, we slept with pyjama all nights and I swear it's the most disgusting place you will never want to visit. Their air-conditioner is not working, we felt so bad luck but found out our neighbour's showerhead is broken as well, seems every room has some problems.Strongly NOT recommended!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuna0768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspirehotel, Property Manager at Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2009

We thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel and we apologise for your unsatisfactory stay at the property.

We thank you for bringing our attention to such issues which you have experienced so that we can further improve our services to past, present and future guests. Since your stay we have made some significant developments in the hotel, one of which was the repair of the airconditioning system.

Your comments have been forwarded on to the appropriate department manager and taken into careful consideration. If you would like to further discuss your concerns, you are more than welcome to contact myself directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed June 9, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

Stayed here with 3 friends as we were attending an event at the Convention Centre. Great location - close to Darling Habour, easy to get to from Central Station and hotel is on a very quiet street - you don't even realize how close you are to the city. Nice kebab shop nearby too for a late night visit!!

Room was clean and suitable, although a little bit dated. Requested bedding was provided without any trouble. Staff were fantastic, reccommended a nice bottle shop nearby and were happy to open the bottles and find some glasses for us. Good value for money.

Would definately stay here again, and reccommend it to anyone that is going to an event in Darling Harbour.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diva_sparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspirehotel, Property Manager at Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2009

The staff and I at the Aspire Hotel Sydney would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on the property and we appreciate your kind feedback.

The quiet and convenient location of our property is something which preferred especially by guests who have events to attend in the nearby area. We are currently looking into a gradual refurbishment of the hotel, and we hope to further provide guests with more comfortable stays. I am glad that the staff were able to help you with your requests and I will be sure to pass on your comment to our staff.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you again at the hotel the next time you visit Sydney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

This was my second stay at the Aspire (previously Aspen). I chose it last time as it was close to the monorail line, so handy to the theatres. It's very close to the Powerhouse museum, monorail stop, chinatown, haymarket, paddy's markets and the capitol theatre. The rooms are a good size, clean and well maintained, if a bit dated. We had a family deluxe which takes four and there was still room to move around the room with the sofabed out. The balcony is a good size with a view of the city. The restaurant is only open for breakfast but there is plenty nearby to chose from. Staff are friendly and responsive. Comfy beds. My only gripe is that the soap smells like 711 aftershave. Great for short stays but I generally prefer an apartment for a week or more.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1Meerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspirehotel, Property Mananger at Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2009

Thank you for you generous feedback of the hotel. Many of our guests choose our hotel in search of a place which is close to the city yet convenient and quiet. The room which you stayed in is our largest room and is able to accommodate up to 6 adults at one time, which allows us to comfortably cater for families like yourselves.

Our staff try and assist with any requests you might have and will be more than happy to welcome you back at the Aspire Hotel Sydney when you visit Sydney next.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2009

My wife and I stayed from Jan. 13- 17 and Feb 2-4 09 while on our 35th wedding anniversary trip. In between we went on a cruise from Auckland NZ to Sydney Australia.
This hotel was chosen since it was close to our son's apartment in Glebe. The price was even better when compared to other hotels. Great location, you can walk to Darling Harbour (10 mins), Circular Quay (30 mins.), Sydney Uni. (15 mins.) and Glebe Point Rd. shops (10 mins.). There is a great little coffee shop at Macarthur St and Bulwara Rd. called Cafe Dendu, great cappuccinos and breakfast. The area is residential, quiet and beautiful. Love the birds that make that aaahhhhing sound three to four times ending in the lamenting sounds of cats in heat. All the birds are totally different, from the cockatoos to the Ibis bird.
We found the staff genuinely sincere and helpful to meet your needs. I reserved the hotel using their on-line reservations, easy. Check-in was early due to our flight getting in at 10 AM, arriving at the hotel at 11:30 AM. We were given an upgraded room, standard to deluxe. The room is large, with a sliding patio door to a balcony. Nice views of the city and surrounding areas. The bathroom is large and has dispensers of soap, shaving cream and lotion at the vanity, with the shower/tub having shampoo, body wash and conditioner. A real convenience. An in room safe and even 110 volt power in the bathroom.
The hotel is in need of refurbishing badly. You can see this on entering the lobby, worn carpet and dated reception counter. The elevator is old but gets you up the 4 floors. The rooms we stayed in are date in their decor, have mold on the ceiling of the bathrooms, dust build up on the baseboards and carpet around the wall. The furniture, couches, are worn on the ends of the arms, carpet is worn and thin, the bureau is old and it still has the old stereo built into the night table. The A/C didn't work for the last two nights of the Jan. stay, even after complaining it was noted and no follow up to my complaint. No one knew anything was wrong, I was dismayed by this hiding of a problem, especially when the temperatures were 30 to 34 C each day.
Well, prior to getting into Sydney, I called and was told the A/C problem was repaired. Good, until we arrive and are told, after asking, that it is working sporadically. Great, they put us in another room, funny why we would get placed back into a room that the A/C has problems with. End result, we get an extension of our check out time on the day of our departure.
The Reservation Manager was apologetic and forthright in our criticism of the staff. This was the only shortfall, of the staff, that I experienced, no explanation why.
All in all, if you look the other way at the shortfalls, pay about $125.00, you get a hotel that is inexpensive and close to the heart of Sydney, with the ambiance of residential living.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stationary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspirehotel, Property Manager at Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel and we appreciate the feedback.

Many of our guests choose to stay at the Aspire Hotel based on our quiet and convenient location, and we try our best to meet our guests needs. We understand your concerns relating to the state of the hotel. Since your stay, the air conditioning problem has been rectified and we are in the process of upgrading others areas of the hotel. This will be a slow process and we hope that you will return to our hotel on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2009

There were positives and negatives for us with our stay. The hotel is located in a peaceful suburb, only a few minutes walk to Darling Harbour and within walking distance of the city. The hotel itself is dated, and is starting to show it. We had problems on arrival with the a/c and were moved right away. However, the balcony door in our new room refused to lock which was not too positive, the fixtures and fittings were slowly falling apart and finally by our third night, the a/c in this room packed up. Given that the outside temperature was almost 42 degrees C this was definitely a problem.

Not sure i'd return to this place - we'd consider a better maintained hotel next time.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ikelmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspirehotel, Property Manager at Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2009

thank you for taking the time to comment on our property.

We ar currently looking into refurbing our property including all fixtures in the future.

We do hope that you still enjoyed your stay at Sydney and we hope to welcome you again at the Aspire Hotel Sydney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#26 of 180 in Sydney
175 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#45 of 180 in Sydney
1,867 reviews
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#51 of 180 in Sydney
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Veriu Broadway
#16 of 180 in Sydney
133 reviews
Vulcan Hotel
#87 of 180 in Sydney
421 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#39 of 180 in Sydney
4,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney

Address: 383-389 Bulwara Rd, Sydney, New South Wales 2007, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $98 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney has recently (Dec 2016) completed a full refurbishment of the property including brand new guest rooms, restaurant, lobby, bar and function rooms. Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney is conveniently located in a quiet street adjacent to Darling Harbour. Our 96 rooms offer spacious, comfortable and contemporary accommodation, some with excellent city views and open air balconies. Car parking, internet access & breakfast also available. See the best Sydney has to offer, with Darling Harbour, ICC Sydney, Star Casino, China Town, Paddy's Markets and Sydney's CBD all within easy walking distance of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing