We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the Aspire, but it's probably not for everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney
Ranked #37 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights on a recent visit to Sydney. The rooms are clean, large and have character. The views from the balcony were fine, but there was nothing to sit on. Furnishings are a bit dated, but comfortable. Location is ideal - we walked back from Newtown one night just for the sake of it. All in all a comfortable stay and excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimandNatalie1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricky R, Manager at Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking time to give us a wonderful feedback from your recent with us at Aspire Hotel Sydney. And we are so thrilled and glad that you have enjoyed your stay with Aspire Hotel Sydney.

We are currently looking into a gradual refurbishment of the hotel, and we hope to further provide guests with more comfortable stays.

Thank you again for taking the time and effort to leave a review of our hotel.
We look forward to your visit with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (860)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

638 - 644 of 860 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

The hotel offers value for money, clean and comfy rooms. but you need to walk or catch a bus etc
to get to the Sydney CBD and attractions such as Darling Harbour or Paddy's Markets.

The hotel is dated and the furniture in the room we had was a bit worse for wear but the room
was serviced daily and the bed was comfy.

There were sliding doors to a balcony which was good in the leafy shady environment and gave the room a nice airy feel to it with the door open.

Not recommended for the more discerning fussy person but we enjoyed our short stay there and our very reasonable price full breakfast.

The staff were excellent and we would definitely return.

Yes the place is a bit dated but if you like older places and are prepared to overlook some things then the building offers a unique comfy feel to it.

The area around the hotel (Ultimo) is a very interesting area and is a blend of old and new.

Room Tip: No advice here we take pot luck when we book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geordie031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricky R, Manager at Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear geordi031,

The staff and I at the Aspire Hotel Sydney would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on the property and we appreciate your kind feedback.

The quiet and convenient location of our property is something which preferred especially by guests who have events to attend in the nearby area. We are currently looking into a gradual refurbishment of the hotel, and we hope to further provide guests with more comfortable stays.

We always try to offer a great value for money option with a friendly service. I am glad that the staff were able to help you with your requests and our team will be very happy to see this as I pass this message to them.

We will warmly welcome you to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This well priced hotel, offers a room for a good rest. It is positioned in a perfect location, only about a 10 minute walk to the harbour, where there is plenty to do. A large variety of restaurants to eat at, as well as bars and cafes to enjoy your night.

On that note the harbour offers fireworks every weekend, which is a wonderful idea and some great entertainment.

The Aspire Hotel, is an older venue, which could do with a facelift, but for a simple place to lay your head at the end of a day exploring sydney. The room we had, come with three beds, two singles and one queen. It also had a fridge (no Mini bar refreshments though) and coffee/tee making facilities. There was also a balcony in our room, which does not have the best of views, but a pleasant place to have your morning coffee.

Having mentioned that there is no mini bar refreshments, there is indeed a vending machine in the lobby which offers, cold drinks, from cola to wine and beer. i did not check the prices on the vending machine.

The hotel can be noisy, being so close to the street and the surrounding rooms, nothing too dramatic though, it did not impact on our sleep time at all. The staff were friendly. We did not use room service, and im not even sure what they had to offer. There is no restaurant in the hotel, so late night snacks may be out of the question. we did not use any internet, but did notice that most people were sitting in the lobby on their computers, giving the impression that this was the only place to get wifi. If T.V is your thing, then there is only the standard Australian 'free to air' channels available and no DVD player.

There is a convenient store located across the road from the hotel, for you to stock up on any refreshments you may need after the sun sets. there is also a cafe` next door to the hotel for you to enjoy a coffee.

A taxi fare from the city, should cost around $30-$40 in non peek hour. If you intend to be active and experience what Sydney has to offer, using the hotel only for a place to sleep than this hotel is perfect. The location could not get any better. 10 min from the harbour 10min from Surry Hills, and about a 25 min cab ride to the infamous Bondi Beach.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricky R, Manager at Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Simon R,
Thank you for your stay in Aspire Hotel Sydney and for the time taken to leave your feedback. We are glad that you have overall enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you had a nice time in Sydney. We always try to offer a great value for money accommodation with a friendly service to all our guests.

The quiet and convenient location of our property close to the Sydney CBD, gives our guests an easy walking access to all the major attractions of Sydney such as Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Sydney Entertainment Center, etc.

In regards to the DVD player, please note that there are DVD players available to rent that includes two blockbuster movies that you can request at Front Desk at any time.

I hope that this information has assisted you with your concerns. For anything further feel free to contact us.

Once again, we are happy to see that you have had a pleasant stay with us. And we will be looking forward to welcome you again the next time you visit Sydney

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel had a good location, nice and helpful staff.
Our room had a good size, with a balcony and a bathroom with bathtub.
We enjoyed our stay in there, however we were not to impressed by the stay over cleaning
(our toilet was not cleaned and it missed a toilet brush from the day we arrived).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspire-Management, Manager at Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

Thank you very much for your review. Your genuine feedback will help us to improve our service and it will be passed to all sections.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our property again in the near future.

Metro Aspire Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Good:
Clean Hotel
Staff attend your needs very fast
Worth the value, booked for 70usd per night
Bath tub
Room size 30m2
Given room with one double, one single, one extra bed
Flat screen tv
Big Balcony

Bad:
Building looks ok, but clean
Not much tv channels to choose from
Air con spoilt, given a fan instead
Hair dryer not working

Note:
Breakfast is 15aud
Walking to haymarket and central is around 10minutes walk
Wifi is 10 aud for whole day

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ben10tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel is dated but the room was good after all, big enough with balcony and clean. It is good located near China Town and about 10-15 minutes to Darling Harbour. I was surprised what you get for the price you pay. In comparison with other Sydney hotels it's very cheap and much better then the other (way more expensive) hotel we spend at the end of our vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelCookiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

On your doorstep Chinatown, Casino, Fish Markets, Darling Harbour, Powerhouse Museum and The City - can not ask for a better location. Rooms are so reasonably priced, clean and comfortable, with basic, but certainly all the amenities you need. At these prices and in this location, certainly worth a visit. So check out there rates.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#32 of 181 in Sydney
217 reviews
Veriu Broadway
#4 of 181 in Sydney
155 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#39 of 181 in Sydney
4,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#49 of 181 in Sydney
422 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#48 of 181 in Sydney
1,925 reviews
Vulcan Hotel
#84 of 181 in Sydney
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney

Address: 383-389 Bulwara Rd, Sydney, New South Wales 2007, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $90 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney has recently (Dec 2016) completed a full refurbishment of the property including brand new guest rooms, restaurant, lobby, bar and function rooms. Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney is conveniently located in a quiet street adjacent to Darling Harbour. Our 96 rooms offer spacious, comfortable and contemporary accommodation, some with excellent city views and open air balconies. Car parking, internet access & breakfast also available. See the best Sydney has to offer, with Darling Harbour, ICC Sydney, Star Casino, China Town, Paddy's Markets and Sydney's CBD all within easy walking distance of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing