We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive shopping and SMOKERS !”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Pitt Street Mall

Pitt Street Mall
Book In Advance
More Info
$617.53*
and up
4-Day Sydney Tour: City Sightseeing, Sydney Harbour Cruise and the Blue...
Ranked #73 of 470 things to do in Sydney
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
126 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Expensive shopping and SMOKERS !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

If you want to go for a high-end shopping and exercise the limits of your credit card, then this is the place for you! like many other high-street shopping districts around the world, it is posh and well-presented.
my biggest complaint, hoards of smokers outside the shops!!! it was unbelievable! I couldn't stand outside the shops, it was impossible to breath! when we got back home, I had to change cause I was ricking of the nasty smell!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Ehsan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    92
    27
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Shops”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Very busy at lunch time but great shops newly renovated.
My favourites are Seed and Witchery
Short walk from Town Hall Station or St James / Museum
Access to David Jones and Myer
.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominique J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sydney's Shopping Mecca”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Pitt Street mall is the heart og Sydney Shopping, with major department stores, high end boutiques and affordable clothing and specialty shops. The Strand Arcade runs off it and is a peaceful refuge amid the hustle and bustle of the Mall.
The wide mall has places to sit under shady trees and watch the world go by and a variety of street performers to entertain (or annoy) passers by.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pjrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“"Shopaholics Delight"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

A trip into Sydney town would not be the same without a stroll into the epicenter of Sydneys' shopping district "Pitt St Mall".The whole area has undergone a massive transformation in recent years with the now newly completed Westfield shopping mall offering a wide range of famous designer shop brands such as Prada,Chanel,Armani,Miu Miu and of course Zara(down on Pitt street level)
It is also worth noting that there are other smaller arcades leading off Pitt St..none better than The Strand Arcade oringinally built in 1891 and restored to it's original Victorian grandeur in 1977 after a fire.On my recent sortee into town I wandered around this delightful arcade climbing up the two levels and just taking in the atmosphere karma and vibes it oozes out.One level up you will see some of Australias' leading fashion design houses with Sass n' Bide,Leona Edmiston and my favourite Lisa Ho all showing off their latest seasons designs.Everytime I walk past the delightful Bon Bon chocolate shop on the ground floor you are seduced into stopping and looking at the beautiful handmade masterpieces..a very nice way to start the shopping day is my tip..relaxed and chilled out!
MidCity shopping mall is the next port of call..brand shops such as "G-Star" and Witchery flaunt their wares here and you really do have to pace yourself with so many shopping options on offer and we haven't even started with David Jones and Meyer yet!Shopping as we know can be very tiring hungry and thirsty work and for anyone contemplating lunching here there is no better choice or place to go than the 5th floor international food court in Westfield.Talk about spoilt for choice..every different food fare on offer from Indian,Turkish kebab"Exotic Flavours From the Middle East"(which I loved..$9.50)to "Crust Gormet Pizza Bar".."Cloudy Bay Fish Co" and for anyone up for a burger challenge.."Charlie n' Co Burgers"..a double decker sized burger that only the absolute starving could fully appreciate and finish (see picture)but looked good value to be honest at $12.50 or so!Many other gourmet delights here including Ruben and Moore Carvery .."Din Tai Fung 'Dumpling bar and "RAGU Pasta N' Wine Bar"which speaking from experience is a dangerous place to put your shopping bags down and 'sample' the wine.
The best cup of coffee in here is "Via Del Corso" without a doubt and surprisingly cheap by Sydney prices and good quality and again the handmade Italian chocolates and cakes will seduce your palate for sure!
All in all Pitt St mall is certainly worth the effort for shopping or just strolling and is certainly my favourite Westfield without a doubt..A 'Shopaholics Delight" would probably be an understatement..Enjoy!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyJed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
940 reviews
487 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 539 helpful votes
“Great shopping strip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

The strand arcade runs off here, so either start here and get to the strand or end up here after walking through the strand. some great shops and some that are not so great, but that is what is always in a mall.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank HiddenCaviar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pitt Street Mall also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Pitt Street Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing