We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hearty, fresh and Middle Eastern” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Shenkin

Cafe Shenkin
Ranked #40 of 290 Coffee & Tea in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian, Israeli, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Telephone (02) 9550 5511 Postcode 2043
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Hearty, fresh and Middle Eastern”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Go there hungry and you will leave with a nicely bloated figure! Israeli big breakfast highly recommended if you wish to spoil yourself. I like the back side more than the front of the coffee as the back is more spacious. Menu is quite rich, many choices... Fruit juice, wraps, bread, salads, hommus all fresh. Comfortable to go with dates, mates, family or even just with a book.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deniz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    19
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Is-raeli good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Really rustic, cool vibe made Shenkin an enjoyable place to hang out. The staff were super friendly, always checking up to make sure we were happy and enjoying ourselves. Above all, the food was absolutely delicious, just as good as the best israeli food you can find in Israel. I've only been there once and i'm already trying to plan a return visit! The Israeli wrap is a must have... so good!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex-Lips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not just another inner-city cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Cafe Shenkin has everything you want from a cafe ... indoor and outdoor seating, efficient friendly staff, good weekend hours, great ambience and most important of all, fantastic food and excellent coffee. Everything about our brunch was terrific, from the fabulously interesting tastes (the food has a distinctly Middle Eastern bent) through to generous portions and great presentation. The service was quick smart without being rushed and in spite of the fact that every table in the place was full the food arrived hot and fresh with hardly a wait. Though we didn't indulge, the pastries looked delicious, and the other diners' choices looked as good as our own. And the coffee is the best I've had anywhere for years. Couldn't fault it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Possumpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Middle Eastern Flavours and Plentiful Portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Delightful atmosphere in this cafe/restaurant. We have made 3 visits here as on the first 2 occasions we were too full to have desserts. We are very pleased we went back for these yesterday. Everything is home made and the pity is one cannot try every thing, but the lava cake, with chocolate and caramelized nuts or the berry cheese cake are highly recommended. Go for the lunch, with wraps or dips or the Shakshuka or the dinner with dips and perfectly done kebabs.
You will leave satisfied, and then return for coffee and cake another day.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank annge15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not sure what was better the starters or the desserts!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

That's not to say the mains weren't pretty good too! Great Israeli cafe in a trendy strip in Erskineville. Excellent casual and helpful service. Superb starters - mostly if not all vegetarian and including humus, superbly light felafel (ask for fresh lemon to squeeze over it!), labanne, deliciously chewy, spiced, warm pitta and more. Most around $6 or $7 - great value on offer at 5 for $25... Main courses were excellent - whole grilled baramundi and the beef kebabs were excellent, served with chips, Israeli salad, or smashed roast potatoes. Deserts were heavily weighted towards chocolate - the pyramid with hard chocolate on the outside, ultra-light mousse with creme caramel in the middle was superb, along with excellent coffee. Cheese-cake was very generous but slightly too sweet (good with unsweetened coffee though...). We were even brought a free chocolate ball, too big to finish off, because we were celebrating a birthday. Could not eat any more, and for excellent food, fun time and less than $30 per person... that's great value. Next visit could well be a morning one to sample the breakfast offerings including shakshouka and the fresh fruit juices...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AntSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Shenkin also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Cafe Shenkin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing