We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great big breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kitchen by Mike - CLOSED

Kitchen by Mike
Cuisines: Australian, International, Asian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great big breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

I'm a local and come here often. I love the big breakfast, especially the eggs and vine tomatoes. The coffees are good too. It's always busy here but the line moves quickly enough. Once you order the food comes pretty quickly. The prices aren't cheap but I think it's pretty standard for inner Sydney. Lastly, the place has an airy and relaxed setting and the furniture shop attached is always entertaining (prices are so ridiculously expensive I don't know who would shop there!).

Helpful?
1 Thank Ozsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    47
    26
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Top quality, flavoursome food in eclectic surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

I was introduced to Kitchen by Mike by a visitor from Melbourne. The food is very fresh, full of flavour, well presented and variety of ingredients is paramount. Portions are enormous and the bread is some of the best I have tasted. The staff were friendly and helpful. Prices are very reasonable for food of this quality. The restaurant is located in a complex containing some very interesting shops, with a garden and parking at the rear of the building.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank catcowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very Sydney-esque, pretentious, queues, inefficiency”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Been here twice, give it the benefit of the doubt ....

Alas, no more, that will do.

I understand the furniture store, attached / behind may be separate, but take a walk around to see the madness. A spray painted hat stand 440$, a nailed-together (yes nailed) bed, 2,000$ +

Anyway, I digress.
The first time I went to Kitchen by mike I sampled the food - fine but nothing worth reporting.

Second time I went, I went expressly to buy preserved lemons.
Australian supermarkets being what they are, there were none readily available. So I went to Kitchen by Mike, where I had seen them before.
12$ for a small jar. To be expected I suppose.... but anywhere in Europe you'd pay 2-3euro...

Terrible queues and the staff... they way they move around .. you really could come here for a time and motion study on how not to run a kitchen. How can seven people be so collectively inefficient ....

I think that's it ... they say 3 times a charm .. but 2 will do me.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karl_10117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Great food, courtly welcome and lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

We went to Kitchen by Mike for at late lunch in May, 2014.

We had the Italian sausage and mash combo and an intriguing brussel sprouts salad, served with some incredible bread and butter. This was followed by a coffee and a fruit drink..

Mike was serving and he does so with a courtly welcome. Which is just great and something missing from most Sydney places. The staff are busy and happy which gives a really nice vibe. The tables were spacious and had the added touch of a small vase of salvias.
The kitchen is situated in a big old factory type building, kind of shabby chic, spacious and airy. It has a great atmosphere.

We enjoyed this place and recommend it for a delicious lunch. The only drawback was the $5 (OUCH!) lukewarm coffee. That was way over the top.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janev_Aust_2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Laid back Saturday breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Had breakfast last Saturday. It's located on a quiet street in Rosebery.

There is some parking but street parking is available around the area, free.

Food was simple and done well. A little on the pricey side, but the quality of the food justifies it somewhat.

I had the eggs Benedict, which came with one 55degree egg, Prochuitto and hollandaise sauce. Although the hollandaise sauce is fresh, it doesn't have the tang from lemons that I look for in a great hollandaise sauce.

The cafe was spacious and plenty there is an indoor and a courtyard for some outdoor dining.

At the back, there is a home furnishing and garden shop. There is a small selection of books available for sale too.

Had a great relaxed breakfast, and I would return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kc_chan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kitchen by Mike also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing