We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lose the Line”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kitchen by Mike - CLOSED

Kitchen by Mike
Cuisines: Australian, International, Asian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lose the Line”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

After reading about Kitchen by Mike in the SMH I was keen to try it out and it was great that it was open on the public holiday. The food is good, great concept, a little on the expensive side, but to be expected in Sydney. I would suggest that there needs to be a solution to having to queue up inside the restaurant for food....there was a line the majority of the 3 hours we were there - justifying additional staff or the wait staff attending to cutlery would be better dedicated to serving. It feels a bit like qantas, we have to check in ourselves, do our own bag drop and pay for the pleasure.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AusJoBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    47
    26
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
sydney australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Everything comes at a cost”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I tagged along for lunch with my partner and eventually found the side entrance to a large expanse taken up mainly by a shop selling nordic themed furniture and home condiments with a cafe at one end and people lining up for meals. I thought the concept worked well as others (japanese noodle bars) have used it in the city well,but we left hardly full in comparison to the others even though we spent so much more on the food.
I had the pumpkin and feta tartine, which translates into one slice of bread,with an incredibly hard crust layered with pumpkin,feta,caralmelized onion and a drizzle of chilli infused oil for $9.50, expensive for the size. My partner had the roast chicken which he said was nice but a little on the small size too. The beetroot salad was a small serving for $7.50 and the organic juice was a whopping $5.50 for a small bottle. We left spending $36.50 for 2 people for lunch alone, the furniture shop prices reflect the food price schedule, looking around the large expanse, I couldn't help but think how expensive the property must be to keep operating, thus the expensive prices I guess.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wquick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Love the salads”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The salads here are so unusual - absolutely tasty, very wholesome and yummy.
Have to admit that its a little on the pricey side, given the portion sizes. Noticed that the meat were very pricey too. But the taste delivers, so money well spent I guess!
We were lucky not to have to line up for too long during the times we've been there, and also found that the seating area was spacious enough to feel comfortable. Wish there were less children though. Can't wait to return for the salads.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelbag2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cool space and very expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Coffee was great , food selection is very small . Quality of food was excellent . Prices are high for portion size . Enjoyable place and great to chill out

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MofSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue mountains
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pricey but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Have been a few time just think the prices are a little expensive especially $8 for two pieces of toast with jam. You can purchase a whole sour dough for $8
Coffee is great and has a great atmosphere

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dak3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kitchen by Mike also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing