We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place for food and shopping”
Review of Chinatown

Chinatown
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Sydney Food Tour: A Taste of Chinatown
More Info
$47.67*
and up
Sydney Morning Tour with Optional Lunch Cruise or Sydney Opera House Tour...
More Info
$311.09*
and up
Private: Historical Sightseeing Walking Tour of Sydney
Ranked #69 of 476 things to do in Sydney
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A place for food and shopping”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Chinatown is a good place for Asian food and cheap shopping. You can find cute things here and bargain clothes and accessories. Worth the visit if you're in the area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tcheyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    294
    248
    38
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

As Asian culture has become a larger section in Australian culture it is worth a visit. It is less than 10 minutes walk from Central Station. Trams drop off at Paddy's Market.

Exactly what you would expect from a ChinaTown anywhere in the World. Be prepared to be approached all the time to go into restaurants. I found it ok, just as my hostel was close by I thought I would investigate. Good pub opposite Paddy's Market called the Coventry Garden Hotel.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mjd6888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I visited Sydney and it was suggested that we visit the vibrant Chinatown district in Sydney. We were disappointed that it was quite dirty and the attractions were not what we had hoped for. It as quite a let down for us in the sense that we expected more.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Happyjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“disgusting”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Ligths, noise and low cost shops and baargain food. An example on how to destroy the atmosphere of a beautiful city. Good place if you need to save money

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Willy64Milano_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

You can spend hours in Chinatown. Paddy's flea market (open wed-sun) at ground level of Market City shopping complex for your australian souvenirs and fresh groceries (fruits & veggies). Market City level 1 and above for your factory outlet shoppings. At the top level you will find nice food court. Plenty of Asian eateries and restaurants in Chinatown. Night market at Dixon St for just about everything including chinese foods. Capitol square and World square shopping complex is within walking distance. Sydney Entertainment Centre is in Chinatown.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bingung_deh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinatown also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing