We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Sydney!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forsyth Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 61 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
T&T
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Gem in Sydney!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

With only two spacious, well-appointed guest rooms, Gary and Julie have thoughtfully created a product and service that delivers everyday! I spent 10 days with them and felt as though I was with friends, especially when Gary picked me up from the airport! Gary and Julie have used their outstanding location and beautiful home to create an atmosphere of service dedicated to making visitors relax and enjoy all that this wonderful city has to offer. They anticipate what you may need as a visitor and provide the most interesting solutions: whether it be choice of travel within the city, a restaurant, or a site to visit! The daily breakfast included fresh fruit with some other wonderful other choices prepared by Gary! A delicious and satisfying way to start the day! Thank You Gary and Julie! I highly recommend your establishment!

Room Tip: Book the room with the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaydeTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary d, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely recommendation. It was a pleasure to be able to help you both get the most out of your time in Sydney!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    3
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
158
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed with Gary and Julie in January, this place just exudes quality, from the design of the house to the furnishings in the rooms to the wonderful breakfast. Why go to a five star hotel when you can stay here. Access to the centre odf Sydney is easy, 500 metre sto the bus stop and the 431 bus takes you right into the Rocks. If you fancy a stroll, it is five minutes down the steet to the Sydney harnbour waterfont. No need to worry about an airport transfer, Gary will pick you up.
We liked 3 Forsyth so much and Gary and Julie we have asked them to come and stay with us next time they come back to the UK.

Room Tip: either room is good, just get it booked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary d, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate the acknowledgement of the service and quality of accommodation which Forsyth BnB strives to provide all its guests. We look forward to the opportunity of meeting up on our next sojourn to the the UK and Europe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed for five nights at Forsyth BnB end of December and during this period, my wife and I have been extremely well received and welcomed by the owners.

We were immediately impressed by the warm atmosphere of the house, the location is ideal for getting around in Sydney and especially the friendliness of the owners Gary and Julie available and very professional.

We really enjoyed our stay, the quality of breakfasts prepared by Gary and advice from Julie throughout our stay. We really had the feeling of being received by friends with whom we shared the good times (including fireworks January 1) and long conversations.

The house and rooms are very modern and comfortable but makes the most of the hotel is the kindness and attention that the owners have for their guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fastbamboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary d, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
So pleased to hear you had a great time here, we also enjoyed sharing time with you both. It’s nice to hear that Forsyth provides such a cosy friendly atmosphere to its guests – more like a home away from home! Thanks so much for your advice on IT and boosters - the wi-fi performance has been enhanced!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2013

having booked 2 rooms for 3 days & we were in Paradise (mainly with the fireworks the last of the year).
The rooms are large & modern with a balcony (parents room), and the B&B is very well located
(10 minutes walking to reach George Street).
Gorgeous breakfast (too much), with fantastic muffins ans fresh fruits.
many thanks to Julie & Gary to having welcomed us with kindness and professionalism.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georges D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary d, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thanks for your wonderful comments, so glad that all your family enjoyed their stay here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

When you are taking B&B you won't meet a bad or good hotel standard, but the personality and characters of B&B owners instead. You should be aware and ready for that.

Stayed 7 nights in December 2012 in Rosselle room.

PROS
- FREE OF CHARGE pickup from airport on arrival and drop-off on departure;
- CLEAN ROOM, bed is equipped with lovely bed linens, 100% cotton;
- CLEAN BATHROOM with separate bathtub and shower for two;
- a balcony adds a comfort;
- all facets and toilet in bathroom are new and working properly;
- towels are good and 100% cotton;
- a bathroom toiletries provided are all organic;
- a bus stop is in 3 min from house;
- GOOD BREAKFAST, including 2 orange and grapefruit juices, 2 types of yogurts, 2 kind of mueslis with fresh berries and a great fresh fruit plate. Puffing pancake and muffins with berries are very tasty and rich of vitamins and energy;
- complimentary bottle of wine at local Timbah winebar;
- Gary is a good cook, and Julie gave us great advices about Sydney exploring.

CONS
- A NOISY air conditioner. If you turn the air conditioner at level two (2 green lights) the noise becomes unbearable. If you decide sleep with glass door open then city noise, insects and neighbor smokers fume came into your room. That makes nights here are not relaxing, as they should be. Considering Sydney's hot and humid weather that is a REAL inconvenience;
- an UNSAFE shower. When you taking shower a water is leaking from shower onto bathroom floor, If you accidentally step down onto the spills you can slip on and fall down;
- There is NO GUEST SPOT with a teapot, caps (glasses) where you can coffee get a cap of tea or and small fridge to keep some your stuff like water, beer or wine. As B&B's kitchen is locked by owner from time to time, you are out of these things at that time;
- B&B's owner decides on his own what is better for you. When we came back from a day trip it was very hot in the room, so we have turned air conditioner on and leave it on when went to a wine bar. When we back from the bar, air conditioner was off, because B&B's owner Gary has decided that it should be turned off while we were away. That seems to me be an INAPPROPRIATE POLICY;
- Hilly location, so walking around can be a physical challenge.

Room Tip: Roselle room is facing opposite to the road and has balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AlexanderGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary d, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Sorry to hear that this guest’s stay did not totally live up to his expectations.

I would like to take the opportunity to respond to the Cons that the guest listed:
• As advised at the time, the air conditioners are regularly serviced – they can be noisy on activation but they settle down as the room reaches the required ambient temperature.
• In regard to turning off the air conditioner in the guest’s room, Forsyth BnB operates a green policy. As explained to the guest at the time, when I serviced the room in the evening, I thought he had forgotten to turn it off when he went out in the evening. It only takes a few minutes to achieve the ambient temperature when reactivated on the guest’s return. However if he had told me that he wished it left on for his personal comfort, I would not have turned it off.
• Forsyth BnB is a strictly non-smoking establishment. It cannot however be held responsible for the smoking habits of neighbours, their guests or pedestrians on the street.
• The Rozelle shower operates effectively. All bathrooms in Australia are wet rooms and water will drain off the frameless glass shower door as they exit the shower, running onto the terrazzo tiled floor which is a non-slip finish.
• It is clear on the Forsyth BnB’s website that guests do not have full access to the kitchen facilities, and that there are no tea and coffee making facilities within the rooms. However, the website specifically states that tea and coffee are available on request – I am the BnB barista and happy to make a cuppa anytime I am here! I am also always happy to assist guests by storing provisions in the fridge for their use. Throughout this guest’s stay, he used this service and seemed pleased with it. On the odd occasion I was out, I left wine glasses and some of his provisions out for him, in case he returned early.
• Sydney, like all natural harbour cities, has roads which drop down to sea level. I have had several older guests staying who have commented on how much they enjoyed walking around the area. I am sorry that the location did not suit this guest.

Forsyth BnB prides itself on providing personal service to all its guests. As requested, I provided the guest with a glass of red wine on his arrival prior to 10.00am; access to his room at three hours prior to the check-in time of 02.00pm; Australian currency so he could enjoy his first day in Sydney; as requested, I purchased a set of the special bed linen in the Rozelle Room and provided this the next day at cost - I am sure it will look just as lovely in his home as in the Rozelle Room..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

what can i say? caring service, great room, good breakfast, honest and helpful bosses. if i am going back again...its definitely forsyth bnb and nowhere else. stayed there for 3 days before moving to blue mountain, my wife and i were overly pampered by gary and julie...it was as if there were our personal butler...really couldnt has asked for more.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hptan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary d, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for the lovely compliments, Forsyth BnB prides itself on providing personalised service and it was so nice to hear you felt pampered!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2012

If you're looking for a place to stay in Sydney, look no further! We stayed here for five nights in November 2012 and can't rate the Forsyth B&B highly enough. Ours was the Rozelle room which was large, modern, light and spacious with it's own balcony and a bathroom, complete with all toiletries, to die for - including a double shower! Gary and Julie were brilliant and welcoming hosts and nothing was too much trouble. They are both a mine of information about the local area and Sydney itself and more than willing to help with where to go, what to see and the easiest way to do it. They will also recommend places to eat and drink, one of which is the reasonably priced Thai restaurant just down the road where food is cooked freshly to order. Breakfasts are a culinary feast and include a fruit platter, Gary's muesli and his blueberry buckwheat pancakes followed by Julie's muffins, all homemade and truly delicious - or a cooked breakfast if you prefer. Forsyth itself is located in the Glebe area of Sydney and has a 'boho' atmosphere, plenty of restaurants and is only a twenty minute bus ride to Circular Quay, harbour ferries and the CBD. The bus stop is five minutes up the road and you can easily walk to the Fisherman's Market and Darling Harbour and catch the ferry round to Circular Quay. This place is more than a home from home and we left wishing we could have stayed longer. There was nothing not to like and everything to recommend. Gary and Julie, thank you again for everything.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakles5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary d, Owner at Forsyth Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
So pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay – we certainly enjoyed having you both here, including the banter and interesting conversations!! And the jasmine is growing wonderfully!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 178 in Sydney
1,177 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
ADGE Apartment Hotel
ADGE Apartment Hotel
#2 of 178 in Sydney
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forsyth Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forsyth Bed & Breakfast

Property: Forsyth Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3 Forsyth Street | Glebe, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Glebe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BOOKINGS ONLY AVAILABLE DIRECTLY WITH FORSYTH BNB. Forsyth is a delightful boutique bed and breakfast, a "piece of inner-city serenity", nestled between Glebe Point Road and Blackwattle Bay on Sydney Harbour, located 3 kms from the city and 20 minutes drive from the airport. Forsyth offers two spacious quiet guest rooms, both located upstairs, with no common walls. Each has a queen size bed, its own bathroom, reverse cycle air-conditioning, cable television, and free wi-fi. The Blackwattle Room has a separate television/ reading space and en-suite shower room, and "a circular porthole offsets the angular ceiling and gives a bird's eye view of the street". The Rozelle Room offers a full size bathroom (with double shower, bath and bidet) and a private balcony with views out towards Anzac Bridge and the city. Glebe Village has numerous restaurants which cater for every taste. Blackwattle Park with its beautiful foreshore promenade along Sydney Harbour is located a minute's walk from Forsyth, and Sydney Fish Market, a working fishing port, is close by. Forsyth is well serviced by public transport, and close to many local attractions including Chinatown, Star Casino, Darling Harbour, Cockle Bay Wharf, Sydney Aquarium and Sydney Powerhouse Museum. The Rocks and the Opera House are a short bus ride away or a walk for the hearty. In good weather, breakfast is served outside in the Japanese courtyard garden, alternatively in the dining room with its cathedral ceiling. Pick-up/drop-off at Sydney airport or cruise terminals is available on request. In order to avoid disappointment, please book early. We hope you enjoy your stay at Forsyth BnB. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing