We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A much cheaper option than Bridge climb and almost as spectacular”

Pylon Lookout at Sydney Harbour Bridge
Book In Advance
More Info
$121.60*
and up
Sydney BridgeClimb
Ranked #17 of 475 things to do in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A much cheaper option than Bridge climb and almost as spectacular”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

From the rocks climb up the stairs to the Harbour Bridge and walk to the first pylon. Pay a minimal fee and walk up the stairs to the viewing platform. Here you will enjoy amazing views, at a fraction of the price of Bridge Climb.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jamscone3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    900
    379
    50
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Mind blowing”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The harbour bridge is every thing you would expect it to be. This iconic symbol of Sydney is an amazing feat of early 19th century engineering.

We had discussed walking the bridge but at £120 each we decided not to do it. There is an slightly less arduous way of seeing the same view though. One of he pylons at each end has a museum that explains how they built the bridge and at the top of that is a look out platform which gives you the same view of he harbour but slightly lower. That costs 11 dollars which is vastly different. Still worth walking the bridge if you want to though.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mair14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Stunning and won't disappoint”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Visiting with my ten year old son, we discovered the Pylon Lookout climb and followed this with a walk across the Bridge. No need for expensive commercial activities such as the Bridge Climb, yo can walk across the bridge for free, enjoying to sights and views at you leisure. When you get across its only a short ride back to the city on one of the numerous trains that cross over and stop a the nearby station across the bridge. Not to be missed!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DocM-Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

A less glamourous alternative to the very expensive Sydney Harbour Bridge climb, this activity is not to be missed.i visited with my ten year old son, and it was a fantastic experience for both of us. Easily accessible from The Rocks or Circular Quay area (tip: access is from the Bridge level, not down below at the very base of the Pylon), after a short climb, about 200 steps you are at about 90m altitude looking out over the bridge and beautiful Sydney harbour (that's like being on the top floor of a 25 story building) - stunning views. Although we were there mid-morning, we had the observation deck virtually to ourselves to enjoy in peace. And admission is great value, and only a fraction of the more expensive commercial walk.

After the Pylon Climb you can walk across the bridge enjoying the sights and view, to the rail station on the other side and catch a train back to Circular Quay.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank DocM-Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, Alabama
Level Contributor
136 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great value and alternative to bridge climb”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

OK, here's the deal. My wife and I visited Sydney during June 2013. I'm a engineer, nerd, and love history of such things as this. And I am also not overly excited of heights or climbing over bridges. My wife? definitely not a nerd or into these things like me. She is, however, into the thrill of climbing, and adventure. We "compromised" (my word, not her's) to do the pylon lookout instead of the bridge climb. Turned out to be a great option for us. It is much cheaper ($11 per person vs a couple hundred), is much quicker (30-60 minute tour vs 4 hrs), and takes you to reasonably similar heights over the Harbor. Also the pylon gives you a museum tour with history and educational items about the bridge construction (I don't know if you get those on the bridge climb). My wife enjoyed this option, it was far cheaper, much quicker and self guided, and you get a great view. If you just gotta climb the bridge, go ahead. If you want a positive alternative, here you go... And for those that cant seem to find this option..its in the pylon closest to the opera house. Find the stairway up to the bridge itself, and you enter the pylon from the sideway off the bridge...not from the base down bay the edge of the bay..Approx 100 steps to the top.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pylon Lookout at Sydney Harbour Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Pylon Lookout at Sydney Harbour Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing