We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable”
Review of QT Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
QT Sydney
Ranked #12 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We spent a weekend in Sydney and stayed here. Great location, the room was funky and modern and it was impossible not to dance in the lift. Very, very impressed with 4pm checkout - this was offered on check in and was complimentary as we didn't fly out until the following evening. Only complaint was that no paper was delivered in the morning. When followed up, we were advised that no papers were delivered to the hotel. For a five star hotel, I would have advised they run to the nearest newsagent to rectify this. Overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danellaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dearest QT Sydney guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,983)
There are newer reviews for QT Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,484 - 1,490 of 1,983 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at QT Sydney for our wedding anniversary in a Junior Suite.Great location for a city break. Booked the hotel because of the decor and the styling was great.There was a beautiful bath which sadly we could not use as the plug did not work. Reported this to staff who apologized but did not rectify the problem. When I mentioned it again on checkout - they were not interested. I felt that the hotel was all about the styling and missed the mark on general room maintenance Would not stay again as for $500 a night there are much better places to stay in Sydney which are not just relying on the quirky factor.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Papindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monfrique, Guest Relations Manager at QT Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thanks for your feedback, we're thrilled to hear you loved the hotel's styling!

Our bath's are absolutely gorgeous and I am sorry to hear you weren't able to make the most of yours. I will ensure your comments are passed on. We are all about giving a great guest experience and we take these sorts of comments very seriously, so thank you.

We hope you'll decide to stay with us again so we can turn your next review into a great one! :-)

Monique

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

The hotel itself was really good but the valet ran the wheel of my car into a gutter. I only noticed the damage to the alloy wheel 2 days after departing which is disappointing to know they did not own up to the incident. The hotel did not take responsibility for the incident when I rang to report the issue.
Disappointing to know my brand new car is not quite the same. Although only a small issue it would have been nice for them to own up and offer a solution.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Deano_Hamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear QT Sydney guest,

We appreciate your feedback and will take time to run through it with our team.

With warmest regards,

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Great location for shopping and close to entertainment and good restaurants.The beds are very comfortable and the decor is funky.The lighting in the bathrooms is pathetic even though another light has been installed and the shower has not got much power.The staff at the front desk are not friendly or interested and a smile !!! forget that.The valet parking is very expensive even for Sydney $69 a night also for more than $500 a night breakfast should have been included overall not value for money.We stay in Sydney one weekend each month, this was our first and last time at QT.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ratchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear QT Sydney guest,

We appreciate your feedback and will take time to run through it with our team.

With warmest regards,

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I had the pleasure to stay here and I just want to say, I have NEVER stayed anywhere in the world like this place.
As soon as we got out of the car at the front we were greeted with thank you I will take your keys and off he went.
Up the elevator to check in,easy easy easy , then to our room , OMG it was just out of this world.
I have nothing but good things to say about this place.
The bar was so full and livley with people. Its so central to everything in the city.
The rooms , well, you need to just go and stay there, they are just so funky.
I loved loved loved it, I`m just waiting for another excuse to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear past QT Sydney guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

I love this place and have stayed many times with my husband. We usually get the junior suite. The staff are great, but you really go for the quirky style and the fun of the place. It's centrally located do perfect for a fun night out. I love the fun mini bar items such as ginger ninja cookies and a game of pick up sticks. Always clean and the staff are always helpful.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Pixiesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear past QT Sydney guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Imagine walking into Aladdin’s Cave, except this time the magic lanterns are made out of bowler hats and instead of genies in bottles you have shakers to mix your own martinis. If you love cutting edge design coupled with cheeky touches, you’ll feel at home here. The Gowings Building rooms are bright and airy with eccentric touches. The dark stone bathrooms are accented by signature circular baths which make you feel like you’re in a magic teacup ride; and large separate showers with pin spot lighting giving off a sultry vibe, like you’re having an affair with your own partner.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexHarmon212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear past QT Sydney guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 178 in Sydney
1,879 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 178 in Sydney
1,313 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 178 in Sydney
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Sydney

Address: 49 Market Street | Corner of Market and George Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $202 - $536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an eye for modern design whilst reflective of past, the 200 guest suites that make up the QT Sydney hotel have been carefully crafted within the historic Gowings and State theatre buildings. This boutique Sydney accommodation retains many of the buildings most distinctive features, such as the blend of gothic, art deco, and Italian architecture that form the dazzling exterior of the building.With a contemporary and, at times, quirky design, all guestrooms feature creature comforts such as luxurious bedding, high-speed internet, walk-in showers and most guest suites also offer an indulgent oversized soaking tub.The lower levels of this truly designer Sydney Hotel, will retain a historical allure but be the home of Sydney’s hottest new bar Gilt Lounge and Robert Marchetti’s newest creation Gowings Bar & Grill.FEATURES200 designer guest roomsGowings Bar & GrillGilt LoungeParlour Lane RoastersspaQ – luxurious day spa, also open to the publicPrivate dining and events24-hour room service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your QT Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing