We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried to think of something not excellent but couldn't!”
Review of QT Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
QT Sydney
Ranked #13 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tried to think of something not excellent but couldn't!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed here last saturday night for one night in a twin room.
The welcome is amazing from the workers, they are beautifully dressed and very nice and fun.
They apologised we weren't on a higher floor, but we had a very nice room that was super quiet. No view but that was ok.
The room is breathtaking when you enter. stunning decor, and attention to detail is amazing. There was champagne on arrival for my mums birthday which was lovely. Every little touch is amazing. The bathroom is gorgeous, i wish there was time for a bath. Free movies and wifi is great also. The beds are super comfortable and squishy. Very relaxing and really just perfect.
The only issue is the toilet door is like a frosted glass which is kind of see through. Not great if you aren't with a partner. not sound proof either!
Other than that, amazing hotel. Didn't try any food unfortunately but will hopefully be back. The lifts are awesome too!! Recommend to anyone who can afford, quite pricey!

Room Tip: Become a loyalty reward member and receive discounts when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvwblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hi tvwblog.

Thanks for a great shout out. Love that you loved you stay and thanks also for the lovely notes on the staff and decor.

We would love to take car of you next time you are in town and hope you had a safe trip back to Brisvegas.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,314
    434
    138
    26
    20
See reviews for
135
956
112
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ballina, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This is the best hotel we have stayed in. A Hotel with a style of its own and a personality to match.

We were visiting for a special weekend away (my Sister-in-Law's 40th Birthday at the hotel) so we wanted something special. We booked their "QT Life" package which included a meal at the in house restaurant "Gowings" Bar and Grill.

So much detail to mention about this hotel - from the Quirky welcoming staff at the street entrance, to the music in the elevator (synced to the amount of people in the lift), to the funk styling and the laid back yet thorough service from the staff.

The rooms are sexy - Dark and inviting, gentle music playing when you enter, Cocktail ready to be mixed, beautiful mood lighting, amazing bathrooms and again quirky detail to discover throughout your stay.

This is the type of Hotel to be enjoyed - (if you are after just a room for the night - stay somewhere else) QT Sydney deserves your time and attention.

We'll def stay here again - This hotel is what Sydney has needed for a long time!

Room Tip: Every rooms is different here. Treat it as a lucky dip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hi Todd M,

'This is the type of Hotel to be enjoyed - (if you are after just a room for the night - stay somewhere else) QT Sydney deserves your time and attention.' Amazing! Absolutely love that. What more can you say?

Thanks so much for your review. It was an absolute delight for us to read.

Please come again!

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I wasn't sure if my husband would like the hotel or not but it ended up he loved it. Location to downtown was great. If you like to walk, you can have a great walk to the water and Harbor Bridge.

Dining downstair for breakfast was a fun experience and their restaurant upstairs is very busy for the business lunch crowd.

We would stay here again and highly recommend it. The only problem was our room wasn't made up when we got back from climbing the bridge at 4:00…ooppppps

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hi Diane S,

Thanks for a fab review and so sorry about the room not being made up! Not sure what went wrong with that one, so will chase up and make sure we are all over it in terms of timings next time you are in house with us. Hope the bridge climb was fun. I've never done that (a bit frightened!).

Hoping you are still on holidays, but if you aren't then hoping your trip back to DC was smooth sailing.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

From the moment you're greeted at the door, to when you first walk into your room. The small touches here and there are what make this place amazing. Iron hands holding placecards with your room number, red luxe sheepskin on the bedding, and even emergency bowties in the minibar! Made my business trip so enjoyable, I stayed in the room. Great service from Jessica and the crew.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank athandid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hi athandid,

Fab! Thanks for the short, sharp, and sweet shout out. We would love to take care of you again. The team says hi!

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very quirky. The rooms are decorated in unique ways which does have some appeal - they certainly have character!

The rooms themselves are clean, comfortable and have what you need. I have stayed 3 times now, and each time my room had a separate deep bath from the shower. On this last visit, I overlooked the old town hall when sitting in the bath, which was a good view. Other times I haven't really had a good view.

I actually like the music in the elevators - I think the tunes vary depending on the number of people in the elevator.

The bar is a nice place. Although trendy, I have always found it has a good mix of clientele and a good atmosphere.

I have never eaten here so cannot comment on breakfast or dinner (the restaurant next to the bar always seems fairly busy for dinner which would suggest it is good).

One downside is that I have never had a clean check-in experience in the 3 times I have stayed. I tend to fly in early in the morning and check-in to shower and change clothes prior to going to the office. I pay for the night before as the hotel suggests. Howevet, each time I arrive I am told told I am a "no-show" from the previous day and then there is always a scramble (and frustrating wait) to find a room.

The hotel is very centrally located.

In summary I would say this is a great choice to stay as a couple. I have always stayed on business visits and it never feels quite right!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hi Firsttimetosharm,

Thanks so much for your review. Sounds like we are having a great time taking care of you, and a terrible time getting the administration of your stay right!

Could you please contact me on sas_lyon@ahl.com.au so I can make sure that any re - registered charges have be credited to your account. What you need to do when booking to make sure that this does not happen is to put a note in at the time of booking, or give the hotel a buzz on 0282620000 to let them know that you are preregistering. So sorry that we are still managing to get it wrong after three attempts. Promise we will work on it.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel is right in the middle of city centre with all the shopping areas right next door. You can also take a morning stroll or run in the park which is few minutes away. The surprise starts with the greeting at the entrance as you would not know what you would be expecting as the entrance could be deceiving. Once you got onto the lobby floor and the rooms then you would find all the interesting elements. Apparently each floor has a very different theme while the floor I stated at was very Moulin Rouge. You have to try the bar which is one of the hippest in town, and the Spa - exceptionally good!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertal34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hi Robertal34,

Thanks so much for a lovely review. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks also for the lovely notes on the bar and spaQ. They really are wonderful spots to unwind and relax.

We hope to see you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the QT for our wedding anniversary and it certainly made the occasion a memorable one. The lobby is impressive, our huge room was beautiful with an amazing bathroom and nice outlook. The staff were very helpful and friendly, breakfast at Gowings was delicious and the location is perfect. Will definitely return any more times!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JubB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hi Justine B,

Happy wedding anniversary! Maybe we can make it a yearly date?

Our QT Canberra opens in April. Very exciting. If you're a fan of the brand you should check it out.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 179 in Sydney
1,758 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 179 in Sydney
1,758 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Sydney

Property: QT Sydney
Address: 49 Market Street | Corner of Market and George Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an eye for modern design whilst reflective of past, the 200 guest suites that make up the QT Sydney hotel have been carefully crafted within the historic Gowings and State theatre buildings. This boutique Sydney accommodation retains many of the buildings most distinctive features, such as the blend of gothic, art deco, and Italian architecture that form the dazzling exterior of the building.With a contemporary and, at times, quirky design, all guestrooms feature creature comforts such as luxurious bedding, high-speed internet, walk-in showers and most guest suites also offer an indulgent oversized soaking tub.The lower levels of this truly designer Sydney Hotel, will retain a historical allure but be the home of Sydney’s hottest new bar Gilt Lounge and Robert Marchetti’s newest creation Gowings Bar & Grill.FEATURES200 designer guest roomsGowings Bar & GrillGilt LoungeParlour Lane RoastersspaQ – luxurious day spa, also open to the publicPrivate dining and events24-hour room service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your QT Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing