We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky, great for a short stay”
Review of QT Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
QT Sydney
Ranked #13 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Funky, great for a short stay”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I recently stayed seven nights at this very hip hotel for work. My first impression of this hotel is that it is very glam and glitzy, with funky touches here and there. I loved the social areas - cafe on the ground floor, main restaurant and bar, lobby area etc. The hotel deisgner has gone to great lengths to create a look and feel that is very different to anything seen in Australia which is great. About time actually. This hotel would not look out of place in New York! I have stayed at the other QT properties and this one is on a whole different level. I guess because they are trying to inject some of the local area into each property which gives each a clear distinction.

Staff are good apart from my first encouter with reception - the person who checked me in really shouldn't be working front of house. But apart from that i found the staff to be great! Now onto my room...

I must say I was not a fan of my room. While funky and at a high standard, having everything red does not make for a great experience. My two side table lamps were red, I had red curtains, red bedhead, red lambswool thing thrown across the bed, very dark furnishings including carpet. MY friend who visted the room commented that it could be used as a set for brothels room. Bathroom was nice with a lovely bath, but everything is brown and the lighting is terrible so it was really hard to see what I was doing each morning in the makeup department. A big plus is that the bed is fantastic, and there was a great TV selection! I would like to point out that I had five other work colleagues staying at the same hotel and there rooms were lovely, bright and had completely different colour schemes.

Overall this hotel is a great hotel and QT are doing great things, but my tip would be to book this hotel for pleasure and not business. If you're used to a business hotel, I don't think you will be happy with this...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi SallBell,

Thanks so much for your review. Sounds like it was a great experience apart from a couple of aesthetic taste differences in what you love, and the decor.

Each side of the property has a different decor, so you may wish to stay on the State Theatre side next time which has a more muted decor.

We would love to take care of you again next time you are in Sydney for pleasure.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,300
    428
    138
    26
    20
See reviews for
132
949
109
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I checked in tonight for a 3 night stay in a Deluxe King. Despite my request for a quiet room, I was put on the 2nd floor. The road noise at 11.30pm is still unbearable, plus music and noise from people walking upstairs.

When I checked in, I asked the staff if I could stay in a higher floor and she assured me the hotel is triple glazed and ultra quiet. Not true!!!!

Nice decor but I am here on business and just want a good night sleep in a quiet room.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzBusinesschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi OzBusinessChick,

Thanks for letting us know about your stay. Not a common complaint, so will have to look into the second floor to see if we can find the source of the issue.

Thanks kindly,

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed here in October and it's a refreshing atmosphere not typical of the "usual" fare. Rooms are big and slightly quirky which adds to its appeal. In room Nespresso machine lends a nice touch. Wifi is smooth. The shower unit is fantastic. There's a tad of the "Addams Family" ambience about it. Porters are really helpful. Check-in and check-out seamless. Location is 3 minutes walk from St James Station and right on doorsteps of David Jones and Myers stores.
One thing they could think about is range of cable TV choices which appears quite limited. Overall, a very good experience staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi GrahC,

Thanks for an awesome review. You loved it! We really are right in the thick of everything and the hotel does offer a unique solution for the design loving guest.

We would love to see you again next time you are in town.

Sas
QT

PS Duly noted on the extra channels. Will check it out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
269 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is my second time at QT and would come back again. The hotel is in a great location in the heart of the Sydney CBD so there isn't really anywhere that is too far to walk, and although the hotel may look 'too cool' to be comfortable, the rooms are well appointed and more importantly have a great shower and really comfortable beds. I have stayed in two different parts of the hotel and haven't heard any noise at night. The only caveat would be that they are perfect for one person if you are travelling by yourself, but if there are two of you, it would be a little cramped. Definitely try out Gowings for dinner during your stay.

Room Tip: A higher floor room is easier to get in and out of the hotel. The first time, I found myself going t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Welcome back Caroline 397,

Thank you so much for such a gorgeous review. Also really wonderful to see that you are a returning guests and loved your stay this time as much as your last.

Thank you also for the lovely notes on the rooms. We are so glad that you loved it.

Hope to see you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Our only disappointment was we couldn't get in to the Gowings Bar & Grill - but then again it was a late decision to try.

This is the upmarket funky choice within the Rydges group of hotels. Everything is stylish and just a little but different. For someone who stays in hotels on almost a weekly basis I find the QT Sydney (and the QT Gold Coast) to be hotels I remember.

The in-room Nespresso machine is always appreciated and the Coffee martini is great.

Be aware that at night there are very little food choices in that part of the city if you just want a quick bite or takeaway. Room Menu choices are limited (and like most hotels over priced) but I can put up with that.

Try the QT for a hotel you will remember.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hey Glen K,

Thanks for an awesome frequent traveller couples review! Such a bummer that you were not able to try Gowings Bar and Grill. That place is packed every night! Hope you get to experience it next time you are with us at the property.

We hope to see you next time you are in town.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have stayed twice now at QT in Sydney. Wow, what a fresh addition to the accommodation scene in Sydney. Love the décor, unusual but very effective. All round a top spot right in the city.
The onsite restaurant is bustling, very good menu and top food to match the extensive wine list. You could not be disappointed here.

Room Tip: I don't know there would be a bad room in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi Harry B,

That is an awesome, awesome review Harry! You love us! Thanks for coming back twice and we hope the third time is just as well received.

Thanks also for the lovely notes on Gowings Bar and Grill and the hotel decor.

See you again soonest!
Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Creek, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I came away from staying at Qt Sydney saying woow... It's the little touches that make the big difference. My room had all the ingredients to make an espresso martini, now that's cool.
The deco is quirky and comfortable. The staff are attentive. I would highly recommend QT if you are looking for some different. Great location too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Such a lovely review Jo P. Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know that you really enjoyed your stay with us.

Sounds like you are a QT person and I bet we will see you again!

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 178 in Sydney
1,655 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Langham, Sydney
#7 of 178 in Sydney
1,726 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 178 in Sydney
4,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Sydney

Property: QT Sydney
Address: 49 Market Street | Corner of Market and George Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an eye for modern design whilst reflective of past, the 200 guest suites that make up the QT Sydney hotel have been carefully crafted within the historic Gowings and State theatre buildings. This boutique Sydney accommodation retains many of the buildings most distinctive features, such as the blend of gothic, art deco, and Italian architecture that form the dazzling exterior of the building.With a contemporary and, at times, quirky design, all guestrooms feature creature comforts such as luxurious bedding, high-speed internet, walk-in showers and most guest suites also offer an indulgent oversized soaking tub.The lower levels of this truly designer Sydney Hotel, will retain a historical allure but be the home of Sydney’s hottest new bar Gilt Lounge and Robert Marchetti’s newest creation Gowings Bar & Grill.FEATURES200 designer guest roomsGowings Bar & GrillGilt LoungeParlour Lane RoastersspaQ – luxurious day spa, also open to the publicPrivate dining and events24-hour room service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your QT Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing