We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Only thing missing is a bidet....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of QT Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
QT Sydney
Ranked #12 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
140 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Only thing missing is a bidet....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

But that's just my own quirky needs....

I had a fantastic stay at QT Sydney for a special occassion. I booked a package 2 nights which came with a choice of breakfast for each morning, a spa treatment for two or a dinner for two at the Gowings Bar & Grill. I picked the latter and got 3 courses each plus 2 sides as part of the deal. Great value!

Can't fault any of it! The hotel has a lot for the eye to be entertained. Very stylish and a little bit hip. The Parlour Lane coffee shop at the bottom was the same - great service and food.

The room was a little small, but that is not a complaint at all. It was stylish and had everything we needed. My only question was about the bedside clock. It didn't seem to belong in the room's decor. But again, not a complaint at all. The free Wifi and free movies on demand we had was also a plus!

To sum up, despite the lack of a bidet (again, my quirk only!) it was a great stay! Thoroughly recommend it, and the package deal. A great value!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeParam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hi GeorgeParam,

Thanks so much for your great notes. Yes - the bidet is def your own quirk lol. Glad that you are out and proud about it though!

We would love to see you next time you are looking for a cheeky getaway.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,163
    364
    121
    22
    19
See reviews for
117
846
98
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

As soon as you approach the entrance you know that this hotel is going to be a different experience to all the other hotels in the city. A feeling of fun + excitement.
This place is amazing! Great design, styling + top job on utilizing heritage architecture of the old Gowings building + the State Theatre. The room was luxurious and a great space to be in.

From check in to check out I had nothing but 5 star quality service from the bell boys, front desk and room service, especially from front office manger 'Adam'.

QT Sydney will be the only hotel I will stay at in Sydney from now on. Best experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BryceJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hi BryceJR,

Yay! Brilliant review. Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know that you loved your stay and we are so happy that everything from the design to the service were perfect for you!

We hope to see you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

How can you not love this place. After being a little bored of the same old 90's hotel decor that nearly all hotels seem to offer these days, it's refreshing to see someone standing out from the crowd and doing it in style.

It is very funky and stylish, a bit like stepping into your own boudoir, and that's what we love about it. If I wanted plain jane I'd stay at home. From the femme fatale with a red bob and a matrix style coat taking my bags at the door, to the espresso martini setup to greet me in the room, this place was hard to fault.

If you're comparing it to the regular hotel, the beds are like lying on massive pillows, the movies are free and the breakfast in the hotel is one of the best in town AND serves organic and farm friendly produce. Hard to beat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear gorgeous QT Sydney guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Once we stepped out of the elevator into the reception, there was an immediate "wow" factor. The decor is what I would call different but very stylish. This carries on throughout the hotel and we loved the amount of detail which includes what looked like collections from the old Gowings building and the State Theatre. The service was excellent. Both a smooth and friendly check in and check out.
We had chosen a junior suite and the room was amazing with the theme and the interesting small touches continuing. The top hat light beside the bed and the little hand holding a mirror in the bathroom was really quirky and a small table with cocktail, glasses, shaker and miniature spirits just makes you want to mix up a drink. Our bathroom has a full size freestanding bath and large shower. The whole atmosphere was relaxing.
We had seen this hotel advertised and were eager to try it out even though we live in Sydney and were more than impressed. We had a drink at the bar and although expensive, the service was good. The restaurant looked well worth trying on another visit.
If you are looking for a treat and something a bit different - this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JXXK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear gorgeous QT Sydney guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

A great stay for a cheeky weekend (yes, that means don't take the kids!) in the city. The rooms have been cleverly designed with all the latest mod-cons and a few little exciting surprises. The Gowings Bar & Grill located within the hotel is a fantastic modern brasserie - highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear gorgeous QT Sydney guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have stayed in most of the 5* hotels in Sydney CBD, so we wanted to try something different.
Well, different it was. The reception area is like no other I have EVER seen! My mind was wondering about what the rooms would be like! When we got to our room, we were greeted with a bright red sheepskin rug on our bed! It certainly gave the room a very raunchy feel, with the addition of soft lighting and dark walls.
The bathroom was very unusual, the shower was open and the bathtub which was shown on the net, was a lot smaller than it looked( only big enough for 1).The lighting in the bathroom is very bad for applying make-up. No close up mirror, just the main vanity one that you have to lean towards to be useful.
The Gowings restaurant was such a 'happening' place. The bar area was so full of activity, it looked so inviting. The restaurant was busy,the meals were lovely. Breakfast was good too, but no buffet, like the other 5*, which is a little disappointing, and not included in pricing.
We would recommend the other 5* hotels in the CBD for value for money, they have some great packages. QT, just seems a little too pricey, with very little value for money.
Valet($69!!!) is you getting out of your car kerbside on market street, fearing for your life that you wont be knocked over by passing traffic!! if you blink, you'll miss it, so be very careful of where it is(just look for the girl in the bright red wig).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank connie567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear QT Sydney guest,

We appreciate your feedback and will take time to run through it with our team.

With warmest regards,

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hard to decide what to make of this hotel. I only stayed one night so it may not be fair to judge on a short experience. I had heard a lot of the place and grabbed a chance to stay there even if was short. It's very high style and may not be to everyone's taste. Described by other reviewers as funky, perhaps I'd call it bordello meets Philippe Starck. Lots of black walls, black hands sticking out of the wall holding the room number, video art, more black and bright red in the rooms-it presented a strong point of view and elicits strong opinions as to whether you're going to like it or not. I liked the door greeters, they were very good looking tall girls with bright red wigs, not your usual uniformed doormen. The hotel was well run and the staff were friendly. The restaurant was good even though I only ate breakfast there but could tell that the food standard was high. On balance, I'd recommend the QT for those who are more adventurous and want a different kind of hotel experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear gorgeous QT Sydney guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,059 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#27 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Sydney

Property: QT Sydney
Address: 49 Market Street | Corner of Market and George Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an eye for modern design whilst reflective of past, the 200 guest suites that make up the QT Sydney hotel have been carefully crafted within the historic Gowings and State theatre buildings. This boutique Sydney accommodation retains many of the buildings most distinctive features, such as the blend of gothic, art deco, and Italian architecture that form the dazzling exterior of the building.With a contemporary and, at times, quirky design, all guestrooms feature creature comforts such as luxurious bedding, high-speed internet, walk-in showers and most guest suites also offer an indulgent oversized soaking tub.The lower levels of this truly designer Sydney Hotel, will retain a historical allure but be the home of Sydney’s hottest new bar Gilt Lounge and Robert Marchetti’s newest creation Gowings Bar & Grill.FEATURES200 designer guest roomsGowings Bar & GrillGilt LoungeParlour Lane RoastersspaQ – luxurious day spa, also open to the publicPrivate dining and events24-hour room service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your QT Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing