We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sexy, classy, stylish, and still comfortable”
Review of QT Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
QT Sydney
Ranked #13 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
2 reviews
“Sexy, classy, stylish, and still comfortable”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I walked into the QT to plan a surprise anniversary holiday for my wife, and was greeted by the friendliest man James T. He was so genuine, and took me on a tour of the entire hotel, helping me arrange what was soon to be the most pleasant and exciting few days away. The room was absolutely breath taking. So much attention to detail! We didn't want to leave! Thank you James! And thank you QT. I can't wait for any excuse to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saphandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear gorgeous QT Sydney guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,300
    426
    137
    26
    20
See reviews for
131
947
109
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I use to do business with the Gowings Bros store, so it was a unique experience to revisit that space in its new format. The hotel lobby, cafe & room offered a quirky point of difference which is a must to experience. The service at the bar did not stack up to the rest of the venue thus the reason for my rating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear QT Sydney guest,

We appreciate your feedback and will take time to run through it with our team.

With warmest regards,

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at the QT Sydney on our wedding night, and not only were we blown away by the suite, we loved how polite, friendly and helpful every single QT employee was...and the very thoughtful touch of leaving a congratulations note and bottle of bubbles in our suite in anticipation of our arrival after the wedding. We also loved the fact that we could bring a posse of wedding guests back to the hotel to continue the celebrations post wedding at the various bars at the hotel. Not a single thing we would have changed about our stay and we're already plotting our next stay...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juniorberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear gorgeous QT Sydney guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Had a great room (907) that was fairly large, had a bath and shower. Big bed a little too soft for my liking but comfortable nonetheless. Air conditioning in room only goes down to 20 degrees whereas I'd prefer a little colder to snuggle up in bed. Free in house movies but only a limited range. Decor in the rooms and throughout the hotel is quirky and fun. Staff are very friendly. Had breakfast in the ground floor cafe which was great. Would consider it again (my usual place is Westin, which is more corporate and standard).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelaussiefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear travelaussiefamily,

Thank you for a lovely review of the hotel. Parlous Lane Roasters has such a great menu don't they? It's so fun to people watch when you sit having a coffee and some breakfast.

Thanks also for the beautiful note on the staff. We just love them to bits.

Happy travels to you

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Every feature of the hotel, from lifts, reception, bar, room door, room, bathroom, spa etc was met with a "Wow". The decor is an eclectic mix of old and new and works really well.
We enjoyed a Junior Suite on Gowings side and it was very spacious, decor very funky yet practical, clean, clever and just amazing. The bed was like floating on clouds. Staff were very friendly and plentiful.
Gowings Bar was very funky too but we missed out on dinner and only had breakfast (bit too fancy for my liking).
The Spa was like nothing I've ever experienced. The attention to detail and staff experience & professionalism (especially Lilly) was the best I've ever had.
This is now our favourite Sydney hotel and will be bringing kids back next time.
Highly reccomended especially for hens weekends, couples & groups who want their own rooms but happy to socialise within the hotel/CBD.

Room Tip: Junior Suite had an abundance of space but friends in Deluxe King were also impressed with their roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ubu76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear gorgeous QT Sydney guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
1,025 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 628 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Wow is what you will say when you walk into your room. The fittout of the old Gowers building is excellent. The rooms are bathed in great lighting quality fitting and that special funkyness with lots of little touches and atmosphere that many boring old hotels dont have. The Bar and Grill on level 1 is superb. I had NZ line caught John Dory with butter sauce, wow what a beautiful meal.
The staff wear sexy uniforms and all very professional and helpfull. Prices are good for a CBD hotel.
Overall i could not recommend this hotel more, one of the best.
My only complaint is no balconies ,so if you want to smoke you got to go and hang out in the alley downstairs. Did me a favor not smoking anyway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear gorgeous QT Sydney guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

It's quite surreal entering the QT for the first time, the lighting is very muted and the furnishings are deorations are quirky and most unlike the usual hotel decor. It successfully creates the impression of glamour and you feel that you're in for a treat. The staff were all smiling and helpful and the room was very comfortable and quiet.
Dinner at Gowings was supurb and it is definielty the best breakfast option I've had at a large hotel. I don't go to Sydney much but for me the location was great - very close to shopping and an easy walk to either Hyde Park or Cockle Bay Wharf.
My only negative would be the lighting in the bathroom, which is either almost non exisitent or so bright it reflects off the mirros and hence it is really difficult for applying makeup.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAV68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear gorgeous QT Sydney guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 177 in Sydney
1,649 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 177 in Sydney
1,725 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 177 in Sydney
4,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Sydney

Property: QT Sydney
Address: 49 Market Street | Corner of Market and George Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an eye for modern design whilst reflective of past, the 200 guest suites that make up the QT Sydney hotel have been carefully crafted within the historic Gowings and State theatre buildings. This boutique Sydney accommodation retains many of the buildings most distinctive features, such as the blend of gothic, art deco, and Italian architecture that form the dazzling exterior of the building.With a contemporary and, at times, quirky design, all guestrooms feature creature comforts such as luxurious bedding, high-speed internet, walk-in showers and most guest suites also offer an indulgent oversized soaking tub.The lower levels of this truly designer Sydney Hotel, will retain a historical allure but be the home of Sydney’s hottest new bar Gilt Lounge and Robert Marchetti’s newest creation Gowings Bar & Grill.FEATURES200 designer guest roomsGowings Bar & GrillGilt LoungeParlour Lane RoastersspaQ – luxurious day spa, also open to the publicPrivate dining and events24-hour room service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your QT Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing