We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
QT Sydney
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Sydney(Sydney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney(Sydney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Reviews (2,174)
Filter reviews
2,174 results
Traveler rating
1,485
481
152
32
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,485
481
152
32
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgowings bar and grillgowings buildingstate theatreespresso martiniparlour laneelevator musicbow tiefree moviesquirky hotelfun hotelmarket stdeluxe kingguest loungenespresso machinedoor staffcorner suitemini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,027 - 2,032 of 2,174 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2013

What a wonderful change from the typical, sometimes clinical 5 star hotels.A fantastic new hotel for Sydney.
This place is a collectors haven - a museum in itself! Every nook and cranny is home to an interesting find.
Treasures abound everywhere and could be reminiscent of the items you once played with or used as a kid, ( eg the old Globite school case!) or a collection of Grandma and Grandpa's cast-offs, items from your local street cleanup, garage sale or even an up - market antique store! No doubt all treasures carefully arranged under the watchful eye of a well trained interior designer.
Greeted by the theatrically dressed "Director of Chaos" (Concierge) we caught the lift up to the foyer which housed more treasures and large comfy sofas, to the spacious and superbly decorated room, comfy beds, spacious and sleek modern bathroom with a separate shower and bath. Exactly as shown on the website for the deluxe king / twin room.

Located in the old Gowings building, next to State Theater, which makes it as central to town as one could get - close to the Tower, Shops and Westfields. Rocks area and the MCA a short walk away.
The hotel renovation is sympathetic with the old Sydney landmark and maintains many features of the original building - wooden floorboards, high ceilings, old signs etc.
Check in was smooth and staff friendly and professional. Breakfast is chosen from an Al-a-carte menu and was a treat of organic produce cleverly designed, prepared and presented. No boring buffets here!
It is common knowledge that Sydney hotel prices are high compared to other cities in the world, however you do get what you pay for! We had a fantastic family stay here and agreed it was a treat. Do yourself a favor, treat yourself on a special occasion, or enjoy some family time in a great city!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmumSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear travelmumSydney,

Whopeeee! Another 5 star review from a Senior Contributor. You do travel a lot. I want to swap lives. Just kidding - I love my life, but I would really, really love to have travelled to all of the places you have been over the last three years. London, and Paris, and VIetnam - Oh My!

I digress. Fantastic review. Gorgeous description of the decor. Awesome feedback on the dining options.

Please come back. We miss you.
Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is a new hotel with a great sense of history and fun. It is a complete renovation on the site of the old Gowings department store. The renovation is a mix of quirky, retro, goth and modern influence but it works beautifully. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and the beds are both generous and extremely comfortable. Given its newly established status it is still working through some minor teething issues (a leak, broken tap and baggage handling issues) but these were only minor distractions from the very positive overall experience. If you are looking for something different for a stay in the centre of Sydney this is well worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear GregC,

Thank you for a wonderful review of our property. It is fantastic to hear that you loved the decor and amenities, and that we delivered on our designer promise.

Thanks also for being understanding regarding the hiccups with the tap and baggage. We are working on getting everything right 100% of the time, but it does take time as you mentioned.

We would love to take care of you again, and promise no more leaky taps!

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the QT Hotel just after New Year and had a great time. The staff are fantastic and the rooms were amazing, large comfortable bed in the middle of the room with a huge bathroom with a slipper bath. Would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants something a bit different for their stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayter68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear hayter68,

Thanks so much for a beautiful review. It must have been so awesome to be in the middle of the city over New Years! Very exciting and the hotel was abuzz with colourful characters!

We would love to tae care of you again when you are next in town.

Yay!
Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night on 21 Dec before boarding our cruise ship. When we arrived we found the hotel gated off from the road as we found out later it was the Les Miserable premiere right next door. So we lugged our 5 suitcases (yes I did need all those clothes for the cruise) from across the road where our taxi dropped us in horrid pre-Christmas foot traffic. Once the door man saw us he grabbed everything from us and in a second all our worries were gone.

Check-in was a breeze and once we took to the 'personalized' musical lifts we went up to enjoy our AMAZING room. Wow doesn't quite cover it. Spacious, beautiful furnishings, brilliant colour scheme coupled with the 5 star bathroom we were in heaven.

We checked out Sydney for the remainder of the afternoon and on arriving back near the hotel we were told by security that we couldn't walk that way. 'How am I going to get back to my hotel' I asked, oh right this way Ma'am. Phew. Well once we were in the cordoned off area, we looked like celebrities with everyone waiting on the fences with cameras in hand ready to take a snap of Hugh and Russell. Nice bonus QT!

Only small complaint was being woken by the garbage truck, which seemed like they were emptying a million dumpsters, but once they were gone I snuggled straight back in to the plush bed and right back to sleep.

Checkout too was brilliant as well as the excellent staff who found us a taxi and loaded it all up, they definitely earnt their tip.

I cannot rave enough about our stay, we LOVED the hotel only didn't have enough time to enjoy the spa or bar, but that leaves something for next time :). Would not stay anywhere else in Sydney again, see you soon QT. Oh, and a QT in Melbourne as well may be food for thought....

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotelle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Hotelle11,

Now that is almost a perfect review! Everything from the staff, to the rooms, to the celeb spotting! QT really turned on the old Hollywood charm for your visit with us.

The pesky garbage trucks! So sorry that you were woken up. I am so relieved that you were able to go back to sleep right away and enjoy your stay.

We hope that next time you come to the hotel you get to check out spaQ and the bar. They are just as you would imagine - awesome!

PS - Melbourne might not be that far away!

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We booked the QTSydney for a 3 night stay over NYE 2012 to celebrate a 50th birthday. From the time we were met by the Door staff with black uniforms and flaming red hair through to the foyer with its quirky Alice in Wonderland decor and our room which was warmly welcoming and a delight.

The staff were always more than polite and professional. The rooms was large enough to accommodate us comfortably. The bright and vibrant colors combined with the subtle original tones of the building were a mismatch that absolutely worked a treat.

The bed was king size and comfortable with spotless linen and comfortable pillows. The room was clean and the bathroom was well equipped. The toiletries were high quality. Robes and hairdryer included.

Room service was prompt and delicious.

My husband indulged in a "Mr Bond" shaving experience in The Barber @ QT. Now he is convinced he is a convert to barber services.

Upon striking a small problem the Concierges, David and Stella addressed this immediately and we couldn't have asked for more professional and exceptional service from these management members. They absolutely made our stay a most wonderful memory and experience.

Would definitely stay again, no question.

Room Tip: Our room 1702 was very quiet. No street or guest noise.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robandshelley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear robandshelley01,

You guys sound absolutely delightful! A real QT couple! Thanks for the lovely notes on the decor and staff. We are blessed with staff that are just the most amazing team (we thank our lucky hiring stars every day!).

A 50th and New Years! Now that is what I call reason to celebrate, and we are very happy that you did it in style with us.

We hope to see you again sonnest.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews