We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gorgeous hotel and something a little different”
Review of QT Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
QT Sydney
Ranked #13 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A gorgeous hotel and something a little different”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Cool, Funky, trendy, Fabulous, Camp are all words that come to mind when describing QT. We stayed there last night and this hotel is simply gorgeous. I'd describe the colourful decor as a mix of Art Deco and modern funk. Staff were exceptional from the front door to the reception and room service. The room was beautiful and the best exceptionally comfortable. A great size bathroom Whilst the bath is a little small the shower is great. The room is beautifully decorated and the large screen TV and nespresso machine a real plus. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to friends. A great place to take someone for that romantic night or a special occasion

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nardcornish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear nardcornish,

Judging by your profile pic you are gorgeous and a little bit different too, so perhaps it is a match made in designer heaven!

Thank you for the great notes on the decor and staff. Every review on here lets us know that we have really hit the mark for designer hotel lovers, and lovers of something a lil fresh and spesh!

Big love
Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,313
    431
    138
    26
    20
See reviews for
135
955
111
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Checked into QT hotel for 1 night only in January (Sydney Festival opening night). After reading the reviews and checking out the website I expected to be greeted and escorted to reception by a bunch of friendly staff. If that's what you're expecting forget it. We arrived in afternoon so the door was vacant. Found our way up to reception; straightforward check-in although a smile would have been nice. Our room certainly made up for everything though, exactly as we anticipated. Great king size bed although (tip for management) the mattress was a bit saggy and annoying squeak present. Would have been so easy to spend our night in the room. We'd booked for Gowing's Bar & Grill but decided to cancel and eat local due to the menu being very meat heavy (yes I know it's a grill). Sadly on exiting the hotel reality bites. Let's face it ~ George Street is not a pretty place to be on a night time. So value for menu? It's a great hotel, the design team have worked miracles but to be honest it's very overpriced. Sydney definitely needs the quirky; just sad that it comes with a hefty price tag.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarperTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear MamaMoJo,

Thanks for letting us know the ins and outs of your stay with us. Sounds to me like you loved the decor, would have traded a bit of location for a bit of quiet, and felt like we needed to step it up on terms of flashing our pearly whites to make you feel welcome.

I am hearing you on all counts, and we will get onto this straight away! We are stuck with the central CBD location, but we can smile!

Thanks again for loving the rooms, and letting us know.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

On arriving at QT Sydney for NYE the staff quickly took our bag and organised parking for the night at what is a rather hefty $69.00 although the convenience was well worth it. We were then ushered to the lift and told to make our way to Level 1 for check in. From the moment you walk through the foyer, into the lift and out to the reception area the place has certainly been wonderfully done in a New York (I would say 60's) style that is in keeping with the era in yet ultra fresh and modern. We unfortunately were then checked in by a staff member that really made me wonder if we were not better off in the cheaper Rydges World Square. She checked us in but to be honest that was about it, no smile and certainly no going out of her way in any way whatsoever. After making our way to our room on the State Theatre side and calming down I can only say the room was something else again (WOW factor plus). The king bed was amazing to simply lie on, let alone sleep in and top marks have to be given in this regard. We then had a drink in the Gilt lounge before having dinner at Gowings Bar & Grill. Both were beautifully appointed and the wine was excellent. After being seated we did wait some 20 minutes to be waited on which we all thought was somewhat odd at a restaurant with prices at the upper scale of acceptable and the food overall was very good. Apart from the one person at check in we found all staff to be friendly and would go out of their way to help. In this case I am glad that first impressions did not last. This is an amazing place that breaks from the tradition of your standard and boring hotel and I would be more than happy to return in future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemountainkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear bluemountainkiwi,

What a fair and well rounded review. After being the unfortunate ones subjected to a rare case of poor service by our usually magnificent front office team (many apologies) you allowed us to swing it around and ended up being immersed in the designer decadence that is QT.

Thank you for being so great about it, we really appreciate it.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Booked this for NYE and even with Sydney's inflated prices over this period, I was not disappointed!

The hotel is refreshing in it's style and service. No more bland, worn and uninspired rooms which the huge chains sell.

The rooms were lovely with a magnificent bed which meant a guaranteed great nights sleep. The bathroom and bedroom were both large for a city hotel and bathroom had a huge walk in shower and freestanding bath.

The attention to detail was great with lovely bathrobes (no toweling in sight!) and a nespresso machine.

The staff were friendly, extremely helpful and seemed genuinely enthusiastic.

A couple of minor negatives.
- the rooms are very dark and this is very thematic of the hotel. Loved it but like others it would be nice to have the option of a stronger light in the bathroom for makeup application :)
- there is an abundance of "product" in the room and it can be confusing as to what is usable and what you need to pay for. Ie the eyemask by your bed, if you look up the "menu", it will cost you $9. clearer labeling would be useful.
- the reception staff should explain money will be removed from your credit card on check in. Most hotels take an imprint but no money. This one appears to remove and refund. Not a problem but please make clear.

None of these are deal breakers just personal preferences.

Would I stay again? I would move in if I could!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cailea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear cailea,

That is a really fun review! I would move in too. How awesome is the hotel. Sometimes when I get to just sit and check it all on in the lobby I wonder how all that stuff got ut together to make such a spectacular space! That is why people like me leave it to the experts!

Thanks for the lovely remarks on the bed and decor and general hotel spaces. We will take all of your points under advisement and check out what we can do to make it work.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

It was our 40 th wedding anniversary.
We had dined several times at the Gowings Bar and Grill and loved the whole deal;
the welcome;
the staff;
the service;
the food;
the wine list;
the quality of the food
the waiters attire WOW!!!!
Sooooooo I thought why not reserve a 4 day stay at the QT hotel.
We arrived to be welcomed by a a cool hip groovy friendly young lady I wish I had her name!
we took the retro lift to level 1 to check in that took 5 minutes ! the lift sang us a song "the two of us" Ha! Ha! We went to our room WHAT A ROOM !! I have travelled the worlds major cities and this beats them all for decor that is WOW out of this world groovy hip exciting AND there it was champagne in an ice bucket with 2 cold glasses ready for us with a beautiful card from David the Concierge THANK YOU so MUCH!! The in room movies all of them were free! the mini bar had excellent drinks at really reasonable prices! the Nespresso free unlimited! the wifi free! We had the best time ! the bathroom is an artwork! You really have to experience this! just do it! BTW the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in line sleeping in a cloud! THANK YOU QT

Room Tip: I would say all the rooms a re good we were in 912 and it was peaceful and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leonard4979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear leonard4979,

Yayyyyyy! You loved us! A Gowings Bar and Grill lover converted to a QT Sydney lover. How romantic!

Sounds like you guys really dove head first into everything that we have to offer at the hotel, from the food, to the wine, to the staff, to the bubbles!

You sound right up our alley and we hope that we become your new howe away from home.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed here for a Saturday night in the city. Staff pleasant and helpful whilst the rooms were comfortable with the decor best described as eclectic. The retaurant "Gowings Bar & Grill " was disappointing and the coffee shop on street level plays music at a volume that inhibits conversation. Being inner city there are no views and valet parking at $65.00 is expensive.
This hotel would be ok for someone wishing to stay in the CBD but otherwise despite its quirkiness I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masonnsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear masonnsw,

Thanks so much for your review. Sometimes it is hard to see how one review fits in with the one before it. It makes me feel like reviewers are talking about two different hotels!

It is always wonderful to have light and shade in reviews, so we thank you for letting us know how you felt about your stay. It definitely is not the norm, however we know that we cannot have great reviews all of the time!

Thanks again.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Being a Sydney-sider, I was looking for somewhere fun and different to book for my wedding anniversary weekend. After spending hours searching on the net, reading reviews, I decided to give the new and funky QT a go.

Their website is great - you can actually see what your room will look like! Something many other Sydney hotels could learn from. And we were not disappointed. On the day of our arrival I called to see what time we could check in - to my excitement we could check in EARLY - I mean like midday as our room was already ready!

We joined the QT club (free) and were given an awesome sized room (I mean HUGE) overlooking George street and up to the Town Hall building - nice view for a city hotel. We had a King room with all the bells and whistles you would expect from a new hotel - the decor in the rooms is so fun and quirky. The bathroom was to die for - something else that I discovered was lacking in other hotels.

We also paid for valet parking ($60/night), which if you are a local having a weekend in the city I would fully recommend as Market Street is very busy. All we did was pull up and there were people there to take care of us.

As they knew it was our anniversary they had left a lovely bottle of complimentary champagne for us to enjoy - what a great way to start a stay.

All the staff were very professional and very friendly, making you feel special and at ease - no pretentiousness here - just helpful and happy staff. Another advantage of the QT club was the late checkout 1pm - fully recommend that!

The decor is what makes this place so special - Art Deco to the hilt! The old Gowings building has been totally transformed to make some very special rooms and common areas in the hotel. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to enjoy their stay in Sydney, whether a local or tourist, you'll love it!

Room Tip: Join the QT club - you can receive advantages such as better room, view and late checkout
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina_l_davo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Sydney, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dearest QT Sydney guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 179 in Sydney
1,741 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Langham, Sydney
#9 of 179 in Sydney
1,757 reviews
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 179 in Sydney
6,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Sydney

Property: QT Sydney
Address: 49 Market Street | Corner of Market and George Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an eye for modern design whilst reflective of past, the 200 guest suites that make up the QT Sydney hotel have been carefully crafted within the historic Gowings and State theatre buildings. This boutique Sydney accommodation retains many of the buildings most distinctive features, such as the blend of gothic, art deco, and Italian architecture that form the dazzling exterior of the building.With a contemporary and, at times, quirky design, all guestrooms feature creature comforts such as luxurious bedding, high-speed internet, walk-in showers and most guest suites also offer an indulgent oversized soaking tub.The lower levels of this truly designer Sydney Hotel, will retain a historical allure but be the home of Sydney’s hottest new bar Gilt Lounge and Robert Marchetti’s newest creation Gowings Bar & Grill.FEATURES200 designer guest roomsGowings Bar & GrillGilt LoungeParlour Lane RoastersspaQ – luxurious day spa, also open to the publicPrivate dining and events24-hour room service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your QT Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing