We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand tour worth doing”
Review of Government House

Government House
Book In Advance
More Info
$141.26*
and up
Sydney's Hidden Gems Photography Walking Tour
More Info
$19.98*
and up
Sydney Self-Guided Audio Tour
Ranked #82 of 480 things to do in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Samford, QLD
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A grand tour worth doing”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

On a rainy Saturday we wandered into the Botanical Gardens from Circular Quay and made the happy discovery that you can tour this grand and stately historic house for free. You have to join a tour but it is well worth it for the amazing insight you get into Australia's history. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and we enjoyed the architecture, the stunning, hand-painted ceilings, beautiful furniture and portraits of all the Governors past.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pandapower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    71
    23
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Worth the time spent”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

It's free. And especially good.

I got tickets because it was a rainy day for the 3:00 PM tour. The last tour! Phew! Glad I made it.

Informative tour by Marianne. Gorgeous place. Well preserved. Well curated. MUST visit in Sydney.

Don't wanna say more. The rest just have to be experienced. Right in Botanics Garden too... So so so pretty!

Information from the site:

House open Friday – Sunday 10.30am-3.00pm and public holidays | House access by guided tour only | Tickets distributed at the gatehouse.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vuvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Fabulous buillding”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Looks so pretty when you walk along so you can't leave it behind. I came closer hoping to get in also but it wasn't my lucky day. Anyway this building is so pretty, I will definitely get in next time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madras
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful and historic”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Don't miss this wonderful bit of Australian history in the heart of Sydney. The home of the Governor of the state of New South Wales, this Gothic Revival mansion is a must see, and the price (free) is not bad either.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
601 reviews
375 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
“Don't miss it like I did”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The grounds are open to the public daily but the interior tours are only on the weekend at very specific hours so check them before you head out. I missed the tour since the last one was full but the outside looked beautiful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Government House also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Government House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing