We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of Base Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Base Backpackers
Ranked #21 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Reviewed May 14, 2013

So this is a Base backpackers, and anyone that knows anything about hostels in OZ should know that Base are generally 'young/party' backpackers. But for those that don't know this, well now you do. People that stay here and then complain about the noise, do some research before you book a place. Whilst some nights you might get a nice peaceful sleep, i wouldn't count on getting 3 nice peaceful sleeps in a row. There is a good bar downstairs, 'Scary Canaries', the pub crawls leave from reception and sometimes end up here too, and dorm rooms are very susceptible to 'room parties'. This is why i stayed here, i wanted a party hostel and i got one. Met some great characters in my room and we all hit it off.

As for the hostel, it was quite good. Location is very good in Sydney central. Toilets were clean, bedrooms were clean, no complaints atall. Beds were also very comfy, with locker drawers underneath big enough for your backpack, very handy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James26K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
There are newer reviews for Base Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 716 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

the good: clean rooms, also the kitchen is clean. good location, next woolworth is just a few minutes away. Great pub next to the hostel: scarry canary, tv lounge

the bad: 20$ deposite for the room key

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Adinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed here at the start of a G Adventure Tour. It is well located in the Sydney CBD. I had a double room, it was quiet and comfortable (see the pictures). I was there on a Sunday so the bar downstairs was closed, it may have been noisy if the bar was open. The bathroom was fine. There was no phone or TV in the room, and, WIFI cost extra. A/C worked well in the room. Breakfast in the bar was ok.

All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Overall i enjoyed my stay in base. It was the start of my trip so i didn't mind the party aspect at the time, it was hard to get a decent nights sleep with 10 people in a room though, a 6-8 bed would be a better option. The bathroom and kitchen area is clean, although like most hostels it is a challenge to get the cooking utensils you require. Some of the staff can be quite rude, but that is not said for all staff. It is the best located hostel in Sydney by far.

Room Tip: 10 bed dorms is far too many for a party hostel if you want any chance of sleep. 6-8 bed for the pri...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeyR2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at base for a long weekend and wedding. We stayed in a double room with ensuit and we were very happy with our stay. The room was large, bright and airy with air con, a tv and a private bathroom. We were so happy with the room for the price. The location of base is fantastic, right near shopping area of CBD, china town and close to town hall train station. The only thing to keep in mind is that base is a backpackers so expect lots of travellers, a few drinken youngsters and occasional load party noises. If you are looking for somewhere cheap to stay that is in great location, is clean and neat.. Then base is for you! We were really glad we chose this hostel and will be back next time we visit Sydney.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie_love_birds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Tash was amazing, yeah you, Natasha Kaminsky

Tash arranged a holiday for probabaly the pickiest customer ever and and she she pulled it off :-)

She got me seeing a hell of a lot of OZ in just 3 weeks
I'm told I've seen more of Oz that most Australians.

She got me where most back packers have never heard of
I got to Coober Pedy and Lightning Ridge for my opals and the Rock Tour and the barefoot Tour absolutley mint.

The smaller tours are defintely the best. (The Rock and barefoot one bloody brill)
Not too sure about listening to Waltzing Matida on the Kakadu one but c'est la vie. The aussies on that tour were mortified bless 'em lol
Virrtually all of mty transfers went well so all credit to her. Calypso dont pick up late at night or early morning but not to worry. .

The hostel is clean and tidy, The kitchen could be cleaner and tidier if the back packers actually cleaned their own dishes as i saw the cleaners gut the kitchen and assume they do so every night. .

Every staff member has been great and really helpful at all times
the laundry was good and never a queue
showers, clean and plenty of them
no complaints at all

Sydney is defintely the best base hostel i stayed at, too many beds in rooms at Brisbane

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jack198612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra on Kent
Mantra on Kent
#75 of 178 in Sydney
1,368 reviews
Inner West
Wake Up! Sydney
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 143 in Sydney
1,382 reviews
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#7 of 143 in Sydney
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 143 in Sydney
763 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#10 of 143 in Sydney
412 reviews
Maze Backpackers
#31 of 143 in Sydney
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Backpackers

Address: 477 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Wanderers on Kent)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: $28 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Base Backpackers 1*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Base Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing