We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Village Kings Cross
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Highfield Private Hotel(Sydney)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Kingsview(Sydney)
View Hotel
DeVere Hotel(Sydney)
View Hotel
Gazebo Hotel(Sydney)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveler rating
86
90
43
17
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
90
43
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskings crossrooftop terracelovely cleaning ladymin walk to cbda double private roomfaster wifibackpackers hostelperson roombed mixed dormsydney skylinewalls are thinfemale dormlarge kitchenmodern facilitiesfree breakfastcommon areasthe ground floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 245 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights and it was very nice.The rooms and bathrooms are clean.It was nice that there were benches and tables and a bbq at the roof so you could relax up there. a shame that the kitchen was a bit to small

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janicer1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a double room which quite honestly was disgusting. Every time you walked in the door there was a hideous smell, foist or mould or something. Wasn't cleaned the entire time we were there. There were chunks missing out of the wall and everything. We were paying forty dollars each a night and it just isn't worth it, if I was you I would pay a little extra and go somewhere in the city. The location is ok, however kings cross is pretty seedy and is about a half an hours walk to town. The whole place is past it's best really except for the bathrooms which were spotless and the roof terrace which was nice. Staff were also very friendly apart from times they weren't there at all. Kitchen was tiny and common room was non existent practically. All in all, didn't enjoy the stay, wouldn't recommend, you could get better for your money.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poseidonlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We spent 11 nights here over christmas and new year and stopped in a 4 bed share dorm.
Room was clean and beds were very comfortable. Air conditioning worked well and was quiet. Did find one dead cockroach under the bed a few nights into staying though. Bathrooms were very nice and showers were good and hot. Kitchen facilities were very good although could get crowded at peak times as it isnt to big and the seating area was used as common room so was packed at times. Good that wi-fi was free and quick enough. Location was good as its away from the centre of kings cross nightlife but was still a stones throw away.
Overall was very happy with the stay and would reccomend to others.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkh18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We got a double room in this hostel. It was good for what it was.

The good things were: plenty of shower rooms meant shared bathrooms were no issue (never waited once, even at busy times). The friendly atmosphere of the hotel is great, lots of backpackers having a great time both on the roof and the kitchen. They have a lot of long term or regular guests. It's in the main backpackers district and its easy to get anywhere in the city.

The cons? Well, the double rooms are very compact (obviously, for this price). We paid $80 for ours, but I noticed they since have gone up to $92. They are very clean and reasonably well kept, with air con too, but you have to put your own sheets on the bed and take them off, there's not much space for luggage. There are other choices around the $100 mark, such as Hotel Coronation, Hotel 59, Big Hostel etc which offer slightly more for this kind of money, like en suite rooms, breakfasts, city center location etc. The wi-fi is unusably slow, but that's expected for this price bracket. You can get/send emails, which should be enough for most travelers.

If you don't need the kitchen or the backpacker's atmosphere, there are other possibilities. if you want these things, Eva's is a very good choice. The staff are friendly and efficient and you won't have problems here. Personally, I would recommend this place to others.

(p.s. R.E Loiner T There was no loudspeaker system when/where we were staying)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank featuredteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I think the best backpackers during my stay in Australia. Clean, friendly, quiet and safe.
The kitchen had all the stuff to cook.
I booked a doubleroom with my trip mate: we had a lot of space for our bags and the bed was very comfy (essential for all the travellers! :) )
I meet amazing people there! Miss ya Eva's!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara-rho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews