We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Back Packers Ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Sydney Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sydney Backpackers
Ranked #97 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Victoria Park, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Worst Back Packers Ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Never stay at this place. Because of it has the "Sydney" part on its name it appears first on google search. But this is the worst place I have ever stayed. The place was highly conjested and never cleaned. Beds are so close to each other and the whole room stinks a lot. We booked for two days and just after seeing the room asked for a refund only for the second the day as we decided we couldn't stay there. But the owner refused doing any thing at all.

Room Tip: Never stay at Sydney Back Packers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manisha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_SB, Guest Relations Manager at Sydney Backpackers, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Manisha D,

Thank you for your feedback.

We sincerely apologize if our accommodation and services did not meet your standard.

You have managed to book our multi-shared dorm which you get to stay with many other people and the week you booked was extremely busy due to Vivid. We always try to maintain our room with the highest hygiene standard and ask guests to keep up with the cleanliness to tidy up their area to consider other guests who are just moving in, however there s a limit to it as people are always using the room.

Regarding the refund, we could not be of much help as it is stated on our registration form which you have signed and agreed to saying that once you have checked in, it is strictly non refundable unless there is a reasonable reason that we should.

Once again we appreciate for you honest feedback and this will help us a lot in terms of improving our accommodation and services in the future.


Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    29
    33
    22
    50
See reviews for
3
9
59
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I was here for a few months so I got to see alot of things that went on and got to know the front counter staff. Free internet when you "like" their Facebook page and many other perks like free sports equipment rentals including table tennis is nice. Kitchen is small and cramped and could use newer kitchen wares. I know management is actively trying to improve the culture of this hostel which is lacking at the moment. However If your looking for a quiet place to relax in the heart of the city this is a good place to hang your hat.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the alleys are a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boliver L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

i had a wonderful stay here for 3 months while touring sydney .
in the heart of the city , easy access to stores , trains etc
The front desk staff are always friendly and happy to assist, the dorms are lovely & clean.
overall there is not much to complaint except for the water pressure of the shower could be better . worth every dollar .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juejenssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Positives: Cheap, ideal location (Center of the CBD), friendly front of desk staff, sufficient facilities, adequate rooms, friendly guests.

Improvements: A lil more tolerance in regards to long serving tenants towards to new guests, lounge room needs more seating, kitchen can be a lil bigger, and consideration of night lights, speedier WiFi.

Overall I have enjoyed my stay and previous stays at Sydney Backpackers, and recommend them when considering Hostel accommodation.

Room Tip: if you can get along with everyone any room is worth it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jhonny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We were told we could get free airport transfers twice and then told on the day we couldn't. They did let us in the room a bit early which was good.
Our 'twin' room had bunk beds... Was small and dingy and unclean. Bathrooms in a state too. Loud noisy clientele and no one told them to be quiet. Music blaring at midnight. The beds are uncomfortable and the mattress has plastic in and the pillow has a plastic cover. Awful hostel. One of the worst I've stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lp163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights as a solo traveller in a 10 person dorm. The location is great, and is certainly the best feature of this hostel. However, the downside of the location is that it gets very noisy from the street outside, although I was lucky enough to be in one of the rooms not facing the street. There is free wi-fi with reasonable speeds. The kitchen is absolutely tiny, and competition for space in the common room can be fierce. There is a rooftop area, but if it's raining, as it was during my stay, there is no shelter and the rooftop becomes pretty much unusable (unless you want to get soaking wet).

I found the main problem here was the other guests. Perhaps it was just my bad luck, but every night there were different groups of people staying in the same dorm as me, and every night I had to ask them to quiet down so that I could get some sleep at around midnight, without much effect - such as on my last night, when I was treated to a girl unpacking and repacking the things from her locker and rustling plastic bags etc directly next to my head at around 1am. Some of the guests were actually living here, and I think the staff need to be more careful as to who they let in, as it seems to be a bit of a haven for homeless people to come in out of the rain. Not that I hold prejudice against the homeless, but it is a little disconcerting to be caught alone on the rooftop with a ragged looking man who earlier was pacing the street down below screaming nonsense at no-one.

The bathrooms were clean, and as I entered my room a cleaner was just finishing up, so I had no problems with the cleanliness of the room. The bed aren't great, it's like sleeping on a bundle of plastic. There is free wi-fi with reasonable speeds and they do loan guests (without charge, unlike some other hostels) a padlock for the lockers in the rooms. The staff weren't friendly, but nor were they rude - merely indifferent. All in all this is a very average hostel, but please do be warned about the other guests, not just because of their tendency to be rude and noisy, but also because of the street vagrants who often seem quite unhinged.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms which doesn't face the street, to minimise the noise coming from out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K-Lytton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Dormitories reasonable but bathrooms and toilets filthy and smelly. Booked to stay three nights but left after one. Only stayed that one night because it was too late to go anywhere else. Location good for city accessibility but who wants to wash in a filthy bathroom.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Francesellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Base Backpackers
Base Backpackers
#22 of 137 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Surry Hills
Home Backpackers
Home Backpackers
#40 of 137 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Maze Backpackers
#27 of 137 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 137 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Eva's Backpackers
#16 of 137 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
#10 of 137 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Backpackers

Property: Sydney Backpackers
Address: Victoria Building 7 Wilmot St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sydney Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Sydney Backpackers is a purposely built boutique hostel located right in the heart of Sydney's CBD, 30 Meters to the Entrance of Town Hall Railway Station. We are in the walking distance to everywhere ‘must-see’ in Sydney for sightseeing and we know what our guests want.”Since we are located in the heart of the city, we are close to the main bars, restaurants, clubs, shops, cinemas, public transport and everything else you might need in this beautiful city!Sydney Backpackers is 1 of 5 hostels in Sydney capable in catering major groups and classified 3.5 stars by AAA Tourism. We are also awarded ‘WINNER OF 2006 CITY OF SYDNEY BUSINESS AWARDS’ for an outstanding backpacker in year 2006 and also nominated as a finalist in 2010.Sydney Backpackers is well known from individuals and groups visiting Sydney domestically and internationally and given lots of good feedbacks and complimentary for our good services. We proudly say that we specialize in group bookings as we have know-how of handling groups and have rooms to accommodate a group of up to 150 people or more. We are in the walking distance to everywhere in Sydney for sightseeing (Opera House, Harbour Bridge, Darling Harbour and heaps more attractions) and everything you need (shopping centers, supermarkets, cinema, restaurants, transport). This is the best quiet location that you would ever image to find if you think of staying in a budget accommodation right in the middle of the city. Sydney Backpackers is 1 of 5 hostels in Sydney capable in catering major groups and classified 3.5 stars by AAA Tourism. We are also awarded ‘WINNER OF 2006 CITY OF SYDNEY BUSINESS AWARDS’ for an outstanding backpacker in year 2006 and also nominated as a finalist in 2010.Building & FacilitiesRooms to suit 2 to 16 people (20sqm to 65sqm with 3.5-meter ceilings)Free internet access (Wireless)Building under constant 24hr video surveillance Central air conditioning and heater Fridge, Digital TV, DVD player (Single room, Twin/2 bed, 4 bed, 6 bed)Individual security lockers with padlocksFresh laundered & Sanitized white linen and blanketsElectronic key to access your room and the buildingCommon room (Vending Machines)Self-catering Kitchen fully furnishedShared shower booths and toilets Coin Operated LaundryHandicapped facilitiesBBQ facility at the rooftopGreat view of the city (240 square meter rooftop terrace)24-hour video surveillance for the entire building and fire exits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sydney Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Backpackers Hotel Sydney
Backpacker Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing