We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad at all.”
Review of Song Hotel Redfern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Song Hotel Redfern
Ranked #117 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not bad at all.”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

This hotel wasn't bad at all. We had a family room and were really happy with our stay.
The receptionist did take ages to appear when we wanted to check in but other than that everything was good.
Breakfast was fine, a bit basic but food is food.
The location is a little out from where you'd ideally like to be but as long as you don't mind a ten minute walk then it's fine :)

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Manager at Song Hotel Redfern, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Tora A
Thank you for your feedback.
The hotel is between Redfern & Central Railway stations (not quite in the middle though) but as you mentioned, only a short walk. Y Hotel City South does provide a light continental breakfast for all of our rates so it is there to provide a great kick for the day.
Tora once again thank you for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming back when you are next in Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    128
    100
    33
    43
See reviews for
69
85
54
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Just to be clear, this is YWCA accommodation. The hotel is good for the budget traveller who isn't interested in luxury and just wants a private space to sleep.

The hotel is located a fair distance from the main tourist drag of sydney, if you're not a keen walker then you're definitely looking at travelling by bus to the pciture postcard areas. There are a few food outlets around but this area is mostly residential and offices. The hotel is right next to a railway line, which was okay for us but I imagine if your room was next to it this would be quite loud. There is a large park between the hotel and the main station, which feels safe but occassionally seemed to be frequented by some locals asking for money.

Breakfast is okay but there isn't a great selection and you can't be afraid of sitting with strangers at busy times! The staff are all okay and efficient but don't expect anything more than what you'd expect for this kind of price. The rooms are VERY small and the bathrooms are separated from the rooms by a sort of cupboard door.

GOOD POINTS - clean, excellent value, would definitely visit again if travelling to sydney on a small budget.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the railway lines
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Manager at Song Hotel Redfern, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear dmxed
Thank you for providing feedback of your stay with us.
I am pleased that you found Y Hotel City South central to your needs. Yes there are several parks close by and yes there will always some beggars around no matter which country or city you are in. The rooms are compact and do have their own private en-suite. Y Hotel City South is a budget hotel and we like to think that we provide great serviced as a 3 star Hotel and that we are one of the few hotels in Sydney that offer free continental breakfast included in the rate.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to when you are next in Australia & Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

checked into my room on level 1, wondered what the musty smell was. Saw the window open and closed that thinking the fumes from the road were the cause. But no, upon having a shower found I couldn't close the shower door, and the water ran out into the bathroom floor and then into the bedroom. The toilet didn't stop running and only one light worked. The noise was constant from the road and trains. Room makeup service is non existent, had to ask three times in five days for towels and soap. Absolute dive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KARL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Manager at Song Hotel Redfern, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear KARL R
Thank you for your feedback. It appears that we have failed met your expectation for which I apologise. This is not the impression I wish you or other potential guest to experience. We are continuing to improve on our service and I have advised my team of your feedback.
I would like an opportunity to invite you back when you are next looking at staying in Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Absolutely shocking! Arrive at reception (4adults and 2 children) to be told that we would have to pay for secure parking even though we weren't informed of this at time of booking. Continued to our rooms to find cockroaches running across the pillow and floor of both bathrooms. Thankfully we were shown different rooms which didn't appear to have these creatures. Cleanliness of both bathrooms were disgusting, I'm sure these had never seen soap and water in the corners of the shower and toilet. On the second evening we came back around 7pm to no car space, on informing the reception (Tim) we received a barrage of abuse saying it wasn't his fault, and what do we want him to do built another car park! He said he would refund our money, however given the location we weren't happy about accepting this. Needless to say we left the car in the middle of the car park......I could go on for pages re our treatment and condition of the hotel but I'm sure you get the drift. Thankfully not all the staff were this unhelpful and rude.

Room Tip: Don't stay there rooms too small and dirty
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jillian1212_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Manager at Song Hotel Redfern, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Jillian1212_12
I have read your feedback and we have already, prior to you posting this review apologised and refunded your money. Yes we failed you on this occasion but I do wish to point out that this was an exemption and not the norm to our usually high standards.
If you wish to contact me about this issue, I am happy to discuss this with you further if you wish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We had a small but very nice room with fridge TV and a nice bathroom, everything was clean and tidy. We slept on the roadside but when we closed the window we didn't hear a thing.
The breakfast was not to bad, especially for the price we paid...

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jurgen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Manager at Song Hotel Redfern, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear jurgen r

Thank you for your feedback
I am pleased that we ticked all of the boxes and met your expectations when you stayed at y Hotel City South.
I hope you chose us again when you are next in Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Having read the reviews before I stopped at the Y Hotel, I wasn't expecting much. However, I was pleasantly surprised. It is 'budget' accommodation but the staff are friendly, it's clean and the breakfast is an added bonus (tea, coffee, juice, cereal & toast). I didn't hear train noise from my room, but I imagine that the rooms overlooking the train station would be quite noisy. If you are looking for luxury accommodation then this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a clean budget room with a complimentary breakfast, then I'd recommend it. It's about a 15 minute walk to central station & China town, and about a 20 minute walk to Darling Harbour, so it's a little bit out of the centre but still do-able on foot.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Manager at Song Hotel Redfern, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear MAMurray
Thank you for your feedback and apologies for the delay in doing this.
I think you have highlighted some key points; we are not a 5 star hotel. We provide great customer service; we provide a great start to the day with our free light continental breakfast, yes although we are close the a railway line, the rooms are double glazed, we are a budget hotel catering for those on tight budgets.
I am pleased that you found Y Hotel City South surprising and exceeding your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Australia & Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed on a weekend very busy but no problems lift could be a bit slow
must say the room was one of the smallest i have stayed in including hong kong but
very well appointed and clean ,beds were soft and good air-con the windows are double glazed
so not to noisy as you are very close to the railway lines but did not find them a trouble
only 8 car spaces so limited parking as when we stayed there were mainly Asian tour groups as well as a school group so mainly their customers don't drive I think
Breakfast was continental buffet including cereal and toast in large cafe
rooms have a fridge and coffee/tea and ironing board small but clean bathroom
location is a bit out of the way not much interesting locally and a good ten minute walk to central (and tram) for access to heart of city maybe twenty to darling harbour / close to station and buses
but i think good value for a quick stay on a day or two but two small for a comfy longer stay

Room Tip: double room very small for two people if possible a twin a bit more comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whereswalshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, Manager at Song Hotel Redfern, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear whereswalshie
Thank you for your feedback and apologies for the delay in doing this
I think you have highlighted some key points; we are a 3 star hotel. We provide great customer service; we provide a great start to the day with our free light continental breakfast, yes although we are close the a railway line, the rooms are double glazed, we are a budget hotel catering for those on tight budgets. Although our rooms are compact, you highlighted that they present well and are as they should be very clean and inviting.
Parking is very limited and a reservation to secure your parking is essential.
Once again thank you for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#102 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#115 of 175 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#43 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
3.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
#122 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Song Hotel Redfern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Song Hotel Redfern

Property: Song Hotel Redfern
Address: 179 Cleveland St | Chippendale, Sydney, New South Wales 2008, Australia (Formerly Y Hotel City South)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Song Hotel Redfern 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Song Hotel Redfern is located on the corner of Cleveland and Regent Streets a short stroll from Prince Alfred Park. Central Station is just 15 to 20 minutes' walk away and is close to Sydney university and other education organisations. Private Bus Company called "AirBus, costs approximately $15 per person can be used to transport you to and from Hotel and Airport. Please Note: Hotel can only organise transportation From Hotel to Airport. Light breakfast is included in room rate. Breakfast is served between 6:30am to 9:30am DUE TO EXTREMELY LIMITED PARKING SPACES, PARKING MUST TO BE PRE BOOKED PRIOR TO ARRIVAL. ALL CAR SPOTS ARE SUBJECT TO AVAILABILITY. COST APPLIES. (Note: FREE wifi) Darling Harbour is 2.5 klm or approximately 30 minutes walking distance Sydney University is approximately 800 metres or 30 minutes' walk Central Railway station is approximately 900 metres or 15 - 20 minutes' walk Redfern Stations is approximately 500 metres or 10 minutes' walk China Town is approximately 1 klm or 20 minutes' walk Sydney Airport is approximately 7.6 klms or 12 minutes' drive Please Note: Song Hotel Redfern building is located close to the railway lines. All rooms have double glazed windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Song Hotel Redfern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
y Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing