We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget-friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Song Hotel Redfern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Song Hotel Redfern
Ranked #117 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Budget-friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Near Redfern train station (10 min walking) and 10 min walking Chinatown and George St. Tidy but well equiped and clean room. Basic but fair breakfast. Reception a but cold but educated. My room was not facing the train station, so no noisy. Can be noisy if the other side...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SabbaticalBrazilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    126
    96
    33
    42
See reviews for
67
81
54
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

I booked the Y as it was the cheapest deal in Sydney when I needed it. $110 single room. I was pleasantly surprised. Despite being next to the busiest rail network in Sydney, I did not hear a train because rooms are soundproofed. My room on the first floor was very small but adequately fitted out with TV, air-cond, tea and coffee facilities. Bed was comfy, sheets and blanket immaculate, and although shower cubicle and bath were small, the hot water worked perfectly without any complicated adjustments required. I arrived at 10pm and left at 7am, so I parked in the small street adjacent to the hotel. The complimentary breakfast of cereal, toast and coffee was laid out at 6:45am so I was able to help myself and leave the hotel by 8am, feeling refreshed. I would not hesitate to stay here again. Great value for money in Sydney.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandramaybarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Not the best hotel in the world but if you just need a clean bed to stay in for a few nights then for the price it is perfect. the room are small and you can hear the trains but if your out and about all day then it is in a good location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StJean_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beenleigh, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Room was extremely small, myself nd my partner are not big people and we found it hard to move around in the room and especially in the bathroom with the shower head being positioned at my eye level and not being able to be moved which meant needed to crouch down a little just to have a shower. Dont think we will be staying here again in the future

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dan-reecey92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights on the 23rd and 25th of November 2013 . When we first arrived in the afternoon on the 23rd, we asked the staff on duty for directions to get to the fish market and he insisted that it was not possible to travel by public transport and he would recommend a cab. We took a cab to the fish market only to find a tram station next to the fish market (btw the name of the tram stop is Sydney fish market- surprise surprise) and all we had to go was to walk to central station and take the tram (which doesn’t exist according to the reception). We also requested for an airport transfer but he told us not to book it so early and book it on the 25th instead.
On the 25th after spending one day at the blue mountains, we returned to the hotel and requested the gentleman at the concierge (different person from the one on the 23rd ) to help us book the hotel shuttle. He insisted that the price of the airport shuttle would be the same for 2 pax as compared to taking a cab and we should take a cab instead. (The airport shuttle costs 14 per pax). Given that the ride to the fish market already cost us $15, I requested that we would prefer to take the shuttle regardless. The concierge refused to help us book the shuttle even though we requested twice. He kept insisting it was the same price by cab. When we returned to the hotel late that evening, there was another gentleman on duty who informed us it would cost $50 to the airport by cab! (To my knowledge $14*2 <>$50) As it was too late to book the airport shuttle, we had no choice but to take the train.
The service levels are appalling at this hotel! I would definitely not recommend it.
In addition, while breakfast is supposed to be served from 6.30am onwards, we waited until 6.45 am but there was not a single soul in sight.
We stayed at two different rooms for each night. The room on the first night was on a low floor and facing the train tracks and thus, you can hear the train rumbling late at night and it can be quite noisy.
Location is not that great too. It’s near Redfern station which is a bit out of the place. The only saving grace is cleanliness, other than that, no reason to torture yourself on a holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wander Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hell, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

If you're a light sleeper, then think long and hard about the location, given the 6 lanes on one side of the building and the 10 or so railway tracks on another.

Luckily, I'd packed earplugs and eyemask (roller blind wasn't the greatest) and they certainly helped. The rooms too are tiny - the main photo above is a pretty accurate depiction, with perhaps 1 metre on one side of the bed only. Bathroom was very snug and a little tired, but with a good shower.

However, you're not too far from Central station (a short walk through a pleasant park that was well-lit and seemed safe at all hours). The staff were helpful and the continental breakfast was really pretty good (a choice of good cereals, toast and juice) and will keep you full for hours.

Really only recommended for a night or two, but you could probably do much worse, especially in a city with such pricey accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask to be on a side away from the railway tracks unless you're a sleepless trainspotter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank South37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#102 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#118 of 174 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#47 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
3.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Glebe
No photo provided
Best Western Haven Glebe
#124 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Song Hotel Redfern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Song Hotel Redfern

Property: Song Hotel Redfern
Address: 179 Cleveland St | Chippendale, Sydney, New South Wales 2008, Australia (Formerly Y Hotel City South)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Song Hotel Redfern 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Song Hotel Redfern is located on the corner of Cleveland and Regent Streets a short stroll from Prince Alfred Park. Central Station is just 15 to 20 minutes' walk away and is close to Sydney university and other education organisations. Private Bus Company called "AirBus, costs approximately $15 per person can be used to transport you to and from Hotel and Airport. Please Note: Hotel can only organise transportation From Hotel to Airport. Light breakfast is included in room rate. Breakfast is served between 6:30am to 9:30am DUE TO EXTREMELY LIMITED PARKING SPACES, PARKING MUST TO BE PRE BOOKED PRIOR TO ARRIVAL. ALL CAR SPOTS ARE SUBJECT TO AVAILABILITY. COST APPLIES. (Note: FREE wifi) Darling Harbour is 2.5 klm or approximately 30 minutes walking distance Sydney University is approximately 800 metres or 30 minutes' walk Central Railway station is approximately 900 metres or 15 - 20 minutes' walk Redfern Stations is approximately 500 metres or 10 minutes' walk China Town is approximately 1 klm or 20 minutes' walk Sydney Airport is approximately 7.6 klms or 12 minutes' drive Please Note: Song Hotel Redfern building is located close to the railway lines. All rooms have double glazed windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Song Hotel Redfern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
y Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing