We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel, Really made our wedding day special!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Ranked #55 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, Really made our wedding day special!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2010

We stayed at the Sofitel for 3 nights in January and one of the days we stayed there was our wedding day. The hotel made us feel very welcome and we had a lovely room on the top floor and were welcomed with a lovely bottle of champagne to celebrate our wedding. Rooms were lovely and beds incredibly comfortable. Hotel has a fantasic location in the city only a 2 min walk to circular quay and the opera house/bridge and your pretty much directly in the main shopping area with plenty of restaurants and bars to chose from at night.
The only thing that I would say the hotel was lacking was a pool and it would alos be nice if breakfast was included in the room rate as when your paying £180/night it would be nice if a few slices of toast and some cereal in the morning were included in that price.
Overall we loved this hotel and were so glad that we chose it as part of our special day.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emsy843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelDaviss, Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, April 11, 2010
Thank you for your comments, it is always a pleasure to hear such lovely feedback.

On behalf of our team, I would like to congratulate you on your wedding and I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed spending your wedding night with us at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth.

Kind regards,
Michael Daviss
Executive Asssitant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,255
    1,693
    878
    357
    169
See reviews for
682
2,581
386
1,157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (720)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2010

We spent 2 nights at the Sofitel for a short stay. The first thing that hit us was the scent that wafted through the foyer when we checked in. I asked the concierge and he said it was a signature scent - it was Christmas time so the foyer was decorated beautifully. We chose to stay in a Club room which included access to the Club area - this was great value as we were given breakfast, teas, cocktails in the evening and it was like a private lounge. There was turndown service in our rooms and Nespresso coffeemaker in our room too. Beds were extremely comfortable. I have stayed at Sofitel in Melbourne too but Sydney was very good. Staff friendly for a 5 star hotel. Room was your average room a bit small but ample for our stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiwiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelDaviss, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, March 16, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth. It is always a pleasure to receive good feed back like yours that also touch on our individual brand standards.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel hopefully in the near future.

Kind Regards

Michael Daviss
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

Hotel has a good location, rooms, pine finish may not me to everyones taste. Service in general good and what you would expect from a hotel in this price bracket.

Internet Charges... I paid for 24 hours of use. Having arrived from Singapore, tired. Did not read fully or understand the fine print. My charges more than doubled as updated some radio podcasts. The final bill being over AU$60.00

I travel for work and have done for over 20 years, the last few carrying my lap top, never have I been charged like this before.

Paid the bill and asked for a comment card, was told it would be e mailed. Did not receive this.

Needless to say this left a bitter taste to what was otherwise a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonboybarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelDaviss, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, March 16, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your stay. Regarding internet charges at the hotel, we understand that people may have varying needs regarding service, particularly in terms of downloading information. With that in mind, we now endeavour to better service clients by adopting a ‘more you use, the more you pay’ style system which we believe is fairer for everyone. The hotel offers a good speed and overall well-regarded Internet service, but you are correct in that we do charge extra for exceeding our set download limit. We have now adopted a more democratic ‘user pays’ system in conjunction with our Internet supplier, which means that users who require larger downloads will pay for this additional service while those who don’t will be billed at the usual amount.

Thank you once again for your comments and I hope this will not deter you from staying at the Sofitel Sydney Wentworth.

Kind Regards

Michael Daviss
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

We booked a room at this hotel through Wotif as we have with a lot of hotels in Sydney. We always try to get a room, breakfast and carparking package. This has always been good value and we always stay at 5 star hotels. We have always had great rooms until this hotel. Our room was not ready when we checked in, and we had originally booked for 2 nights but had organised 3 weeks in advance a 3rd night and made sure we cross referenced the original booking with an additional night. The staff took about 5 minutes to find this and then said we were only in for 2 nights. After showing them the confirmation they eventually found the 3rd night and said come back in 1 hr. When we did again they could not find the 3rd night, despite them taking a photocopy of the confirmation. We were then showed to a disabled room at the end of a corridor which had a shower curtain and basin and a view of the wall. When my husband complained saying that as were staying 3 nights we would like a bit more comfort and somewhere to put our toiletries we were told we had to pay an extra $40 per night, which we did. The new room is what we would have been given at every other hotel in Sydney.
Service at breakfast is non-existent and the buffet warm.
When we checked out the parking attendant would not let have our car until we paid for 3 days carparking. We explained this was part of our package, we again produced our confirmation but this was not enough, until reception rang down and told them it was.
No apologies at any time and there are a lot more customer focused hotels in Sydney with similar packages and decent rooms.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontiNb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelDaviss, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, March 16, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your stay.

Please allow me to apologise for your stay as this can be clearly seen we did not live up to the 5 star service that you expected. I have spoken to our department heads and they have started to address all your points raised and will ensure that these types of events do not reoccur.

Once again thank you for your feedback

Kind Regards

Michael Daviss
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

My husband & I booked to attend the 60th Anniversary Military Tattoo in Melbourne Feb 2010. The accomodation part of our package was with the Sofitel Wentworth Sydney. The hotel itself is lovely, with the wonderful floral displays in the foyer, large rooms, comfy beds and an excellent position to sightsee. All of this great stuff was offset by the poor service experienced in the hotel restaurant. If the breakfast portion of our package hadn't been included after our first experience in the restaurant we would have dined elsewhere. Being that the hotel was a sponsor of the Military Tattoo it was to be expected that the dining room would have a large patronage and each morning there was a queue for breakfast. We were expecting this to be the case so it is not a part of our gripe. What is part of the gripe is the person who greeted us with not a "good morning" or "may i please have your room number" but "what's your room number". This was followed by much sighing, which gave the impression we were taking up a valuable portion of this person's day with our presence in the dining room. This was followed by a wave of the hand in the direction of a table covered with dirty dishes and linen and we were told go help ourselves to breakfast and by the time we came back to our table with our selection from the buffet it would be cleared. Then began the game of "could we please have a cup of coffee/tea"? If you were exceptionally lucky you would be able to snag one cup for the morning from a passing waiter/ess. The not so lucky went without, usually after quite a few requests. Don't bother looking for a second cup as that was never going to happen. Snagging a table with clean cutlery, crockery and napkins was a bonus. Three times in four days I had to request clean cups and napkins. The only shining light was a young lady named Frances who was trying to do the job of three people. You might think after the first experience you wouldn't go there for dinner, but my husband and I seemed to be suckers for punishment. As there was quite a bit of rain around we decided to have dinner in the restaurant one evening rather than chance the rain and get wet again. Thinking any restaurant that charged 5 star prices for a steak ($50) also be offering 5 star service to match would be a seriously bad move in this restaurant. While the restaurant was no-where near full, the service was again abysmal. Even the Chef was finding it hard to find staff to convey the meals from the cooking area to the tables. Never mind getting another drink. Sofitel my question is....where is your food and beverage manager? If he/she was on duty they obviously have no idea of what constitutes customer service i.e. the customer is more important than putting away cutlery and talking to your friends out the back. They are the ones paying your wages.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelDaviss, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, March 16, 2010
Thank you for choosing to stay with Sofitel during the Military Tattoo. Garden Court restaurant is certainly a focus for us in 2010, and we have been working to promote it along with our new chef and the wonderful new menus he has introduced in recent months. Therefore I am particularly disappointed to hear that service wise the restaurant failed you.
This is not acceptable on any level and is being addressed by the Food and Beverage.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Michael Daviss
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional NSW
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

We had 4 nights at the Sofitel and it was just what we were after - relaxing, refreshing and no hassle. Which suprised me as on first glance it seemed geared towards the business market, we stayed for leisure. The level of service provided by the staff is efficient and attentive which to us is the hallmark of a professionally run hotel. Check-in was easy, but not rushed, as it was moderately busy. On check-in we asked for a different bedding configuration from what we'd booked and the staff member happily changed us to another room. Arriving in the room the TV needed fixing as there was no signal, the maintance man was there in no time and was jovial in the vein of a typical Aussie larrikin (didn't think they were still in Sydney) and fixed it in seconds. We appreciated his good humour and individuality.

We anticipated issues as our 3 year old daughter is noisy and busy. She was attentively fussed over by the restaurant staff, which was great as it made her quiet and shy, in turn making breakfast enjoyable for us adults. Perhaps, as we only saw one other child whilst at the hotel so the presence of a child may have been a novelty for the staff?
Breakfast was included, we haven't stay in 5 star hotels much and were impressed with the buffet choices and the amount available. There was champagne available!

Sleeping on the my-bed is supreme, I need one at home. The superior rooms have a lounge near the window which was a great place to read the paper, relax, play children's games. It added a positive spatial dimension to the room.

Location for us was important as we like to us public transport, both Martin Place & Circular Quay train stations are within walking distance, although there is a moderate climb from the Quay back to the hotel. Walking to the Quay is leisurely. To and from Martin Place is almost level. The Botanical gardens are very close and a great place for kids to run, look at the flowers, ducks, statues etc. Being close to an area where kids can run, discover new things and just be kids influenced our choice on where to stay. But it rained a lot we only went there once and got soaked.

We liked the atmosphere and staff's obvious commitment to their guest's needs. We loved the dinner room service menu and considered it reasonalby priced. Room service presentation was impecciable. My wife had the same pasta dish 3 times. The lack of a swimming pool was a major drawback and nearly prevented us from booking the Sofitel; kids love to swim. By chance it became a non issue as the rain would have curtailed our dreams of reclining by the pool.

We booked in conj. with a business credit so the amount we paid out of our own pocket didn't reflect the rate paid so commenting on value is not mentioned. However, for service, comfort and location we'd recommend the Sofitel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Semaphore41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelDaviss, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, March 16, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth. It is always a pleasure to receive good feed back like yours. From our beds through to the service you receive in the restaurant it was pleasing to read your feed back.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel hopefully in the near future.

Kind Regards

Michael Daviss
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2010

We had a long weekend in Sydney staying at the Sofitel Wentworth. The hotel service was impeccable. It was a truly enjoyable experience from the moment we arrived until the time we left. The staff were very polite and helpful. The food was great at the restaurant. I would thoroughly recommend it as a place to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwis13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelDaviss, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, March 16, 2010
Thank you for your comments about your stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth. It is always a pleasing to be made aware of our guest’s stays and the impeccable service you received.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel hopefully in the near future.

Kind Regards

Michael Daviss
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,152 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#32 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Property: Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Address: 61-101 Phillip St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Sydney
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Business Hotel in Sydney
#51 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Sydney Wentworth 5*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's time-honoured five-star hotel in the heart of the shopping and business district has a solid reputation for impeccable service and incomparable elegance. The recent renovations artfully combine the latest in modern convenience with the old-worldcharm that has made it an architectural icon. The hotel boasts premier conference facilities,a fabulous health club. Experience haute cuisine at the restaurant or slip into the lounge for an afternoon tea or an intimate night cap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Sydney Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney Wentworth
Sydney Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing