We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Ranked #56 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Loved it”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Great service, very professional. Enjoyed a relaxing drink in the bar. Bed was like sleeping on a cloud and bathroom very luxurious. Had a wonderful night very close to great bars & restaurants. Loved everything made our 10th wedding anniversary really special.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Bonjour,

It was most pleasing to read that you enjoyed your Sofitel experience and that you had a comfortable stay. The ‘My Bed’ is a brand standard in all Sofitel Luxury Hotels and we are very happy that you liked it. Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I will ensure that your comments are shared with our entire team.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,278
    1,719
    889
    359
    173
See reviews for
690
2,607
390
1,178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (731)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

from the moment we were dropped off, the door staff excellent through to signing in. our luggage was whisked away and taken to our room, our suits were hung up. the lobby smells so clean when walking in each day. lifts fast and efficient. was so close to the rocks and botanical gardens, easy walk to darling harbour and centrepoint tower. the bed was so comfortable and our room was pleasant and very clean, my only winge would be the coffee cups are too small mugs are better.
sadly the restaurant was undergoing renovations i was looking forward to dining there. never mind room service was excellent, the meat and cheese platters were very good.

Room Tip: we were on the 6th floor i am sure there are better rooms in this motel but ours was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank messup61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Bonjour,

It was most pleasing to read that you enjoyed your Sofitel experience and that you had a comfortable stay. The ‘My Bed’ is a brand standard in all Sofitel Luxury Hotels and we are very happy that you liked it. Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I will ensure that your comments are shared with our entire team.

I am glad the location of the hotel was suitable for you during your stay. We are very proud of our hotel and especially our beautiful lobby with the Sofitel scent and flowers which is part of our brand magnifyers.

We will certainly take your feedback on board in regards to coffee mugs to maybe have this available on request for our guests to enjoy using their stay.

Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to your next arrival.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Wife organised a High Tea for her cousins wedding in Sydney. Advised service was exceptional including the booking process and the food and beverage offering was described as sensational. Great selection and and quality.
Booked 2 rooms and were upgraded from superior to deluxe. The room was smallish and with the 2 double beds in the rooms there was not a lot of room to move, with one room not having a chair. Hotel service faulted with one room not serviced despite the sign being on the door 3 times in the day.
Excellent service offered in Soiree for drinks and food. Enjoyed the welcome drinks and free wi fi as part of the accor club membership. The main restaurant was being renovated during the stay but we were eating out for the wedding.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank PedroNastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Bonjour,

I was absolutely delighted to read your comments regarding your recent stay, particularly those regarding our amazing Soiree Bar. At Sofitel Sydney Wentworth we constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and it was most pleasing to read of your satisfaction.

I am grateful for you taking the time to write about your Sofitel experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had a Classic Room, overlooking the back of the hotel and stayed for 3 nights.
The bathroom was the smallest that I have experienced. It had enough floor space for just 1 person at a time. There were no towel rails nor hanging space. Bench space was very limted.
The shower water pressure was fantastic. Enough water to run down the shower screen and out onto the bathroom floor. The closet-style doors to the bathroom were difficult to open from inside of the batchroom, as there was no handle/knob on the inside of the door.
In the main room, there were only 2 small drawers to put your clothes in. There was also a shelf on top of the hanging wardrobe, although you have to be quitre tall to reach it.
Even though a pillow menu was advertised, we could not find one and the pillows were quite hard.
There is no free in-room wi-fi. Free wi-fi is available at a lot of hotels (even 5-star) these days.
The picture quality on the TV was poor. It seem that the aerial was not connected properly and thus the picture was 'snowy'.
We were 2 rooms away from the lift. If you are a light sleeper, then ensure you are further away from the lifts.
The room was clean & maintained well. The location is good. Close to central town and Circular Quay. The staff were friendly & polite.

Room Tip: Away from the lifts to avoid the lift noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emgeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Bonjour,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the hotel. It was great to see that you enjoyed the location and the cleanliness of our guest rooms during your stay. We do have an amazing team providing our guests with excellence in service.

Our hotel is a Heritage listed hotel and some of our guest rooms can be smaller than others due to this although we always try to update and enhance the service and amenities we provide to our guests for a 'Magnifique' experience.

We certainly appreciate your honest opinion and we will take this onboard and share with our team.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We look forward to your next visit.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel has excellent, friendly service everywhere in the hotel. It is a pleasure to walk in and stay there. The beds are extremely comfortable and the amenities in the bathroom are excellent. Nothing seems too much trouble for the staff and they make you feel very welcome. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Bonjour,

It was most pleasing to read that you enjoyed your Sofitel experience and that you had a comfortable stay. The ‘My Bed’ is a brand standard in all Sofitel Luxury Hotels and we are very happy that you liked it. Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I will ensure that your comments are shared with our entire team.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The concierge service was the best! Very helpful with everything I needed. The King bed and pillows with it were extremely comfortable, and the cleaning service each day went beyond expectations by organizing and hanging my own clothes (but left my pile of dirty clothes alone, thankfully). Very close to everything I needed, including primary bus routes and circular quay. Walking distance to the opera house and parks and gardens, as well as the Queen Victoria Bldg and shopping areas, including Westfield, aka Sydney Tower Eye. Only complain was upon entering the hotel, each and every time, you are hit with a strong perfume coming from the lobby. I understand this is a French hotel, but it was too much. At any rate, there are cheaper options, if you're on a budget, but none that will provide the location, service, and therefore value that this hotel did.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenicks F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Bonjour,

It was most pleasing to read that you enjoyed your Sofitel experience and that you had a comfortable stay. The ‘My Bed’ is a brand standard in all Sofitel Luxury Hotels and we are very happy that you liked it.

I was very proud of your comments about our staff because it is our goal to provide our guests with excellence in service. We always want to delite our guests and show them a 'Magnifique' experience. I will certainly share your feedback with the entire team.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I will ensure that your comments are shared with our entire team, particularly our Concierge team.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,205 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#32 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Property: Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Address: 61-101 Phillip St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Sydney
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Business Hotel in Sydney
#52 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Sydney Wentworth 5*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's time-honoured five-star hotel in the heart of the shopping and business district has a solid reputation for impeccable service and incomparable elegance. The recent renovations artfully combine the latest in modern convenience with the old-worldcharm that has made it an architectural icon. The hotel boasts premier conference facilities,a fabulous health club. Experience haute cuisine at the restaurant or slip into the lounge for an afternoon tea or an intimate night cap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Sydney Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney Wentworth
Sydney Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing