We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Ranked #67 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank binalong69
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,550 - 2,556 of 5,705 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in December 2013. The check-in folks were very friendly, however they originally checked us into a smoking room. However they quickly fixed this up and put us into a nicer non-smoking room.

The room was an OK size, the decor quite dated and the bathroom was quite small. If you want internet then of course, you have to pay for it (like most hotels in Australia unfortunately).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boo5td
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Bonjour,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the hotel. I certainly do appreciate your honest opinion and it is feedback such as yours that we can assest what we offer and hopefully change this to your satisfaction as well as our other guests.

In regards to the internet, we currently provide complimentary internet to all of our Le Club Accorhotels Silver, Gold and Platinum guests. It is free to join and you only need 15 nights a year to become a Silver guests. We hope that you will be able to utilise this benefit if you are a member.

I will certainly take your constructive feedback on board and we hope that you will give us another chance to experience our service which we value and care about.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We look forward to your next visit.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Joe V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Judging by the other reviews on here I was expecting the best hotel bed I had ever slept in...and we weren't didsapointed. They were amazing! After a day walking around Sydney, exploring the sites, it was lovely to lie down in a bed that felt like a cloud.

The location is handy, 10 mins walk to circular quay, the central shopping area, Hyde Park and just a bit further to Darling Harbour.

The staff were very friendly although they did promise to send something special up to our room (as we were celebrating our engagement) which never arrived. That was a bit dissapointing.

After paying over $50 for two breakfasts ar Circular Quay on our first morning we decided to get the continental roome service breakfast the second morning. Great value! Plenty of food for two people.

I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retrojo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Bonjour,

I was absolutely delighted to read your comments regarding your recent stay, particularly those regarding our beautiful Sofitel 'My Bed' which is used in all of our Sofitel hotels worldwide. I am also glad that the Hotel’s location was suitable for your visit. At Sofitel Sydney Wentworth we constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and it was most pleasing to read of your satisfaction.

I am grateful for you taking the time to write about your Sofitel experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank foodiept
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We just stayed here for two nights - my daughter and I having a weekend away in the city. Perfect location as we could easily walk everywhere. It felt very safe to walk at night together in this area. The room was beautiful, felt like I was sleeping on a cloud - beds were so comfy! Will def be back!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank srmiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Bonjour,

It was most pleasing to read that you enjoyed your Sofitel experience and that you had a comfortable stay. The ‘My Bed’ is a brand standard in all Sofitel Luxury Hotels and we are very happy that you liked it.

I am grateful for you taking the time to write about your Sofitel experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We arrived to be greeted at check in by Emma, with the traditional Bonjour Sofitel welcome. She was prompt in checking us in, professional and sweet. We had booked a superior room, but she indicated we were being upgraded to a luxury suite. Now that's what you call an upgrade! We had a one bedroom corner suite on the top floor (I think it was room 1780, overlooking Chifley Plaza). The room was spotlessly clean, obviously roomy and the bed was heavenly. The bathroom was large, with a separate shower and full size bath, and we had no problem with water pressure. After a restful sleep we were up early for an appointment so we checked out but left our bags at the hotel. When we returned to the hotel the concierge was very attentive and helpful, looking out for my mum and seeing if she required any assistance. Overall the hotel exceeded expectations and the service was far better than the good service I have received at other Sofitels in other countries. The only regret was that our stay was only for one night!. It is a busy hotel, so book early!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PPP76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Bonjour,

It was an absolute pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth. Thank you for taking the time to share you feedback and I am delighted that you enjoyed the change from your usual locations. It is also pleasing to read that you enjoyed the Hotel’s location and its proximity to various products and services.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#28 of 181 in Sydney
4,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#35 of 181 in Sydney
3,321 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#75 of 181 in Sydney
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Address: 61-101 Phillip St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Business Hotel in Sydney
#60 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $159 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Sydney Wentworth 5*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's time-honoured five-star hotel in the heart of the shopping and business district has a solid reputation for impeccable service and incomparable elegance. The recent renovations artfully combine the latest in modern convenience with the old-worldcharm that has made it an architectural icon. The hotel boasts premier conference facilities,a fabulous health club. Experience haute cuisine at the restaurant or slip into the lounge for an afternoon tea or an intimate night cap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Sydney Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney Wentworth
Sydney Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing