We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, good location, service OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Ranked #67 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night, had to wait nearly 10 mins to check in but then it went without a hitch. All in all modern room, very nice bed and good quality toiletries. Don't like having to step into the bath to have a shower, but realise it would cost a fortune to fix all that. Service was nice but not fantastic, you somehow raise your standards if you stay at a 5* hotel. Would stay here again though if the room rate was good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhclm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, General Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2014

Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel.

Kind regards
Daniel Barnard
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,676 - 2,682 of 5,700 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great hotel close to all main attraction in the heart of Sydney. Excellent service at a luxury hotel. Ate at both restaurants and food was excellent. Short walk to Circular Quay and also to Pitt Street Mall for shopping. Parking was expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank MadgeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, General Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2014

Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel.

Kind regards
Daniel Barnard
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed one night at Wentworth Sofitel in Sydney and found the experience most enjoyable. Took the option of Club Sofitel which is great value with the drinks and canapes in the evening and an outstanding breakfast in the morning, along with a drink voucher for 2 in the hotel bar. It represents excellent value for money. Dined in the Garden Court restaurant and as an Accor member was offered the 50 per cent discount on the meal.
If there is one area that needs attention is that the rooms are a little "tired" and could do with an update. Overall a great place and the staff were terrific.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank CraigW5456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Bonjour,

I was absolutely delighted to read your comments regarding your recent stay, particularly those regarding our Garden Court Restaurant and our lovely Club Sofitel which we are very proud of.

At Sofitel Sydney Wentworth we constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and it was most pleasing to read of your satisfaction.

I am grateful for you taking the time to write about your Sofitel experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Frederick B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

First up - a quick summary. This hotel is centrally located a short walk down to Circular Quay and not far from the Botanical Gardens. It is convenient, comfortable, with touches of opulence, and the service we received was excellent overall, with lots of lovely touches to make our stay special. I recommend highly.

Our experience: I booked a room through a Wotif mystery deal - which specified a free upgrade, but only for the first night. I emailed the hotel to confirm our room details - the trip was for my husband's birthday and I wanted to make sure there were no tricky surprises. The first reply said we would have a standard room, so I queried and it was confirmed we would have a Superior room. The service was impeccable from the moment we arrived. Upon realising the trip was for my husband's 40th birthday, the receptionist offered us free breakfast for both mornings, two free drinks in the bar, and confirmed our upgraded room. The Superior room was elegant and comfortable - though not large. It was also quiet, despite being right opposite the lift, and beautifully dark for sleeping. The view over the garden courtyard was lovely - though you have to stand right up to the window to see that. The only small quibble I'd have is the layout of the bathroom, which was a little odd. I'd say they were constrained by the original dimensions of the room when they upgraded. There was a bath, but it was quite small. I'd recommend they put a hand towel rail under the sink, for more convenience (the towel rail is otherwise behind the door and near the toilet, not the sink or shower). I'd booked dinner in the Garden Court restaurant for our first night's stay, as I thought we'd be too tired to travel out into the city. When we arrived, there was a Christmas party in full swing - which was loud and annoying. The maitre'd suggested we head down to Soiree instead - a wine bar on the ground floor. Again, we were greeted with friendly and professional service from the bar staff, and our bar meals (a Caesar salad and another which I can't recall) were fine for the price and the convenience. The ambience was relaxing, intimate and comfortable. Breakfast in Garden Court was an experience - we'd never before had such an expansive buffet to choose from. There were the usual cereals, fruit, juices, bread, pastries and hot buffet - as well as numerous different yoghurt/fruit combinations, miso soup, salad bar, charcuterie, a very decent selection of honeys, and pancakes/waffles/eggs to order. We ate very well, and again enjoyed great service. Our last day's stay was rainy and one of the restaurant wait staff suggested we ask for a later check out to enjoy an extended breakfast in the warm and dry. This was arranged for us by a different receptionist - though with slightly less friendliness than we'd previously experienced. The concierge was also excellent in his role, with a great memory for faces and efficient, knowledgeable service. My husband had a fantastic birthday weekend, and we were really thrilled with this hotel.

Room Tip: The garden view rooms are quiet, comfortable and with a pleasant aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solubisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Bonjour,

It was wonderful to read your feedback regarding your Sofitel experience and I thank you for taking the time to write. I am delighted that you and your wife enjoyed your stay, our product and service.
We hope to have the opportunity to have you stay again at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#28 of 180 in Sydney
4,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#34 of 180 in Sydney
3,321 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#76 of 180 in Sydney
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Address: 61-101 Phillip St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Sydney
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Business Hotel in Sydney
#59 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $163 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Sydney Wentworth 5*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's time-honoured five-star hotel in the heart of the shopping and business district has a solid reputation for impeccable service and incomparable elegance. The recent renovations artfully combine the latest in modern convenience with the old-worldcharm that has made it an architectural icon. The hotel boasts premier conference facilities,a fabulous health club. Experience haute cuisine at the restaurant or slip into the lounge for an afternoon tea or an intimate night cap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Sydney Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney Wentworth
Sydney Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing