We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A favourite place to stay in Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Ranked #56 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A favourite place to stay in Sydney”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I have stayed at the Sofitel over several years and it continues to provide great, understated service and some of the best beds I have slept in. The staff are consistently welcoming. Rooms can vary in size and quality. The TV is on the small side. They care about their customers and will try to address problems that inevitably arise. I would also recommend the Radisson.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Bonjour,

Many thanks for sharing your comments about our Hotel. I am truly delighted that you enjoyed the Hotel and that are staff were able to be of assistance to you. It is through positive comments such as yours that our staff are encouraged to continue striving to provide a level of service that exceeds our guests’ expectations.

I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,278
    1,719
    889
    359
    173
See reviews for
690
2,607
390
1,178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (731)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here in October 2013 for 3 nights. We paid for the Exec Club rooms and we had a suite which was very pleasant. Along with our 5 year old daughter, we really liked the hotel and attempted to book our return trip there in December. Unfortunately 1 night we wanted was booked so we will be trying the Pullman for the first time.

The service was excellent, the staff pleasant and the place clean and quiet.

Well Done Sofitel - we will be back again and again - as long as the rates are reasonable!

Room Tip: No Swimming pool and not really a kids activities place but if you are lucky to have a child who int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenAKNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Bonjour,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth. I am truly delighted that you had the opportunity to experience our Club Sofitel offering, which is certainly something that we are very proud of. At Sofitel Sydney Wentworth we constantly aim to deliver a level of service that exceeds our guests expectations and I am delighted that our location, product and services afforded you a memorable stay.

Again, thank you for your comments and I hope to welcome you back to our Hotel again in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here over the Melbourne Cup long weekend and had a very nice time. We were upgraded to a larger room on the 16th floor away from the lifts. Lots of comfortable features in the room but really enjoyed having a Nespresso coffee machine in the room. Only down side was that only small coffee cups were provided, no mugs to use to make a cup of tea.
Found the meal (Barramundi) at the Garden Court restaurant a little too rich. Breakfast was nice. Complimentary drink in the Soirée bar was good and had a nice lunch there one day as well.
Picked up a book for 3 pay for 2 offer through Accor Advantage Plus which helped with the cost.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the Nespresso machine. 6 capsule provided with 2 being decaffeinated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Bonjour,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Sofitel experience and that you found the Hotel’s location convenient for the purpose of your visit.

Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at hotel foyer and slapped with a $150 parking fee for a 3 day stay isn't exactly what you call a warm welcoming.
No news paper was delivered to our room as promised.
Free Wifi means, 30min only in lobby area
King size bed, means two king size singles pushed together

5 Star misleading.......

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Bonjour,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth. We appreciate your feedback and respect your comments.

Unfortunately the Hotel does not own or manage the carpark and the discounted parking that we receive for guests utilizing the carpark is passed on in its entirety. The carpark is suggested to our guests for their convenience however we do not have any control over the pricing.

Again, I appreciate your feedback and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Hello, I am a seasoned traveller, and have enjoyed accomodationof all standards around the world for what they are , in the context and parameters of where they are. I can accept rough around the edges service if that is the context of where I am staying.
The Sofitel wentworth Sydney is held out to be a quality, 5 star hotel.It is a top end hotel in a first world city.
Its recpetion and concierge staff are excellent and crete an atmosphere of excellence and welcome.
the rooms feel a little aged but are all in very good condition and very comfortable. The beds are very good.
The problem for me though was with the service.
I am not one to expect or demand serviece, but competance is not an unreasonable expectation when you are paying $300 odd per night,
I checked in for 3 days.
First day was fine, except for a noisey neighbour, but I cannot hold the hotel responsible for that.
Second day, I went for a nap at lunchtime, to be woken at 2.30 pm by a room attendant asking if the room had been serviced ( it had before 10 am that day).
3rd day the same interruption- surely if they have serviced the room in the morning they dont need to send another person in the afternoon to see if it was done?


The clincher though was the lobby bar.
On a mid week night, they were open to the public, had some delightful live music, and there was a good crowd in the bar at 11pm as our conference dinner finished.
There were at that time 8 people behind the bar, but of them only two were serving. Of those two, it appeared one was in training as he seemed to need assistance before any keystroke on the till or serving any drink.
The crowd was qued 5 deep at the bar, and ( I had time to observe) the bar staff took up to 11 minutes to take payment for a single order.
In 1 hour the bar staff served 5 customers, and were surly and unpleasant to deal with.
I am in my own business.
Its fundamental in business, that when you have customers who want to part with their money, dont get in the way. This bar staff seemed absoluteley indifferent to whether any customer was served.
The only reason the crowd at the bar cleared was because people went home rather than wait the 1 hour plus to get served by indifferent, uncaring barstaff.


I am not speaking from a position of ignorance- I have managed club and hotel bars around the world for many decades, and this bar is the slowest, most incompetant have seen.
And after waiting 1+ hours to ge served two beers and two wines,to be charged $50+ was beyond the pale.

I will never come back here, and will actively encourage others away.
I will ensure my colleagues planning a conference in Sydney do not consider this hotel.It does not have a professional attitude to customer service.

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Bonjour,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and I am disappointed that your experience did not live up to your, and our, expectations. I would welcome the opportunity to further discuss your stay and invite you to contact me on h3665-gm02@sofitel.com or 02 9228 9188 so that we can focus our attention on improving our offering for future guests.

Thank you for your comments and I hope to welcome you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth soon.

Kindest Regards,

Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,206 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#32 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Property: Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Address: 61-101 Phillip St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Sydney
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Business Hotel in Sydney
#52 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Sydney Wentworth 5*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's time-honoured five-star hotel in the heart of the shopping and business district has a solid reputation for impeccable service and incomparable elegance. The recent renovations artfully combine the latest in modern convenience with the old-worldcharm that has made it an architectural icon. The hotel boasts premier conference facilities,a fabulous health club. Experience haute cuisine at the restaurant or slip into the lounge for an afternoon tea or an intimate night cap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Sydney Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney Wentworth
Sydney Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing