We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small room but overall a beautiful, classy hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Ranked #54 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Small room but overall a beautiful, classy hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

You always know with a Sofitel Hotel that you'll be in for a great experience. Sydney's Sofitel Wentworth is no exception. While the room I got was a tad small with the TV to the side of the bed instead of in front (my personal preference is for it to be in front of the bed so I can watch it while lying on my back), the facilities are brilliant and it is such an elegant place. The location is prime and walking distance to many great eating places. It's in the heart f Sydney. You also get access to a top class gym. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth.

At Sofitel Sydney Wentworth we constantly aim to deliver a level of service that exceeds our guests expectations and I am delighted that our location, product and services afforded you a memorable stay.

Again, thank you for your comments and I hope to welcome you back to our Hotel again in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,250
    1,690
    878
    357
    169
See reviews for
681
2,576
386
1,155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Fabulous! What more can we say. We could not have asked for better service. We had some of our best nights sleep at the Sofitel Sydney Wentworth. The location is perfect as it is close to Circular Quay and only a few minutes walk to the shopping district! Highly recommended luxury hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 19megan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
It was delightful to read your review your review and I am glad that the Hotel’s location was convenient for your needs and offered you everything that you required for a pleasant and trouble-free stay.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and please rest assured that I will pass your comments on to our entire team and am certain that it will serve as motivation as they continue to strive to provide a level of service that exceeds our guest’s expectations.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights on a business trip. From the moment I arrived the service was faultless. The doorman was very professional with a great sense of humour. The checkin was smooth. Room was spotless and the bed was wonderful. I ordered room service for breakie and one dinner....perfect each time. The gym was also well equipped with a good mix of machines, free weights and Pilates reformer. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room away from lifts. But all rooms good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
It was delightful to read your review your review and I am glad that the Hotel’s location was convenient for your needs and offered you everything that you required for a pleasant and trouble-free stay.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and please rest assured that I will pass your comments on to our entire team and am certain that it will serve as motivation as they continue to strive to provide a level of service that exceeds our guest’s expectations.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Overall the hotel is nice but a bit outdated compared to other Sofitels and other comparable hotels nearby. The beds were too soft for our liking and while the room upgrade was appreciated, the rooms are small. The bathroom is pokey. The complimentary drinks and chocolates were a nice touch but we were a bit disappointed with dinner at the Garden Court restaurant. The service was quite good but the food quality ordinary. The famed Coq au vin and French onion soup was not of the same standard as other Sofitels. Also the gym opening hours were not good- there should be more flexibility there particularly on weekends and after office hours. The gym is also pokey.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank YLH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments and honest feedback.

I trust that overall you were able to enjoy your stay and it seems that you had the opportunity make use of some of the facilities we have available to our guests.

Your comments regarding our food and beverage offering, in particular your experience at dinner have been taken on board and addressed with the relevant managers and I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel to enjoy a truly magnifique stay.

Unfortunately we do not own or manage the gym located within the building. A contract as been arranged with them so guests of the hotel are able to use it complementary.

Again, thank you for your feedback. It is through comments such as yours that we are able to continually strive to improve our products to deliver the ultimate guest experience.

Kindest Regards
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Lovely luxury hotel with excellent service and decor. The Club Sofitel benefits make a stay very comfortable and relaxed wth plenty of benefits and inclusions. The location at the top of the city is very convenient for many attractions and shopping.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Les W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth.

I am truly delighted that you had the opportunity to experience our Club Sofitel offering, which is certainly something that we are very proud of. At Sofitel Sydney Wentworth we constantly aim to deliver a level of service that exceeds our guests expectations and I am delighted that our location, product and services afforded you a memorable stay.

Again, thank you for your comments and I hope to welcome you back to our Hotel again in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooranbong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Sofitel Wentworth Sydney club level is a place that would equal any other club lounge around the world we have booked. The level of amenities, room sizes, and lounge amenities, and food andf beverage selections are without doubt 5 star, and would be hard to beat at any other 5 star hotel, anywhere in the world.
We have had a number of stays at this hotel, and most on the club level, and this is a very relaxing and stress free way to stay in the Sydney CBD, and it besides the excellent location, the level of service is definitely 5 star, or even better.
We would recommend this hotel, especially the club level rooms, for anyone spending time in Sydney.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
It was delightful to read your review your review and I am glad that the Hotel’s location was convenient for your needs and offered you everything that you required for a pleasant and trouble-free stay.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and please rest assured that I will pass your comments on to our entire team and am certain that it will serve as motivation as they continue to strive to provide a level of service that exceeds our guest’s expectations.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

central location , although not much open over easter around hotel. enjoyed the casual eating in hotel foyer coffee bar. staff friendly and helpfull. would stay again when next in sydney. Did not use main restaurant as breakfast prices ($40 per person) over the top.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank kayee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your Sofitel experience. I was delighted to read that you enjoy your stay at our Hotel and am pleased that you enjoy our Hotel offerings and that the Hotel was conveniently located for your needs. I am most appreciative of your comments and will take your constructive feedback on board and share it with our management team.

Again, thank you for your honest and constructive feedback and comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,143 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#32 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Property: Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Address: 61-101 Phillip St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Sydney
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Business Hotel in Sydney
#50 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Sydney Wentworth 5*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's time-honoured five-star hotel in the heart of the shopping and business district has a solid reputation for impeccable service and incomparable elegance. The recent renovations artfully combine the latest in modern convenience with the old-worldcharm that has made it an architectural icon. The hotel boasts premier conference facilities,a fabulous health club. Experience haute cuisine at the restaurant or slip into the lounge for an afternoon tea or an intimate night cap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Sydney Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney Wentworth
Sydney Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing