We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sofitel Sydney Wentworth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Ranked #56 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

5,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,273
    1,717
    888
    358
    172
See reviews for
688
2,604
389
1,176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (729)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel is in a good location, close to circular quay and the opera house. The lobby is elegant and the staff were welcoming, especially the concierge. The room was very good, good size with the most comfortable bed and pillows I've ever experienced. Nice little balcony that opened onto the garden area. No free wifi but there's a computer room with a printer that's handy for printing boarding passes, where you pay for internet access.
We went for the New Years eve experience and it was handy being able to walk back to the hotel after the fireworks instead of trying to find transport back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GHew3018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your Sofitel experience.

I was delighted to read that you enjoy your stay at our Hotel and am pleased that you enjoy our Hotel offerings and that the Hotel was conveniently located for your needs over the New Year time.

Again, thank you for your feedback and comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Very conveniently located, very comfortable, and had nice decor. The room (15th floor) had a good view between buildings but the hotel has now pretty much been built out by surrounding taller buildings. Room service was expensive and not great quality. Bathroom makeup mirror light didn't work so very dim for shaving etc. Chair in room was also a bit tired (leaned to one side). TV flat screen but old/poor picture. All in all so convenient and comfortable, we'd stay again despite the above minor criticisms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your Sofitel experience. I was delighted to read that you enjoy your stay at our Hotel and am pleased that you enjoy our Hotel offerings and that the Hotel was conveniently located for your needs.

I am most appreciative of your comments and will take your constructive feedback on board and share it with our management team.

Again, thank you for your honest and constructive feedback and comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a conference, the staff were very 5 star, but the room felt tired, it's never nice to have black mould in the bathroom silicone. The bed was very comfy and the room was a reasonable size, it would have been good to have 2 comfy chairs instead of one. Breakfast was very basic, nothing fancy, lunch during the conference was very nice.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank eejtheaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
I sincerely thank you for your honest and constructive feedback.

At Sofitel Sydney Wentworth we aim to exceed our guest’s expectations and on this occasion, it is clear that we have failed to deliver.

I have addressed the concerns you raised with our Management Team who are taking appropriate action to ensure the issues you encountered regarding our food and beverage offering and the bathrooms are addressed and not repeated for our future guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to write; I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

A great location – a few minutes’ walk from Circular Quay. A lavish lobby full of marble. Efficient reception staff but they weren’t overly friendly or welcoming. We were told we’d been given a free upgrade, but the room (although clean and comfortable) was quite small and dark so goodness knows what our original room would have been like. We could hear our neighbours when they ran water or walked across the room. We stayed 'room only' as all the extras were expensive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllyM810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
I am most appreciative of your comments and will take your constructive feedback on board and share it with our management team. I do hope that overall you were able to enjoy your stay.

Again, thank you for your honest and constructive feedback and comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We absolutely LOVE this hotel. Its quiet sophistication, elegant ambience and courteous friendly staff make staying here an absolute delight. We were greeted, and quickly checked in by the reception staff, and also given a voucher for a drink in the bar, and a small box of chocolates. A nice start indeed. Our room was on the 15th floor (room 1516) and was quite small, but beautifully appointed; very comfortable bed, decent size TV, nice toiletries etc. The view was of two different brick walls, but while that was a little disappointing, it was no big deal. Not too fussed on the bathroom door either, but again, not a major consideration. The bar we were looking forward to spending time in, was unfortunately closed for renovation, but those things happen and we’re sure that it will be even nicer than it was before. There was still a pleasant area to have a drink, with complimentary snacks. The restaurant is very nice, and we had breakfast and dinner there. All in all one of our favourite places to stay; we’ve stayed there before. Now we would give Sofitel Wentworth five stars for everything, and would love to stay every time we come to Sydney, but if we bring the car, we won’t be staying; $48 per day for parking is just way over the top. We definitely won’t be doing it again. So unless we fly to Sydney, our last visit to Sofitel Wentworth is our last. It’s a shame, but we won’t pay that for parking again.

Room Tip: Parking is very expensive; consider this when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liznnev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
I was delighted to read your comments and I thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. At Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, we constantly strive to provide a level of service that exceeds our guests expectations and I am most pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of some of the products and services available at the Hotel, such as Garden Court Restaurant.

Unfortunately the Hotel does not own or manage the car park and the discounted parking that we receive for guests utilizing the car park is passed on in its entirety. The car park is suggested to our guests for their convenience however we do not have any control over the pricing.

Thank you again for your lovely comments; I will be sure to pass them on to the team.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,196 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#32 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Property: Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Address: 61-101 Phillip St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Sydney
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Business Hotel in Sydney
#52 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Sydney Wentworth 5*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's time-honoured five-star hotel in the heart of the shopping and business district has a solid reputation for impeccable service and incomparable elegance. The recent renovations artfully combine the latest in modern convenience with the old-worldcharm that has made it an architectural icon. The hotel boasts premier conference facilities,a fabulous health club. Experience haute cuisine at the restaurant or slip into the lounge for an afternoon tea or an intimate night cap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Sydney Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney Wentworth
Sydney Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing