We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Ranked #56 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

5,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,278
    1,719
    889
    359
    173
See reviews for
690
2,607
390
1,178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (731)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Sofitel Wentworth hotel is an ideal place to stay whilst in Sydney either on business or for pleasure. We stayed there for 3 nights as a sightseeing short break. The hotel is situated in the financial district of Sydney which is basically a short 5 minute stroll to circular quays of which to the right you have the Sydney Opera house and to the left, the Sydney Harbour Bridge and 'The Rocks' - beautiful. The hugh shopping centres are appox 10 mins walk whilst Darling Harbour is a further 5/10 minutes stroll from there. This is a perfect location for all the sightseeing trips in and around Sydney.
The hotel itself was great, the staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. When we asked for more towels (as there were 3 of us in the room) we were provided with more towels. Furthermore whilst there, it was my father-in laws 70th birthday treat and to our surprise a basket was provided in their room with champagne, strawberries and chocolate - what a lovely gesture!
I would definitely recommend this hotel and we will definitely return to the Sofitel on our next Sydney trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwyer1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
It was an absolute pleasure to read that you enjoyed the birthday celebrations and Sofitel Sydney Wentworth. I am delighted that the Hotel was conveniently located for you and that the service provided to you was of standard.

Again, I sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your comments and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed at the Sofitel Wentworth for 1 night when I was in Sydney for a work seminar. The French welcome was lovely. My room was beautiful, nice bath, and very clean. I enjoyed my short stay very much!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1966Flygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
It was most pleasing to read your review and I am truly delighted that you enjoyed your Sofitel experience; thank you for taking the time to write.

I hope that we are able to welcome you back again in the near future for another positive stay.

Kindest Regards
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife & I were 1st timers in Sydney. We found the location was excellent, just a short stroll down to Circular Quay. I'm glad we got a bonus night's stay because I would have been dissapointed with the price for what the room was. It really was just very adequate, nothing flash just a nice bed, no view just the buildings across the road. Would we stay here again?... absolutely.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eagle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
I was delighted to read that you were able to take advantage of your complementary night and I thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am pleased that the location of our Hotel was convenient for your needs and that you enjoyed your Sofitel ‘My Bed’.

Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming back on your next stay.

Kind regards,
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
118 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

For me, I didn't feel as though the hotel provided a great 5 star experience. The highlight for me was the breakfast, that is saying something.

Firstly the check in staff were rude, dismissive when I asked if there was a smoking room available (I don't think she even bothered to check unless she did before she selected a room for me) and not helpful when i requested a 1 hour late check out the following morning (my flights were delayed and I arrived very late and exhausted).

The room was well appointment but very small, I'd say the smallest 5 star room I've seen in Australia - smaller than the Hilton in Perth.

Breakfast was delicious, albeit expensive. I don't mind paying $50 for a hot cooked breakfast if it meets the mark - it did, one of the best I've had in Sydney after the Hilton.

Check out staff once again were very disinterested, no assistance given with bags when getting a cab.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyfitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth and for your feedback regarding our team.

Please rest assured that I have addressed your concerns regarding the attentiveness at check-in and check-out with our Front Office Manager.

I am however, happy to read that you enjoyed the breakfast in our Garden Court Restaurant, our Food & Beverage offering is certainly something we are very proud of and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very impressed with our stay to celebrate our Honeymoon late Dec. Simone was brilliant from start to finish - as was the club staff also. Great prestige suite with a nice surprise on arrival - appreciated ! Food and service in the club was excellent with a good range of food and beverage.
Thanks again for making our special stay memorable.

Room Tip: book a courtyard view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRS65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
It was wonderful to read your feedback regarding your Sofitel experience and I thank you for taking the time to write.

I am delighted that you and your wife enjoyed your stay, our product and service and that we were able to celebrate your honeymoon. I will be sure to pass your comments to the team as I know they will appreciate your words.

Thank you again for taking the time to write; we hope to have the opportunity to have you stay again at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth.

Kind regards,
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The internet charges are beyond ridiculous. After being sucked in to the 24 hour fee because we needed to check in with family back home, we did not renew for our second night, but rather, went to a nearby McDonald's for one hour free internet! The hotel is very nice indeed. Food, etc., all over priced, so walk around the block a bit. Do NOT eat at Sushi Tei next door...incredibly rude service, mediocre Japanese food and way too expensive for the meager servings. The hotel location was very good for us as we like to walk and explore on our own. Go to the Myer department store, lowest level for their food court. Awesome choices for fairly good prices.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank promusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
I sincerely thank you for taking the time to share you constructive feedback regarding the Sofitel Sydney Wentworth. Our guests’ satisfaction is of the upmost importance to us and to receive feedback such as yours certainly assists us in our quest to exceed our guests’ expectations.

It wonderful to read that the hotel's location was suitable for you and that you found the hotel nice.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your comments; I do hope one day we will be able to welcome you back.

Kindest Regards
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,205 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#32 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Property: Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Address: 61-101 Phillip St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Sydney
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Business Hotel in Sydney
#52 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Sydney Wentworth 5*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's time-honoured five-star hotel in the heart of the shopping and business district has a solid reputation for impeccable service and incomparable elegance. The recent renovations artfully combine the latest in modern convenience with the old-worldcharm that has made it an architectural icon. The hotel boasts premier conference facilities,a fabulous health club. Experience haute cuisine at the restaurant or slip into the lounge for an afternoon tea or an intimate night cap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Sydney Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney Wentworth
Sydney Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing