We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just one thing...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth
Ranked #66 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The internet charges are beyond ridiculous. After being sucked in to the 24 hour fee because we needed to check in with family back home, we did not renew for our second night, but rather, went to a nearby McDonald's for one hour free internet! The hotel is very nice indeed. Food, etc., all over priced, so walk around the block a bit. Do NOT eat at Sushi Tei next door...incredibly rude service, mediocre Japanese food and way too expensive for the meager servings. The hotel location was very good for us as we like to walk and explore on our own. Go to the Myer department store, lowest level for their food court. Awesome choices for fairly good prices.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank promusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

I sincerely thank you for taking the time to share you constructive feedback regarding the Sofitel Sydney Wentworth. Our guests’ satisfaction is of the upmost importance to us and to receive feedback such as yours certainly assists us in our quest to exceed our guests’ expectations.

It wonderful to read that the hotel's location was suitable for you and that you found the hotel nice.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your comments; I do hope one day we will be able to welcome you back.

Kindest Regards
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,557 - 3,563 of 5,628 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salntich
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

we highly recommend a room with access to the executive floor, the bar was a great place to catch up with friends, have a few drinks and canapes, and a recovery breakfast. There are lots of lounge seating options for larger groups (9 people in our party) while still keeping the privacy and quiet for others. Really great service, comfortable room, good lighting, great shower, spacious. As we were staying for New Year the hotel emailed us with an update on traffic and parking before our arrival, we didn't drive but really appreciated the information. We will stay again.

Room Tip: we were in 1602 and had a view of the Harbour Bridge off to the right
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElliB600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

I was most pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent Sofitel experience and that you found the Hotel’s service and facilities to your liking. We are very proud of our Sofitel Club Lounge offering I am very glad to read that you were able to celebrate in style.

Thank you again for taking the time to write; I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back here again.

Kind regards,
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

i stayed at the property in May 2012 for Australia Sales Mission.. together with many other Balinese people... =)
Sofitel has the gorgeous flowers at their lobby... i even take a picture near it...! the room was nice.. the bathroom is small but comfortable.... i like the bathroom amenities which i already took the soap away to Bali as my souvenir...
with the strategic position from everywhere.. it just took steps for shopping and dining...
love to come back.....

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ratih M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback such as yours and I will ensure that your comments are shared with our entire team

Thank you once again. I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The bed was a twin king single joined together and was very uncomfortable. The room was in need of a renovation as the barroom doors were difficult to open and close. The lounge bar service was slow and limited options for food and drinks and also needed a refurb.
It took a long time to check out considering the quiet time of year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larne64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth. I am disappointed that your experience did not exceed your expectations and I sincerely apologise for this.

We truly appreciate your custom and feedback and please rest assured that we are currently conducting extensive maintenance on our guest rooms to ensure that our guest’s are treated to the luxury experience they deserve and expect.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Fantastic location .
The lobby is very nice and smells gorgeous , daft it sounds but its a good first impression .
Lovely rooms spotless and very nice bathrooms big comfy beds with gorgeous bedding and pillows .
5 minutes walk to harbour front so fab location .
Would defintely stay here again .
Staff are very nice and helpful .
I did have a major problem here i ended up being rushed to hospital and the hotel staff dealt with me and the situation very very well .
I usually stay here with work so not sure how much the rooms are .
Always very good

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayleys68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

It is most pleasing to read that you had a wonderful stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Sofitel experience and thank you for taking the time to write.

I will be sure to share your comments with our Team and am certain that your feedback will serve as motivation as we strive to continue to exceed our guests’ expectations.

Thank you again for taking the time to write and I hope to welcome you back to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Hotel is old and it shows. The walls and floor in the bathroom was full of mildew and black caulking. The gym, if you like to work out is not open at any convenient time. Closed December 31 half day December 30. Never got to use it. Should you decide to open the French bottle of water bedside they rob you for $ 9.00. If you are a gluten for disappointments this is the place for you.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank SoloGenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Panetta, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at Sofitel Sydney Wentworth. Please accept my most sincere apologies for your dissatisfaction with your recent experience.

Unfortunately, we do not own the Gym and therefore can not control the times offered. We have secured complementary use for Sofitel guests however the operation is largely beyond our control.

I do hope that one day we may be able to welcome you back for a more positive experience.

Kind regards,
Sam Panetta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 179 in Sydney
4,466 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#34 of 179 in Sydney
3,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Sydney Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Sydney Wentworth

Address: 61-101 Phillip St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Sydney
#28 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Business Hotel in Sydney
#59 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $155 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Sydney Wentworth 5*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney's time-honoured five-star hotel in the heart of the shopping and business district has a solid reputation for impeccable service and incomparable elegance. The recent renovations artfully combine the latest in modern convenience with the old-worldcharm that has made it an architectural icon. The hotel boasts premier conference facilities,a fabulous health club. Experience haute cuisine at the restaurant or slip into the lounge for an afternoon tea or an intimate night cap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Sydney Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Sydney Wentworth Hotel Sydney
Accor Sydney Wentworth
Sydney Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing